We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Richmond hotel Asakusa
Ranked #5 of 120 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Certificate of Excellence
Labrador, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

A great place to take in Tokyo. New hotel in a great location with really nice staff, we arrived before lunch and they were happy to store our bags until we checked in after a day exploring which was appreciated.
Free computers in the lobby and nice rooms with views, the breakfast was of really good quality and choices withg lots of Japanese stuff to try.
Also when here have a drink at the Kamiya Bar, a great and fun way to meet the locals in fun surrounds (lots of smokers) and drink some of the Denki Brand Whiskey.
Whenever back in Tokyo will stay at the Richmond!

Room Tip: Try and get a room facing the Skytower
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C0astieb0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    273
    37
    10
    7
See reviews for
128
173
208
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

All staff very nice and polite, they help us to found transportation to Airport. Hotel amenities very good. The room is clear and clean. We are satisfied to live in this hotel. This hotel is in a great location.

Room Tip: Room is clear and clean, the amenities very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fransisca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I stayed here for 5 days and chose Askakusa for the neighborhood. It's vibrant and filled with temples and has the feel of Old Tokyo. This new hotel is in a great location in the middle of it all, yet it's quiet. Front desk service is prompt, helpful and polite, maid service is professional and Japanese breakfast is good value for about $10. As with most Japanese hotels, the rooms are quite small. Bed was comfortable, but pillows a bit hard for my liking. I'm returning for another two days in June. They're storing my bags for my return while I tour Japan. A great hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrincessMisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whidbey Island
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Hotel Richmond's location was great for exploring Tokyo The only negative is the hotel room was small. If the hotel called a taxi for you they wanted about $5.00 for the service. This left a really bad impression with us. Charging to call a taxi ? What is that all about ? Charging to call a taxi while the desk staff were we're just standing around.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio TX
Level Contributor
263 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

The hotel is located a two minute walk from the fabulous Senso-ji Temple. The closest train station is the Tsukuba Railways Asakusa Station, exit 1A. Out of that exit, turn right, at the first intersection, turn slightly left to go under the arch. The Richmond is the modern, tall building up about a block on the left side (btw - at this time, don't look on Google Street View, it doesn't show there as it is too new).

The hotel is very nice and is very typical of a Richmond Hotel, very clean, small but nicely furnished rooms, coin laundry facilities, and snack / beverage machines on a number of floors.

My wife asked at the front desk for extra pillows and was told no by a woman at the front desk. I went down to ask and a gentleman at the front desk happily provided them to me. My wife said the woman was very curt and rude. BTW - irons and ironing boards are available from the front desk at this and any Richmond Hotel.

We had take out from the Italian restaurant in the lobby and it was suprisingly very, very good!

Room Tip: Eastern facing rooms will have views of the Sky Tree Tower and of the temple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

My husband and I spent one night at the Richmond Hotel and we had a great stay. Our room was a lot smaller than our previous hotels of similar price but it was still comfortable. We received good service and we loved the location of the hotel. The hotel is located right next to Tawaramachi station and is in walking distance of all the Asakusa attractions. It was the perfect place to end our trip!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed in these rooms on the back of some skiing in Shiga Kogen and Hakuba. The rooms were Tokyo style ie smaller than usual however they were laid out well and had everything you required. The staff were very helpful in particular with left lugguge. The walk from the Asakusa Metro took about 10 mins and goes through the Tourist area around the temple. I was recommended the hotel through business colleagues and would be happy to stay here for a business trip as well.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NateSydney_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taito
Ueno, Asakusa
Richmond Hotel Premier Asakusa International
Ueno, Asakusa
THE GATE HOTEL Asakusa Kaminarimon by HULIC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
Asakusa View Hotel
Asakusa View Hotel
#14 of 120 in Taito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
#8 of 74 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Mystays Asakusa-bashi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond hotel Asakusa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond hotel Asakusa

Property: Richmond hotel Asakusa
Address: 2-7 Asakusa, Taito 111-0032, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Taito
#2 Family Hotel in Taito
#3 Romantic Hotel in Taito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Richmond hotel Asakusa 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Fastbooking and Hotel.de so you can book your Richmond hotel Asakusa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Hotel Asakusa Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing