We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If i return to tokyo, i'll stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Capsule Hotel Asakusa Riverside
Ranked #51 of 64 Specialty lodging in Taito
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“If i return to tokyo, i'll stay here”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

This place is great, affordable, clean. I slept well here. The price is reasonable. I loved the bathing area. My stuff felt secure in the lockers. Only downside is having to be out from around 9am until 3am. Sometimes you want to take a nap or sleep in.. But, I enjoyed the unique experience and would recommend it to others. Great location.

Room Tip: Take whatcha get and you don't throw a fit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MollyMuffin7422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    21
    27
    7
    1
See reviews for
2
10
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Location is very near the train station, you can spot it right away. bed is comfortable enough. they provide pjs, toothbrush and toothpaste (horrible taste) and towels, located inside locker assigned to you.
It was hot inside the capsule than i expected, there is def no need to use their blanket at all.
no instructions in getting the volume on (if there is?) on the tv inside the capsule. instructions should also be in english at least.. no outlet to charge your phone or cameras. There are separate floors for men and women. Common shower area for women, and on the other side is common shower area for men, which have a great view of the river.
wifi is free only on one floor. pc's are 100 yen per 10 mins.

Good to experience for one night.
I had my one night, i would not stay again.

Room Tip: have to be really mindful of the noise you make inside the room with the capsule hotels, even the sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kcms2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I had a good laugh staying here for a few days. Very nice balcony on the 9th floor overlooking the river too. Location is pretty good, right by Asakusa metro stations. Downsides are that many of the communal areas are not non-smoking so smell pretty bad and some people might be put off by Japanese men sitting in the communal area in paper pyjamas nonchalantly watching porn. Also, showers are communal, again quite an amusing experience showering next to an old Japanese man but if this thought puts you off, perhaps a better to go a little higher with your budget. One final word of warning, the hotel was quite empty when I stayed there so I didn't have any problems sleeping. I can imagine if the capsule dorm gets crowded, it would get quite noisy, alarm clocks going off all the time etc.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I had to try capsule hotel while being in Japan. This one was the only one with capsules for males and females. The hotel was located close to some monuments and it has nice view from balcony on top floor. Capsules are small and you get fancy pyjama. I was surprised, that everyone was wearing them. There is one guy from staff who can talk English. The rest can speak only Japanese. Do not travel with big suitcase as there is additional charge for locker. In hotel everyone has to wear their slippers.
I thing it is good to try sleep in capsule while being in Japan

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomeks85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

You have to try the capsule hotel while in Tokyo, and this was a good option in that case. The mattress is not thicker than 5 cm, so the sleep was... not constant through the night. The "wi-fi-room" was packed with smoke at the time we wanted to sit there, so no use for that, and there were no electric outlets in the capsule. Also, it was poorly described in the capsule in english what the buttons were too, as well as how the TV could work. For the price, it's worth the stay one night, but I recommmend one night only.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minnea87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

I stayed at the capsule hotel for one night, August 27th. It was novel and served its purpose.

When we got there, it was 50 degrees Celsius (+110 farenheit) so it was damn hot. They did not air condition the hallways or elevators, so you sweated a lot. And when we first got there, they also weren't air conditioning the room with the capsules. Once we pointed out that there was no a/c however, they turned it on.

Customer service was typical for Japan, meaning very good. Not too much English is spoken but you can get by with gestures, believe it or not. Everything was pretty clean, so no complaints there. The showering area was actually onsen-style and if you are not used to traditional Japanese baths, this will be odd. It's an open room with showers along one wall and a large hot-tub style bath, always filled with hot water. You need to rinse off at the showers first (and you do this seated, not standing), take a dip in the hot tub to warm up, go back to the showers where you wash yourself (hair and body), be sure to rinse off completely, and then you go back to the tub to hang for awhile. It's communal and everyone is naked. Women and men are separated however.

The capsule itself is surprisingly spacious. It has a tv, radio and alarm, but no where to plug in your phone or Ipod. There was a charger on the 2nd floor that you pay for though (where there was also free internet). They provided pj's and a towel, which was great. The mattress you sleep on is thin and too hard for my liking. Even with the a/c on I did not use my blanket, as I still found it a tad warm. I ended up using the blanket as a second pillow. Luggage storage is available on the second floor, which was 400 Yen for a locker. I ended up leaving my luggage in a nook by my capsule. Not sure if that was kosher or not but no one said anything.

The capsule hotel is essentially a hostel. It's not the best one I stayed in but it's definitely not the worse. It was fine for one night but I wouldn't do it again. It has separate floors for female guests, which is nice because most places only allow men. If you find yourself in the Asakusa are of Tokyo, be sure to check out the market at the base of the temple, but go early, it closes by 6:30pm. Great souvenir shopping (swords, ninja stars, purses, hoppi's, kimono's etc) . And don't get excited about the Denny's nearby. I was craving some Western food but it's nothing like home.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyAslan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2012

It wasn't as bad as i thought. very basic if you just want to sleep in for the night for the experience, it's fine. There is a locker to put in your belongings, but if you have anything bigger, you have to pay to use the vending machine. Onsen is on the top floor.
Train station is very near and Asakusa shopping is also within walking distance. Bring your own adaptor as there isnt any . There is a computer with internet but the place was quite stuffy. Staff don't speak English so there may be a problem if you have questions.
Overall, we went there for the experience!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marge99999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taito
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel New Gyominso
Hotel New Gyominso
#86 of 120 in Taito
33 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
ENAKA Asakusa Central Hostel
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel New Tochigiya
Hotel New Tochigiya
#42 of 64 in Taito
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
Capsule & Sauna New century
Ueno, Asakusa
The Nell Ueno Okachimachi
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Capsule Value Kanda
Capsule Value Kanda
#3 of 12 in Chiyoda
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capsule Hotel Asakusa Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capsule Hotel Asakusa Riverside

Property: Capsule Hotel Asakusa Riverside
Address: 2-20-4 Kaminarimon, Taito 111-0034, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 64 Specialty lodging in Taito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Capsule Hotel Asakusa Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capsule Hotel Asakusa Riverside Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing