We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Budget Place in Tokyo”
Review of Sakura Ryokan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sakura Ryokan
Ranked #82 of 123 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Reviewed April 22, 2009

If you are traveling on a budget to Tokyo, this is a decent place to stay, located in a quiet street 5 minutes walk from Iriya Subway Station and 1 stop from Ueno Park.I stayed 4 nights at this place in a western style room, it was clean but very small, old furniture, TV only in Japanese... The staff can hardly speak English but they're kind and the lady cooks excellent meals. I had Japanese Breakfast every morning and it was always delicious and great variety of food. There are two laptops at the reception with free internet service, laundry facilities and vending machines.
I

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank planetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

25 - 31 of 48 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2008

The Ryokan is located in a very good silent place, near Asakusa temple and Kappabashi dori. There are lots of shops and restourants near there.
Ueno is only 15 minutes walking. The nearest metro station (Irya) only 5 minutes.

The rooms are old, but clean. However, our room terribly smelt of smoking. We should stay with the windows opened for two days.
The furniture was very cheap.

The hall and the other places of the ryokan (also the kitchen) are very dirty, dusty and a lot of things are broken. This is very unusual in the japanese hotels and ryokans.

In the hall there are 2 useful pc.

The old lady cooks very well. We tried only the first day, because, then we saw the dirty kitchen and we have been a little disgusted.

The owners are kind, but almost all the japanese people are kind.
They can speak 2 words of english and that it's useful.

It was my worst accomodation in my 20 days in Japan.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Millofra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2008

The owner and his family suzuki-san are extremely nice. The ryokan itself is one of the best choices in tokyo. One of the reasons are,that
it´s in a very central tokyo area (you can even walk to Ueno in 10-15 minutes) or go by JR (two stations). In this Area, which is also very close to Tokyo´s very famous old Asakusa-town (you can walk there in about 10 minutes). The rooms are very clean and nice, too. You have to know: In Irya/ Uguisudani-Area the normal tokyo citizen is living (no tourist hotel area) and it´s also very affordable (about 4500-6500 yen a night)!!! I nearly stay there every japan-vacation (once a year). My absolute recommondation in Tokyo!!! Until soon, Suzuki-san! Greetings from Manfred Buerkel

Stayed: October 2007
2  Thank manni-san
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2007

I stayed here for a week, and really enjoyed it. The staff were friendly (it did help that I spoke Japanese, but this is always the case in a foreign country) and the place clean, with all the usual facilities. It's true it's small and a bit out of the way of the main sites in Tokyo, but it's really close to a tube station. The staff even organised a taxi for me to take me to the station as I had so much luggage. When I stayed here it was my first time in Tokyo, and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2005, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank EmJ82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Chicago, IL
454
Reviewed March 30, 2005

I stayed here for 4 nights and found it to be a depressing little place that was far from transportation. I would only stay here if everything else is booked. The owner seemed happiest when paying at checkout, otherwise I noticed him giving me dirty looks several times. I would characterize the place as not friendly, bad location and somewhat dingy.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fabiov20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Al quarto piano abbiamo trovato stanze molto carine, provate lì.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sakura_Hikaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taito
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Yanagibashi
Hotel Yanagibashi
#40 of 123 in Taito
214 reviews
Ayase Kokusai Hotel
#2 of 4 in Katsushika
50 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Asakusa Ryokan Toukaiso
Asakusa Ryokan Toukaiso
#23 of 123 in Taito
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
Kinuya Honkan
Kinuya Honkan
#72 of 123 in Taito
29 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Ryokan Katsutaro
Ryokan Katsutaro
#61 of 123 in Taito
102 reviews
Chiyoda Inn
#5 of 8 in Arakawa
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sakura Ryokan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sakura Ryokan

Address: 2-6-2 Iriya, Taito 110-0013, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Taito
Price Range: $58 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sakura Ryokan 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From Narita International Airport to Iriya station:We recommend you to take the Keisei Skyliner train from the airport and then get off at the final stop Ueno. At Ueno Station, please follow the signs to the subway, then take the Hibiya line in the direction of Kita-Senju, and get off at the FIRST stop, Iriya. From Station To SAKURA Ryokan:From Iriya station (Tokyo Metro Hibiya Line) : 1.Please take the exit 1 or 2. 2.Walk 6 minutes on Kototoi street heading to Asakusa. 3.Turn left at the traffic light in front of the Seven Eleven (convenient store) and walk about 80 meters. From Uguisudani station (JR Yamanote Line):15 minutes on foot / 5 minutes by taxi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Rakuten, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sakura Ryokan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sakura Ryokan Hotel Taito
Sakura Ryokan Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing