We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem!”
Review of Kangaroo hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kangaroo hotel
Ranked #29 of 69 Specialty lodging in Taito
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Very modern style hotel with minimalist decor. Rooms here can be tiny, but who really needs all that space in a hotel room anyway? Bathrooms very clean. Laundry facilities available. Staff are quite nice. The only downside to the hotel is its location, which can be tricky to find at first. Note that it is situated in a rather quiet area of Tokyo that is somewhat out of the way. A great place to stay nonetheless.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

24 - 30 of 102 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

The atmosphere and the facilities are no doubt awesome with cheap price! The only disadvantage is the location. After shopping and hanging around Tokyo, my legs told me that i should find a hotel just nearby the station next time. Regardless of the disadvantage, i still love the mattress, vintage lobby and the bathtub. People live in Minamisenju area are friendly made my trip filled with joy!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
Thank 孟蒓謝
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

I have stayed at this cozy hotel this Sep. for 5 nights. The hotel is very like a hostel that is everything you have to do with yourself. The hotel is very comfortable and stylish, also the price is very reasonable, just is a little far away from the station Minamisenju. Very nice!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Perfect place to stay on a budget if you want privacy! Extremely clean, modern and comfortable. I would recommend this to my friends/family. Unusual area of Tokyo (lots of homeless men on the street), however very close to the station and supermarket. Staff have good english and are willing to help.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Benjamin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Kangaroo hotel is an awesome place with friendly englisk speaking staff, great location, clean common areas and bike rentals. Big thanks to reception staff for your advices and your help in planning our day trips. Rooms have internet connection fridge and aircon perfect for a trip to Tokyo!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matbourg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The rooms are essentially that large for this to fit: 2 single mattresses and a fridge - something like 6 square meters. This is very small especially for a couple with a suitcase. However the hotel looks very recent and it is clean. It is 10 mins from the nearest metro station, which itself is a few hops away from some of the key points of interests in Tokyo. You need a good map, the hotel is slightly difficult to find. The walls are thin and it can get noisy, especially the hallways. English-speaking staff, but not available 24/7. Shared toilets and shower are clean.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

This place was a wonderful place to stay and I really enjoyed the feature of having a TV (even though all the channels were Japanese) and a mini fridge in the room and u probably can't find a place where u can have a room (small as it may be) to urself with no one to disturb u.

It is located abt 15mins away from the station in a rather quiet neighborhood but I never felt unsafe heading back late at night and I like the fact that there was a small supermarket just 3 mins away from the hostel.

If I had to nikpick anything, it would probably be that the shower was at level 1, which meant I had to cart all my shower necessities downstairs each time I wanted to shower, which is quite inconvenient if I was to forget anything. But they had shower gel, shampoo and condition in the toilets for those who ain't fussy with what they use ...

I would definitely stay here again on my future visits to Tokyo ... ^^

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank An J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taito
Ueno, Asakusa
& And Hostel -Asakusa North-
Ueno, Asakusa
Khaosan Tokyo Kabuki
Khaosan Tokyo Kabuki
#8 of 69 in Taito
227 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
East57 Asakusabashi
East57 Asakusabashi
#16 of 69 in Taito
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
Economy Hotel Hoteiya
Economy Hotel Hoteiya
#8 of 16 in Taito
43 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Khaosan World Asakusa Ryokan & Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kangaroo hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kangaroo hotel

Address: 1-21-11 Nihonzutsumi, Taito 111-0021, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 69 Specialty lodging in Taito
Price Range: $31 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kangaroo hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Rakuten and Travelocity so you can book your Kangaroo hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kangaroo Hotel Hotel Taito
Kangaroo Hotel Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing