We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun experience, but not sure of the value...and it smelled.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Capsule Hotel Asakusa Riverside
Ranked #59 of 75 Specialty lodging in Taito
Reviewed October 15, 2010

We did the capsule hotel just for one night for the experience of it, and it was pretty cool. The capsule was clean, had a light, tv, clock. The room with all of the capsules smelled bad. Bathroom was as clean as possible with that many people using it. Bath and shower area had a deck and fantastic views, super-cool. I was afraid I would not be able to sleep, but everyone was considerate and quiet and I actually slept really well. I am not sure how good of a value it was, but it was a cool experience.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank timpitts57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

46 - 52 of 65 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2010

My sister and I absolutely loved this place, you gotta try a capsule while you're in Japan. This is one of the few capsule hotels that accept women. Cheap as, good location near the station in Asakusa where you probably will be visiting if you visit Tokyo. Sleeping was great, and I can't imagine it wouldn't be great unless you are claustrophobic or have noisy roommates. The capsules are surprisingly roomy, and have all the space you need. They provide lockers with your capsule so you have a place to store your things when you check-in. Staff were very friendly and used to foreigners. There is no room/capsule service so you'll only see them at the desk. Oh, be warned and the showers/baths are communal (segregated of course). But you've also gotta try that too while you're in Japan. So much space!

We actually stayed one night here and another at a guest house close-by for the other night. We wish we'd just booked two nights in the capsules. They are GREAT!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank manic_cornflakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2010

Conveniently located right by a metro station, next to the river. It's a short walk to the Sensoji temple. The top floor of the hotel has a japanese bath and a balcony with views of the river and surrounding areas. For 3000 yen you get the unique experience of staying the night in a capsule – it's kind of like sleeping in a dorm, or a night on the train, but instead of a bunk bed you get a capsule with its own little tv. Not the best for light sleepers but definitely a cool experience for just one night. Safe and clean (there's a women only floor). The capsule may be too cramped though for anyone close to 6 feet. Staff didn't speak English very well but was very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank catinthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2010

My fiance & I had one night left in Tokyo and didn't want to pay a fortune to stay somewhere as we had an early flight home. This capsule inn was perfect! We didn't want to leave Japan without trying out a capsule hotel for novelty value! Right next to the station, excellent facilities and a lovely view from the top floor bathrooms. The separate male & female Japanese style bathrooms were very clean, as you would expect in Japan. There is a small terrace area in the communal seating area by the lift which also has a washing machine. The view from the terrace was lovely, overlooking the river.
We put our large rucksacks into a big locker for 400yen as there isn't any storage in the capsule area apart from a small locker to put your washkit and clothes in. You are given a towel and pjs which saved pulling everything out of my rucksack!
I stayed on the female only floor which was very comfortable and safe if you are on your own. There is a lock on the door into the capsule area and cameras dotted about for safety. I found it a very comfortable sleeping area, larger than I had expected.
I would definitely recommend this hotel for a short night stay.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Smartihols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2010

Don't be put off by the fact that you have to book your night through a ticket machine or that it resembles a dodgy motel. That's only the entrance. After you've traded in your shoes for slippers you're wisked away via elevator to the upper floors. There is a lounge with vending machines and internet access. The top floor has a washer/dryer and a deck with a view of Asahi Tower, Asakusa and the Sumida river. The place even has a small onsen with a sauna. For 3000yen you get use of all the facilities. The 7th and 8th floors are reserved for women. The capsules are very comfy. I'm 5'6, 200 lbs. I could sit up straight in the thing with room to spare. I'm pretty sure a 6 footer could sleep comfy. Each capsule has a TV/radio. You can pay 500yen for movies if you'd like. I felt totally safe. You can lock your things in a large locker that cost 400yen for 12 hours. There is no curfew. There is a restaurant that you can visit right from the lobby but there are quite a few eateries in the vicinity. If you want a good night sleep and a uniquely Japanese experience don't pass this up.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kdowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2009

My stay was at the Asakusa Riverside Capsule Hotel which has a separate entrance but shares the same building and reception. It is located right outside the metro station and very easy to find. Capsule rooms were immaculate and a good size, providing a sense of privacy without being claustrophobic; capsules are complete with alarm clock, radio and your own personal tv. It was the most comfortable bed I encountered in japan. Reception was very friendly. Each guest is assigned a locker for personal items; toiletries, pajamas and towels are provided. There are separate sleeping quarters for men and women as well as separate bath facilities. It was extremely quiet when I was there, which allowed for a good night's sleep. Of all the hotels in japan, this is the place I enjoyed staying at the most. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldtraveller008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank LifeSafari_org
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taito
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel New Tochigiya
Hotel New Tochigiya
#47 of 75 in Taito
50 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Spa Resort President
Spa Resort President
#52 of 75 in Taito
24 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Capsule & Sauna New century
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
Capsule & Sauna Oriental
Oak Hostel Fuji
#2 of 27 in Sumida
41 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
ENAKA Asakusa Central Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capsule Hotel Asakusa Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capsule Hotel Asakusa Riverside

Address: 2-20-4 Kaminarimon, Taito 111-0034, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 75 Specialty lodging in Taito
Price Range: $15 - $54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Capsule Hotel Asakusa Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capsule Hotel Asakusa Riverside Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing