We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New and convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Richmond Hotel Asakusa
Ranked #4 of 123 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 2, 2012

The location is actually quite convenient: the Asakusa station is less than than 10min away (connection to 2 subway lines and, if you take the Keisei train you can get to Narita in less than one hr for 1200Yen) and the Sensoji temple is right around the corner. The area is quite lively, yet you will enjoy absolute peace in the room. There is a wide selection of restaurants and shops in the area.
The rooms are actually large (for Tokyo standards), perfectly clean and the toilets are brand new, clean, functional.
The staff is very friendly, although I must say that the english skills vary from very basic to proficient, depending on whom you deal with (and I'm just talking about the reception desk staff).
There is Wifi in the room (no password protection though), but the reception can be quite poor, depending on which room you get (in one of them you had to lye on the bed, because there was no signal if you were at the desk).

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TamaTareco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (818)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

236 - 242 of 818 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2012

I loved this hotel! It was extremely reasonably priced, spotlessly clean and modern and in an easy location. The room was a decent size and the modern furnishings were both extremely functional and quite appealing to the eye. There were a lot of small design 'extras' that I would not have expected at this price point. As well, the shower was divine - best water pressure I'd experienced in Asia - and the bed and linens very, very comfortable (again, best on my short trip through Asia). Everything about this hotel was easy - me being a first time visitor to Japan and speaking no Japanese! It greatly exceed my expectations. I would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuliaPatrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

I stayed here with my 7 year old and we were quite comfortable in our 8th floor room (813). We had a nice view at night of the funky old amusement park near the hotel. The hotel is located directly behind Sensoji Temple and is a 20 minute walk to the Asakusa Station, where you can catch a train for the short trip to Tokyo Skytree. With young kids the walk is too long and the route is stressful. The staff at the hotel was extremely helpful with my many inquiries about getting around Tokyo. I spoke to them in Japanese however, so I can't vouch for their English skills. Friends traveling with us who spoke only English managed ok. The hotel does have an odd reservation system. They refer to Single and Double rooms on their website but it turns out that published details about the room area and bed size are the same, regardless of type. Single and Double refer to whether you have one person or two in the room. The room is the same either way, they just charge more if there are two of you. One elementary age child traveling with you is free and is not counted as a second person. Our single room was rather spacious compared to friends' who had singles on the third floor, even though the room size is supposed to be the same. They barely had room to walk around the bed. Go for a higher floor. Because the hotel is new it doesn't show up on navigation systems yet. Be sure to have the street address handy. We took a taxi from Asakusa station to the hotel and the driver hadn't heard the hotel name. Lastly, don't forget to check out the rather spectacular day and night views of the temple and Skytree visible from the window at the end of the hall on a higher floors. We'll stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisa c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Can't go wrong. Spotlessly clean. Ideally located right next to Senso Ji temple. About a 12 minute walk from the Asakusa metro station, where you can catch the Ginza line. Staff are very welcoming, and go out of their way to assist guests. Pedestrian streets all around the hotel, with lots of restaurants and shops. Breakfast is not included (but is offered at the adjoining Italian restaurant for 1,000 yen per person / we didn't try it). The hotel accepts major credit cards, a nice feature in an essentially cash society.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmcyow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

The hotel is brand new, nice place, nice staff. The price is good. If I come Tokyo again, I will live this hotel again, it is good choice.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UPS6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

I found this hotel to be very clean and had great service. It was very reasonably priced and is located near station for convenience. I would definately recommend particularly for the traveler wanting to visit sites within Tokyo as it is located in the heart of the tourist district.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travers40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Richmond Hotel Asakusa last month for four nights. We loved it. The room was tiny but we didn't spent much time there so was not an issue for us. Stylishly decorated, clean and new, great shower, awesome view of the new Sky Tree Tower. The buffet breakfast was sensational. Desk clerks were helpful and usually knew some English. Right by the Sensoji temple. Asakusa is really pretty at night. Relatively quiet and calm area but still very well located.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whitecoralbells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taito
Ueno, Asakusa
Richmond Hotel Premier Asakusa International
Ueno, Asakusa
THE GATE HOTEL Asakusa Kaminarimon by HULIC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
Asakusa View Hotel
Asakusa View Hotel
#15 of 123 in Taito
670 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Keihan Asakusa
Hotel Keihan Asakusa
#22 of 123 in Taito
280 reviews
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
#9 of 75 in Chiyoda
2,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Hotel Asakusa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Hotel Asakusa

Address: 2-7-10 Asakusa, Taito 111-0032, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Taito
#2 Family Hotel in Taito
#3 Romantic Hotel in Taito
Price Range: $83 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Richmond Hotel Asakusa 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Priceline and Rakuten so you can book your Richmond Hotel Asakusa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Hotel Asakusa Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing