We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff & convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Khaosan Tokyo Kabuki
Ranked #6 of 65 Specialty lodging in Taito
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great staff & convenient location”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We booked a private room for a family of 4, great to have our own 3 way bathroom, small but clean. Ground floor room was a bit noisy but close to kitchen & common room. Handy to have free wi-fi & use of computers. Staff spoke excellent English & were very knowlegable & helpful. No trouble at all to help us find specific places, shops etc. We were always greeted with a warm smile when leaving & returning. We made very good use of the laundry, great value & even some drying space.Very close to Kaminarimon & plenty of lively market style shops. Easy to catch trains all around Tokyo. Gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    59
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
29
24
83
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

The title pretty much said it all.
Tokyo Kabuki is a small hostel in Asakusa.

Location: REALLY CLOSE to Tokyo metro Ginza line, Asakusa line and Train to/from Narita airport. You can go to Kabuki website to see a direction and map turn by turn. They even told you which exit to go because there is an elevator to take you from underground :)

Room: It's a hostel and I stayed in 4-bed with bathroom unit. It was nice that you only share bathroom with only other 3 mates instead of one big bathroom per floor. It was enough for crashing after a long journey day in tokyo. (see pics for urself)

Facilities: Not much but they provide 3 computers with Internet access in common room 1st floor...next to it is cooking area with stove, hot pot etc. and they also provide maps, guide book to many attractions in Japan.

Staffs: very friendly and helpful.

I stayed there for 4 nights and one night we had a pizza party. That was a lot of fun.
All in all,I would recommend budget minded travelers to try Khaosan Kabuki.

Thanks Kabuki for being an awesome place for all of us!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Really friendly and helpful staff, cool dress ups to take photos with, great communal room and very nice dorm rooms. We had a 4 bedroom booked out for the 3 of us. Shower/toilet/beds were great. Aircon was perfect given how hot it was! And great location near awesome places to eat and walk around at night :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gen12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, UK
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 4 nights in August. We loved it! We booked a double room (book early - the private rooms in particular get booked up super-fast!), but were given a triple room on arrival, which was really spacious, with comfortable beds and an en-suite shower room, toilet and sink. The room was perfectly clean and comfortable, with cool air-con - great value for central Tokyo! There was LOADS of information available in the common room with regards to tourist sites, travel information, restaurants/bars etc. and we were given a map of the area when we arrived marked with local subway stations, points of interest, supermarkets and restaurants etc. as well as information on the last trains back to the area from various parts of Tokyo, and a timetable for the airport train departing from the nearby station. The staff were very friendly and helpful & helped my boyfriend to get some medicine from the pharmacy when he was a little under the weather. There was a laundry room on the top floor which we made use of, with clothes lines to hang your clothes, as well as a coin-operated dryer. Free detergent was available from reception. The location of the hostel was also great - in Asakusa, very close to Sensoji Temple, a lovely area to wander round with plenty of restaurants & bars to suit all budgets. The hostel was easy to find by following their directions on their website. I would not hesitate to recommend this place, and will certainly return if I visit Tokyo again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louloulau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hangzhou
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Was booked through hostelworld.com from the below link:
http://www.hostelworld.com/hosteldetails.php/Khaosan-Tokyo-Kabuki/Tokyo/47084

The staff there was very helpful and kind enough for answering all the questions we are asking, kind far from the river but still conveneint location. All the shops just with walking distance. Senso-ji Temple is just nearby and local market give us very real impression of Tokyo.

We enjoy our stay and we would like to go back and stay with them.

PS. They don't have swimming pool and fitness centre

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JarodZhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Stayed here for 9nights in a 4 bed female dorm, although the room was a little small it was spotless and the bathroom too. Beds were really comfy and the room had air con and lockers. Staff were great and the reception and lounge is full of useful info! Location is good as its close to two different metro lines and useful if you want to buy a day ticket. Definately stay at this branch!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bm0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We were so lucky to get to stay at Khaosan Kabuki for one night at the last minute. This hostel is small and books up VERY quickly. You don't want to stay at the other Khaosan hostel. We stayed in a 4-bed mixed dorm and it was great - super comfy beds, nice bathroom, so clean, nice staff, great common area, and laundry machines are good. Hiro at reception is so friendly and helpful. It's also in a great location so close to the Asakusa station and on a quiet side street. They also have an elevator. One of the better hostels I've stayed at.

Room Tip: Doesn't matter just make sure to book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shirasam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taito hotels
Ueno, Asakusa
THE GATE HOTEL Asakusa Kaminarimon by HULIC
Ueno, Asakusa
Khaosan World Asakusa Ryokan & Hostel
Ueno, Asakusa
Oak Hostel Zen
Oak Hostel Zen
#3 of 65 in Taito
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
Khaosan Tokyo Laboratory
Ueno, Asakusa
Khaosan Tokyo Origami
Khaosan Tokyo Origami
#10 of 65 in Taito
108 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Space Hostel Tokyo
Space Hostel Tokyo
#1 of 65 in Taito
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khaosan Tokyo Kabuki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khaosan Tokyo Kabuki

Property: Khaosan Tokyo Kabuki
Address: 1-17-2 Asakusa, Taito 111-0032, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 65 Specialty lodging in Taito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Khaosan Tokyo Kabuki 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, Rakuten, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Khaosan Tokyo Kabuki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khaosan Tokyo Kabuki Hotel Taito
Khaosan Tokyo Kabuki Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing