We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only good thing is gyoza”
Review of Ramen Yoroiya

Ramen Yoroiya
Ranked #4 of 4,191 Restaurants in Taito
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $11
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Cash Only, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Ueno, Asakusa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Only good thing is gyoza”
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

Small place, small menu, delicious gyoza. You get three good-sized gyoza for 350yen. They are delicious with an interesting pepper dip in addition to the soy sauce. The ramen was gross. If I came back, I would only get gyoza, but they alone are good enough for four stars.

Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    57
    12
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Gyoza were delicious”
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

The staff were very kind and helpful, especially as we only speak about 4 words of Japanese. My partner had the Ramen and thought it was ok, I hated it - the sauce had dried fish in it, which I could both smell and taste ... But, if you like dried fish it would taste great! The Gyoza were amazing, I had two helping (3 dumplings per helping) and was very full.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank familyGNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent, eat it all.”
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

I got the gyoza and some ramen. The gyoza were a perfect accompaniment to the ramen, the ramen was some of the best I've had. It was great to sit in front of the kitchen and watch the chefs do their magic.

Helpful?
Thank Backpacker210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Killer crispy gyoza”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Went here randomly after visiting Sensoji Temple. Saw that they have Gyoza on the Menu, actually there is nothing else on the menu than Ramen and Gyoza. And what darn great Gyoza! Killer crispy, big, delicate filling. To die for.
Slender bar, open from 11am - 8.30pm, don't look for chic or hip. This is simple pop and outstanding.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ViatorNarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Excellent Ramen”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Yoroiya is a small restaurant.

I say that up front to prep you for the experience. There are two kinds of small restaurants: quaint and cozy, or cramped and uncomfortable. Without question, Yoroiya falls into the former category - as much as a busy ramen restaurant can, that is.

And it is busy. There are not many places to sit, and, like most Japanese restaurants, you have to wait for your table outside. Our wait was about five minutes because we were right on the shoulder of the lunch rush.

It is close to Sensoji temple, so is very convenient to both tourist attractions and shopping.

The food was excellent. There have been movies made about how the mystique around ramen. Many people in America associate ramen with quick food; it isn't seen as something you'd get in a restaurant. So for any Americans with that preconceived notion, think of ramen like you think of a hamburger in the US: you can get cheap burgers, you can make your own at home from a box of frozen patties; but you can also get very expensive burgers. Same with ramen.

Like most noodle dishes, there is a very fine line in the firmness of the noodles. Yoroiya got it perfect. The soup was also spectacular. My son and I chose a soy-based soup, my wife got a miso-based stock. Either is recommended. We also got gyoza as a side dish; it was a bit too much, but the gyoza was really, really good, too.

There are many great places to eat in the area, and I've only been to one. But without question, it was a great choice.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank worthj1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ramen Yoroiya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing