We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (167)
Filter reviews
167 results
Traveler rating
117
38
6
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
117
38
6
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews japanese house rice balls miso soup nigiri guest house is fully equipped kitchen plum wine small box meet other guests traditional style sliding door light sleeper each evening triple room common space private room per night
Filter
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 167 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2012

When you think of staying in Tokyo, Traditional Style Japanese Ryokan with private garden may not usually be the first description of accommodation that pop to mind, yet, a couple minutes walk from Iriya station, lies exactly that.
Making this my last place of stay in Japan, my stay at Toco's was way too short and nothing short of sweet. The lovely staff accommodated my late arrival by staying up and making sure I was settled by the time I got there and I must say I was immediately taken by the atmosphere of this hostel (and one almost forgets this is a hostel!). During my stay the staff were always very friendly and helpful.
The rooms are nice and clean. One cannot forget to take into account this is an older style building, which, is in no way relative into how well kept the hostel is (It really is nice!). And if one isn't bothered by the odd, squeaky floorboard, they should have no worries whatsoever.
Being so close to the train station, you can zip into downtown anywhere in next to no time, experiencing all Tokyo has to offer and be back in time to return to Toco's (in almost a a quasi step-back-in-time sense) for a quiet good night's rest.
With a cozy bar, common area and dining kitchen, I seriously recommend Mia's delicious Onigiri for breakfast - a sure way to get a new day started properly.
In an offbeat sort of way, more rural-based travellers may find this oasis of a hostel very comforting when first tackling the world's largest city, without being overwhelmed by it all.
Its quiet, off to the side, old-world charm in a new world atmosphere is definitely what attracted me to Toco's and will attract me back again. Until then, I can only say the best of things about it and recommend it to all that pass through Tokyo!

Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davevond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

A fun place to stay with an amazing setup and décor… plus the coolest staff makes Toco a memorable stay in Tokyo.

The traditional architecture, surrounds and ambience of the hostel is what initially captures everyone’s attention but it is the atmosphere and the vibe that makes Toco unique. "Kiri" – the owner – is a traveller at heart so he knows how important it is to keep the hostel vibrant and inviting. Head to the bar on most evenings after 6pm and you can experience a gathering mixture of fellow travellers and local residents who are happy to practice their English or share with you some Japanese culture. A nice relaxing environment – first drink is on the house so that’s a nice bonus. Only disappointment is that the bar has to shut after 12am which seems a bit too early on some nights but with the paper-thin walls and squeaky floorboards it was understandable.

Rooms were cozy and showers were clean. Breakfast was not included but for an additional fee can be catered for. Wifi was excellent around the hostel. Good after-hours security… the hostel is situated in a quiet neighbourhood off the main road.

Location is good but the initial orientation to getting there could be a bit difficult (just follow the instructions or ask the staff for assistance). The local subway (Iriya) is only a three-minute walk. The hostel is approximately a 30-45-minute subway ride from the main attractions such as Shibuya, Tokyo, Shinjuku, Tokyo dome, Disneyland, Skytree, Roppongi Hills, etc… Best way to get around the subway is to get a Suica or Pasmo card so you don’t have to fiddle around for loose change – plus it can be used in most convenience stores to purchase goods.

Be sure to book in advance particularly during the high season as the hostel attracts many travellers due to its distinctive setting.

Eating Out Tip: By far the best ramen noodle house (see photos below) I have been to and tasted is just a few blocks away from the hostel - less than 10-minute. Ask the hostel staff for a map and directions on how to get there and then just follow the instructions of the locals on how to prepare and eat the noodles. Top eating!!

Travel Tip: Do not attempt to catch a taxi to the airport (Narita) unless you have $300USD to spare!!

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stevanlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

This little ryokan/hostel really embodies the spirit of a backpackers hostel and a traditional ryokan. It is cozy and ideally placed in Iriya - one stop from Ueno on the metro but away from the noise and stress of downtown Tokyo - but its real value lies in the amenities and the staff. The place itself is traditional architecture, complete with tatami and futon, around a small but very beautiful Japanese style garden. There is a small building where you check in and where you are offered a welcome drink free of charge. This is where you meet fellow travelers, including the very competent, friendly, and energetic (though not imposing) staff. The bar closes at 11:00 and due to the acoustic implications of the architecture guests are encouraged to be quiet thereafter. It is a relaxing and an exciting little place. I can't recommend it highly enough.

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OxfordCake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2018
Google Translation

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews