We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveler rating
4
20
16
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4
20
16
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews meatballs miso soup uguisudani station yamanote line rooms are small tokyo
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 45 reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2017

I have nothing against the Toyoko Inn chain, and stayed in them almost exclusively during my time in Japan.

It's just that this one had the smallest room I've ever stayed in. Normally I can leave my luggage not, but not this time - I had to slide it under the bed simply to get from the bed to the bathroom. It was pretty much a matter of putting something away to get something else out. A bit frustrating at first, but once you get a routine sorted you're OK.

No complaints about the breakfast - it was the usual Toyoko offering of miso soup, rice cakes, pickled vegetables, sausages or meatballs (depending on the day) and salads, with tea and coffee to drink. It's nothing to write home about, but gives you a good start to a day's walking and exploring.

The only real downside is the location - there are some dodgy looking bars and a large number of 'love hotels' in the streets behind the hotel (towards the train station). I never had any issues, but a friend of a friend accepted a street hawker's offer of "cheap beer" and ended up being dosed with Rohypnol and having his credit cards stolen. So be aware of what's around you, don't accept offers that sound too good to be true, and you should be OK.

Aside from that, there are good restaurants around, and I had some excellent food from a little BBQ type place at the bottom of the stairs where the road goes over the trainlines (towards Ueno Park and the south exit of the Uguisudani station). You can't miss it after dark.

Speaking of the trains, the hotel is on the Yamanote line, so it's a breeze to get to places such as Shinjuku, Tokyo Central, Akihabara, etc.

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Viking_in_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2015

I have a membership with Toyoko Inn and have frequented their chain of hotels nearly every time I have come back as a tourist. This is my first stay at the Uguisudani branch.

Firstly, I must admit I have sort of braced myself by reading other reviews prior to coming. Still, when I turned up, I was surprised how inefficient they used the space. Let me just clarify - This hotel and the room I stayed in isn't very much smaller than most of the previous Toyoko Inn rooms I have stayed in. In fact, it's probably the same size. However, their poor space planning lead to inefficient and uncomfortable use of space. opening my luggage is a minor chore and, if you're the clumsy sort when you wake up, you are likely to trip over your bed to the bath room.

Secondly, it's summer and it certainly doesn't help the situation here. At times throughout the day the lift inside the building and the corridor space just outside my room is hotter than the air outside the building!!!

Also, considering that this hotel is almost the same size as the other Toyoko Inn chain here in Tokyo, I am baffled as to why there is only ONE washing machine and ONE dryer!

However, once I got myself settled in and kept to a routine of keeping things very neat and simple, It's really the same old comfortable hotel in a very interesting neighbourhood.

It is right next to the train station, for starters, so it's great. However, due to the need to use a set of stairs, this is not very accessible friendly. It's about a 5mins walk to the train station, bypassing a konbini. very very convenient.

what makes this an even more convenient space is that it is surrounded by food places. just downstairs, there's an udon shop, a ramen shop, a "western" cafe and other variety of noodle shops. At night, when the seedier side of town awakes (lots of love hotels here), the Izakaya (local idea of pubs) opens, giving you more variety of food - which i think is awesome for a traveller who might be very jetlagged for a few days.

There's even a game store here that opens till 2am!

Still love their free breakfasts and very friendly staffs. :)

  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anivyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2015

Very small rooms, however they were clean and cheap. The smallness of the rooms is mostly due to it being situated in the cramped city of Tokyo where buildings can be thin, but long. There were a couple of loud guests in other rooms, but otherwise okay. The staff were very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jóna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2015 via mobile

It's just okay, small room and small bed. But the hospitality is is great. This is OK if you only use this hotel just to spend the night and take a shower. Nothing fancy just efficient, worth the price. But I like the breakfast, they serve traditional Japanese meal..

Stayed: April 2015, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Paksi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2015

Nothing special, no local color or anything, but if you need a cheap hotel for the night this should do it. It's close to the Yamanote line so convenient for anywhere else you want to go in Tokyo. The area has a surprising number of love hotels, even for Tokyo, but this wasn't one, and yes, porn movies in the room, with brochures, are usual in Japan. There are no soap bars or shampoo bottles, only dispensers in the room. They're doing their best to cut costs, and their best is good, however, don't expect a memorable experience. You're there for business, or to see Tokyo, and staying at a hotel is not the purpose of your visit.

  • Stayed: March 2015, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Danjuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews