We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Candeo Hotels Ueno-Park
Ranked #49 of 123 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Reviewed January 20, 2013

hotel was fine. nothing that special. the most disappointing aspect of this hotel was the service. there wasn't the attention to detail. English was poor, which is fine, but the staff also seemed to feel that anything you asked was an imposition. They were unable to find things and overall it just felt like a poorer experience.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Greg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (259)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

43 - 49 of 259 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for seven nights. The room has a desk and chair, which was helpful for us. It is a bit cramped once you have two large suitcases, but sufficient for our needs, and probably actually bigger than a lot of other hotels in Japan. A wired internet connection was available as well as a TV with basic channels. Plenty of power points/outlets as well, which was great. The room was clean and tidy, and even when we did not wish to have the room cleaned, the maids still kindly left a package of new towels outside our door. The buffet breakfast is almost entirely suited to Japanese tastes, which was fine for us, but if you're not a big fan of Japanese breakfasts, it would be better to avoid it.

Be aware that while the hotel is upscale and professional, it is situated in an area with some "love hotels", which makes the area a little seedier than others. However, the train station is only about a 5 minute walk away, and is on two of the major Tokyo train lines. Only one stop from Ueno station, and a few more from Akihabara. VERY convenient!

While the hotel and staff do make some effort for non-Japanese speakers, the hotel is not really all that foreigner-friendly. The hotel room book (the one with services, information, etc.) was entirely in Japanese. In the laundry room, the washer and dryer instructions were also entirely in Japanese. (I would not recommend the dryer anyway, as it is VERY weakly powered and you cannot change the settings. It took several HOURS for one load of laundry to dry). At one point when I went to the front desk and asked (in Japanese) if the staff member spoke English, the person simply said "no", and that was that. However, at other times there were staff that did have some English - it was kind of hit and miss. If you have no Japanese skills whatsoever, you may find it a bit difficult.

Overall, we would probably stay here again, because of the value, cleanliness and proximity to the train station.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aniahime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

To be honest this hotel exceeded my expectations, the hotel looks like new, rooms are quite big for the japanese standards, the shower is very good, and the bathroom very clean.
The Hotel is 5 minutes away from uguisudani station, that is very useful, specially if you have a JR pass, that allows you to travel for free to and from central tokyo.
The staff barely speaks english, but they are very kind and attentious, and managed to explain me how to get to department store by drawing a map.
The breakfast is a bit pricy, but you should try at least once, the japanese breakfast is completely different than any other.
I definetly recommend this hotel and I will stay there again in my next trip to Japan.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Edu999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Similar to a european Hotel ibis, this Japanese functional hotel has everything you need.
The rooms are small but spacious enough for Japanese standards, they're clean, the bathroom kit is functional, breakfast is correct, though it only really has the very basics of western food.
The staff speaks a basic english.
Internet (cable) in all rooms and wireless at reception.
The location is not ideal but very close to subway line H in Iryia and the train station - quick trip to Narita.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joanixNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

The hotel was quite out the way for our first time in Tokyo though has good transport links on theJR Yamanote line. Would have preferred a hotel nearer the Shinjuku/Shibuya/Rappongi area as these took around 45mins to get to but certainly wouldn't have got the space for the cost so its all about compromise.

Room was excellent size, extremely clean, well equipped, with excellent bathroom and powerful shower. The double bed was large and extremely comfortable. The biggest problem is that it isn't Western friendly. None of the room literature material is in English, nor is the AC remote. I asked for English but they didnt have any which is a shame as it would be so simple to create an English guide. We were unable to use the advertised 300 films on demand as simply couldn't figure it out even though we are well travelled. We also found a lack of anything to do/eat/drink nearby for the non-English, especially breakfast. Shame the hotel breakfast was ridiculously expensive, it would be easy for them to provide a basic continental breakfast with fruit, yoghurts, toast, croissants etc for a cheap price. WiFi in the lobby is good,shame not extended throughout the hotel but still proved really useful.

Overall a very good hotel but too far away from the action for Western first timers and clearly is only targeting Japanese visitors. Therefore it is unlikely we will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timbotambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

The hotel is fine. Small rooms, but neat and clean, very similar in general idea to a toyoko inn, but with a lot more effort put into presentation. The price we paid wasn't that cheap, so it wasn't great for that money, but not too bad either. Wired internet in rooms, but no wifi.

The location is very handy to Uguisadani, and is visible from the station, which is handy to avoid the first day "I'm lost in Tokyo" nerves :-) Uguisidani is only a small station and is only reachable by local trains. Every train from the Yamanote line stops here, and some from another line, but they are very regular, so even though it feels a little "out of the way" it is quite easy to get to Ueno (2 mins) or Toyko station (about 10 mins). It is between Nippori and Ueno, both of which have access to Shinkansen and the Keisei airport express train.

Nearby are more restaurants than you can poke a stick at and the ones we tried were all good, although smoking is very common in them. There are plenty of convenience stores, but we couldn't find a 7-11 or Post office to use our foreign ATM cards to get cash, so make sure you get that elsewhere.

Just down from the station there is also a night market which was fun for a visit if it's on (can't remember the details or if it was a special occassion).

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cpagia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

2 mn walking from the Uguisudani train station (on Yamanote line). 15 mn walking from Ueno park and Asakusa.
for breakfast: take Yamanote line to Ueno (2mn) and there's plenty of French bakeries.
clean. new. modern. rooms are very small but it's ok.

Room Tip: don't take double beds as they're small. take deluxe double-beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank French-girl-in-TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taito hotels
Ueno, Asakusa
Ueno Hotel
Ueno Hotel
#27 of 123 in Taito
222 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Sardonyx Ueno
Hotel Sardonyx Ueno
#19 of 123 in Taito
311 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
HOTEL MYSTAYS Ueno East
HOTEL MYSTAYS Ueno East
#34 of 123 in Taito
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Villa Fontaine Ueno
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Mystays Ueno Inaricho
Ueno, Asakusa
Agora Place Asakusa
Agora Place Asakusa
#22 of 123 in Taito
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candeo Hotels Ueno-Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candeo Hotels Ueno-Park

Address: 1-2-13 Negishi, Taito 110-0003, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 123 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Price Range: $83 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Candeo Hotels Ueno-Park 3*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candeo Hotels Ueno-Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candeo Hotels Uenokoen Hotel Taito
Candeo Hotels Ueno-Park Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing