We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
toco.-Tokyo Heritage Hostel
Ranked #9 of 67 Specialty lodging in Taito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Toco was the first hostel I stayed in during my month long trip to Japan and I couldn't have wished for a better welcome to the country.
I loved everything about Toco, but special mention needs to be made for the fantastic staff they have there. They make you feel so welcome and do everything possible to make sure you have a great trip.
The free welcome drink each night is also a great way to get to know the staff and other guests staying at the hostel as it gets everyone out into the bar.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dark_Link001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
There are newer reviews for toco.-Tokyo Heritage Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

80 - 86 of 156 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2013

The price was actually a little high given that this hostel isn't close to the main city areas, but the old house and the staff more than made it worth it.

They prepare a delicious Japanese breakfast every morning for 300 yen, and you can just gather around the breakfast table to talk to other travellers while their friendly staff/cook prepares the riceballs one by one for everyone. At night, the front reception area turns into a bar to with the first drink free, and they have a variety of delicious Japanese alcohol. The bar area is also in a separate area from the main old house, so the sleeping areas aren't affected by the noise from the bar.

The house itself is extremely charming. It's a really old wooden house with tradional wood-and-rice-paper sliding doors, and you can see that the handholds on the doors are really close to the floor because people used to kneel all the time. We stayed in a private room with tatami and futons, and although the room looked a little small in the photos on the website, it was actually quite spacious for two people because the futons could be easily folded and put aside to make space when we were awake. The folded futons also made for comfortable huge cushions to recline on.

We were originally slightly concerned about the lack of locks on the private room door, but the one of the owners said (and I agree) that installing locks would detract from the traditional Japanese aesthetic. He also said that there's never been any case of theft and our stuff did indeed stay safe throughout our stay. There's also a lovely Japanese style garden, and it felt amazing to wake up to see the garden right outside my room in the morning.

Do take note though, that sound travels very easily through the walls and even soft talking at night can be heard in the next room. You'll have be quite careful not to disturb your neighbours at night. Also, the sun rises at around 4.30am in July, so bring eyemasks to avoid being woken up by the sunlight shining through the rice paper walls.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Kai T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

It's not an easy task to find a cheap hotel in Tokyo but we were glad to find this place through a Japanese friend. Although it's not located in the middle of the Tokyo city, it's just a few minutes walking distance from the Iriya station. It's just one station away from Ueno.

As soon as we checked-in, we were given a map by the staff of that area. We went to a local noodle shop for dinner and we loved it! We explored almost all the places recommended by the hostel and we felt like locals :) it was a great feeling.

Because this is sort of like a ryokan style, we had to share bathrooms/toilets with others but they were very clean and well maintained.

We would definitely recommend this place for those looking for a funky place with cool and young people staying with reasonable budget to spend. Thumbs up!

Room Tip: Book your room at least 3-4 months in advance to avoid disappointment.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HC F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

This quaint old house turned hostel with it's funky decorated lobby/bar is a great place if you're on a budget. I would imagine that it is especially great for solo travelers as they have social events in the bar in the evening which are well attended and a good way to meet new people. Guests get a complementary drink in the bar per night too. The staff were great, very friendly and accommodating, and really good in English. The old part of the building with the guestrooms is in the back and as such the rooms are quiet in the evening despite the bar being lively. However the private room we got, while being a very beautiful old Japanese room, was right next to the common kitchen where they started cooking breakfast quite early at which point there wasn't much more sleep to be had. The hallway continued around our room along two of the rice paper sliding door "walls" so it felt a bit like we were staying in the hallway. I would imagine that that the second floor rooms would be quieter however. The rooms having rice paper doors, one can hardly lock the doors, but there are lockers provided so one should either bring a lock or buy one in the reception.
The breakfast is very cheap (about 300 yen) and a great deal, consisting of two huge onigiri and miso soup. However if you're not used to rice for breakfast it might be a little much. There's a dotour cafe down by the main road (just past the subway entrance) which is pretty good for early breakfast too. If you ask at the reception you can also get a map of the area with recommended eating places marked off.
Iriya subway station is extremely close, and as such it's quite handy location wise, but be aware that Iriya is a small station serving only one subway line so in many cases several train changes will be necessary (but Tokyo being so large that's usually the case no matter where you live).

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if you're going for one of the private rooms.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ednie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I stayed here for 3 days and absolutely loved it. This old house is so charming and has a really good atmosphere. The people who works there are the most friendliest and helpful staff I've ever met. The hostel is easy to find, the beds are comfortable, the showers are great, and everything is very clean, the breakfast is also really good. I would definitely stay here again the next time I go to Japan:)

Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Ingab87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

After a long flight and trying to get your bearings in a foreign country, you'd like to find a calm and welcoming place to hang your hat for your first night or two, right? Toco offers just that.

It may not be in the busiest or most well known district of the city, but following the provided directions, finding this heritage hostel was easy as pie. It's only a (leisurely) 5 minute walk from Iriya station, in a rather quiet and seemingly safe neighbourhood. The entrance is the bar/common area, which is very cute and homey in a mismatched kind of way, and when it's open always seems to have a friendly local or two hanging around. I couldn't get two nights in a row, so I had to change rooms. I had the 8 bed mixed dorm on the first night - this room is located right near the main hallway and can be rather noisy because of it (it IS a heritage building - the walls are very thin). I also stayed in the upstairs 6 bed mixed dorm, which was much quieter. The property also has a very nice garden, which lends to the feeling of this being an oasis of calm in the big city.

Don't forget to go down to the bar for your welcome drink each evening. There were always plenty of people in there and they'll be happy to chat with you. And try the onigiri breakfast at least once! Fresh and delicious and erved with tea and miso soup; and a great way to meet your fellow travellers in the mornings.

Room Tip: If you stay in the ground floor mixed dorm, try your best to get a lower bunk - the upper bunks are...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kari L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Toco's is located within walking distance to the train which connects well to the city's attractions. The accommodation has paper thin walls on the ground level which means if other people become noisy you clearly hear all conversations. Everyone was friendly and helpful and breakfast was very tasty. Toco was helpful with emailing information etc. I would stay here again for the locality!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeaSpringfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taito
Ueno, Asakusa
Nui. Hostel & Bar Lounge
Ueno, Asakusa
Space Hostel Tokyo
Space Hostel Tokyo
#1 of 67 in Taito
218 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Oak Hostel Zen
Oak Hostel Zen
#3 of 67 in Taito
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
Bunka Hostel Tokyo
Bunka Hostel Tokyo
#2 of 67 in Taito
142 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
The Edo Sakura
The Edo Sakura
#3 of 122 in Taito
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to toco.-Tokyo Heritage Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about toco.-Tokyo Heritage Hostel

Address: 2-13-22 Shitaya, Taito 110-0004, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 67 Specialty lodging in Taito
Price Range: $25 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten so you can book your toco.-Tokyo Heritage Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toco.-Tokyo Heritage Hostel Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing