We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com$41
Hotels.com$36
Priceline$36
eDreams$41
CheapTickets$36
Agoda.com$37
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (331)
Filter reviews
331 results
Traveler rating
42
161
89
31
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
42
161
89
31
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews uguisudani station breakfast buffet is minute walk narita airport jr japan
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 331 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

The hotel was quite out the way for our first time in Tokyo though has good transport links on theJR Yamanote line. Would have preferred a hotel nearer the Shinjuku/Shibuya/Rappongi area as these took around 45mins to get to but certainly wouldn't have got the space for the cost so its all about compromise.

Room was excellent size, extremely clean, well equipped, with excellent bathroom and powerful shower. The double bed was large and extremely comfortable. The biggest problem is that it isn't Western friendly. None of the room literature material is in English, nor is the AC remote. I asked for English but they didnt have any which is a shame as it would be so simple to create an English guide. We were unable to use the advertised 300 films on demand as simply couldn't figure it out even though we are well travelled. We also found a lack of anything to do/eat/drink nearby for the non-English, especially breakfast. Shame the hotel breakfast was ridiculously expensive, it would be easy for them to provide a basic continental breakfast with fruit, yoghurts, toast, croissants etc for a cheap price. WiFi in the lobby is good,shame not extended throughout the hotel but still proved really useful.

Overall a very good hotel but too far away from the action for Western first timers and clearly is only targeting Japanese visitors. Therefore it is unlikely we will be back.

Date of stay: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timbotambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

The hotel is fine. Small rooms, but neat and clean, very similar in general idea to a toyoko inn, but with a lot more effort put into presentation. The price we paid wasn't that cheap, so it wasn't great for that money, but not too bad either. Wired internet in rooms, but no wifi.

The location is very handy to Uguisadani, and is visible from the station, which is handy to avoid the first day "I'm lost in Tokyo" nerves :-) Uguisidani is only a small station and is only reachable by local trains. Every train from the Yamanote line stops here, and some from another line, but they are very regular, so even though it feels a little "out of the way" it is quite easy to get to Ueno (2 mins) or Toyko station (about 10 mins). It is between Nippori and Ueno, both of which have access to Shinkansen and the Keisei airport express train.

Nearby are more restaurants than you can poke a stick at and the ones we tried were all good, although smoking is very common in them. There are plenty of convenience stores, but we couldn't find a 7-11 or Post office to use our foreign ATM cards to get cash, so make sure you get that elsewhere.

Just down from the station there is also a night market which was fun for a visit if it's on (can't remember the details or if it was a special occassion).

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cpagia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

2 mn walking from the Uguisudani train station (on Yamanote line). 15 mn walking from Ueno park and Asakusa.
for breakfast: take Yamanote line to Ueno (2mn) and there's plenty of French bakeries.
clean. new. modern. rooms are very small but it's ok.

Room tip: don't take double beds as they're small. take deluxe double-beds
Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank French-girl-in-TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for the last 3 nights of our Japan trip in April and we found the hotel pleasant and conveniently located. The Uguisudani JR station is just 3mins walk away and was ideal for us as we were using the JR pass for our travels. It connects easily to the Ueno Tokyo Metro and from there, you can get to most parts of Tokyo and outside the prefecture pretty conveniently. The hotel itself is not big but it has different sized rooms so you don't really have to cramp yourself into a standard 13 sqm room if you are willing to pay a little more for comfort. And I find the price very reasonable for a Tokyo hotel and really good value for the room size and amenities on offer. There is free wi-fi in the lobby and also a laptop for guests to use, if they choose to. There are also complimentary items offered, such as bath salts, disposal shavers, combs, green tea, etc for the guests to pick up from the lobby, if they require. If you're not the partying type and like to retire early back to the hotel, they also have complimentary video selections in the rooms, but for those travelling with children, I would advise parental control on the video list. :-)

The hotel is generally quite and you don't really hear any street noise at all. There are vending machines available in the lobby so a mini bar is not maintained in the room. The room was comfortable enough for us and nicely laid out, leaving us enough space to lay out our big luggage. I noticed a few restaurants near the hotel but we didn't try any of these as we were out most of the time. The Ueno Park is within walking distance, about 10mins, and the Ueno station can be reached on foot too, however, I would advise taking the train if you are carrying luggage as the walk there is a little hilly and not that the best route to be dragging a luggage bag.

Overall, I would recommend staying at this hotel as it is very good value. Hotel staff are helpful, rooms clean and comfortable and it is close to station with great connectivity.

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Svitata
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

We went to the Candeo Ueno hotel in April 2012. The hotel is situated 100m North-East of Uguisudani JR station, on the Yamanote Line: take the South exit, cross the tracks, go down the stairs and turn left on Kototoi Dori. There is a good and very cheap Yakitori shop for locals at the bottom of the stairs (be careful, some skewers are made of offal). The area around the hotel is peppered with slot machine and "massage" places, with a few love hotels for good measure. It is however safe, probably because there are a lot of commuters most of the time and also a few more normal businesses providing for the locals.

The hotel reception is on the 2nd floor (reached by lift or stairs). Staff are efficient and have a sufficient knowledge of English, although they do not seem overly keen to help, but this could have been down communication problem, since we didn't speak Japanese.
We booked a standard double (stated at 16m2), non-smoking. Our room was on the 4th floor and offered absolutely no view, except the back of a wall. There was some daylight light coming in, though, and it was quiet (no train noise). The room was on the small side but not more than what could be expected for a business hotel. The room was clean and the decoration was OK and quite recent. The bed was probably 120cm wide and was comfy. There was a narrow desk, with a LAN cable (free internet connection). The bathroom was simple (sink, electric toilet, small bath tub with shower handset) but clean and in good working order. The room had a kettle but the tea/coffee and other amenities are to be picked near the reception desk. The green tea was good (powdered). The TV was a decent one, with free Japanese digital channels. There was also one of the ominous vending machine (mainly drinks) near the lift. The lifts were quite new but there were only 2 of them and they were very slow. We didn't have breakfast at the hotel.

Overall, this is a good business hotel worth considering if you are on a budget. It's location is really convenient on the Yamanote Line, just one stop away from Ueno JR and 10 minutes from Tokyo JR. One could probably walk to Ueno JR. I rated it "Average" rather than "Very good" because the area will not be of everyone's taste and our room was the smallest of all the business hotels we tried in Japan, but the rating should really be in-between; it is Tokyo after all. Comparing with other hotels we used in Japan (low season), the last minute price was within average for this standard, but there are good deal in advance booking if you stay a few days.

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LocAlain
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews