We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sardonyx Ueno
Ranked #16 of 155 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights while in Tokyo. Great location for JR trains, Metros and to/from airport. Room is very nice, and breakfast is simple but fine. Free internet in lobby. Rooms are clean, and service is very good. Very good value for the money.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tbwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (324)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

86 - 92 of 324 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2012

This hotel is in Ueno, right in the center of the shopping and eating places. Excellent location. With sub-way connection and close enough to the JR station for easy access to the airport. The cost of the hotel is reasonable. Rooms are clean, and one of the best things is that there is free internet in the lobby. Rooms are big relative to other hotel rooms in Japan. Staff are ok, not terribly friendly but not terribly bad also. Would use this hotel again for sure.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moichee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I booked this hotel at booking.com for the double bed room (non-smoking). We stayed here for our last 2 nights in Tokyo and regretted that we didn't stay here for the full 7 days.

The hotel is conveniently located near Naka-okachimachi (exit A8). Less than a minute's walk but you would have to climb a long flight of stairs before reaching the ground floor. It is also near the Ueno station where the Keisei Skyliner is, which makes it really convenient (and fast) to go to the airport.

The hotel is very clean and is slightly bigger than the last hotel i stayed in. The furnitures are simple and therefore do not take up a lot of space, which means you have more space for your luggages and shopping bags. The bed is extremely comfortable. Size of the bed is suitable for 2 petite asians. They provided toiletries that were beyond our expectations, such as body sponges, razors, tooth brushes, and hairbrushes. Cotton wool, cotton buds, shower caps and hair ties are available at the hotel lobby for free. You can also purchase bath salts at the lobby if you wish to have a relaxing soak in the bath tub at the end of your day. They are sold at 50 yen each. The hotel lobby also have maps and Tokyo handy guides for free and they proved to be really helpful.

I stayed on level 7, room 705 and the view was fantastic (facing the highway with the Sky tree in the background).

The Ameyoko is just behind the hotel. The streets are crowded with stores selling clothes, bags, shoes and dried goods. You may find souvenirs here too. Most importantly, there are many good noodle stalls nearby and you won't go hungry if you stayed at this area.

The hotel also provided free breakfast which was decent. The staff spoke adequate English and are very friendly and warmth. They gladly stored our luggages for hours when we were out for last minute shopping before heading back home.

We would definitely stay here again the next time we are back. Great hotel, great location.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank littlesheep_meh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

This hotel is fantastic value for Tokyo. Rooms are small by western standards, but perfectly adequate. Very clean, with a small fridge and lcd tv, although there are no english language channels so of no use for us. Hotel also has laundry facilities, vending machines and microwaves. Breakfast is in the attached Cafe Jnr Italian tomato restaurant and was very nice, though we purchased toast on top (100yen) to make it a little more filling. Go early because it gets very busy! Location is perfect. Just minutes walk from ueno station with direct links to Narita airport, and several metro lines. The only downside is the stench of cigarettes on the smoking floors. We stayed on a non smoking floor so were spared this for the most part. All in all, highly recommended..

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kevy_wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

This was the second time I stayed in this hotel. Its location is good, just a few minutes walk from subway, JR and Keisei Skyliner stations, and one can find different shopping malls, restaurants as well as convenient stores nearby. Though the space of the room is very small, but considering its price and convenience, it is acceptable. The hotel offers limited choices of breakfast but the food is nice.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stellachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I already book with booking.com a double bed room.
when I first come in, the staff sees that we are 2 adult with 2 children so, they ask if we comfortable with the room, at first I didn't understand it because they hardly speak english and I was tired on the journey from Osaka to Tokyo, so I'm a little up... but after a while, they try to show us the room first and finally... we choose to upgrade the room.. and we stayed there very comfortable, thanks to the staff for the advice

Location it is very good, it's easy to go everywhere...very convenient and they give brief breakfast, it is very nice

Overall, we really like Sardonyx Ueno, and will come back again in next time visit..

And thank you very much to everyone who gives us a tip and advice too.....

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m4r14_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

I have been in Tokyo several times but this is the first time we tried Sardonyx Ueno; and we will come back to stay here again.

Easy to access from both Narita (via Keisei) and Haneda (via monorail & JR) airports. The closest JR station is Okachimachi which is about 2-3 minutes walk. The good news is ,after renovating, Okachimachi station has both lift and escalator; hence, if you have big bags from either shopping or travel, this station is great for you. JR and metro Ueno station also about 5 minutes.

The room price is reasonable. We got the promotion rate from their website and from great experiences we got, we are not sure whether they got any profit from this rate!!

Room is compact but I can say that even (many) 5 stars hotel in Tokyo, they also have compact room. The room has everything you expected - HD TV, note pad, tea set, hair drier, small closet, etc. Bathroom is nothing fancy but work well. The important thing is this is a proper hotel - not a dorm that full of annoying backpackers or the 'love' hotel.

Breakfast is great for both food and people watching. We have tried the dinner on another day - food are simply but still good.

Overall, we like this hotel and would come back again (probably next year). I would say this hotel is like 4 stars hotel in Europe with good location and professional service.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GenieAlice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taito hotels
Ueno, Asakusa
Mitsui Garden Hotel Ueno
Ueno, Asakusa
HOTEL MYSTAYS Ueno East
HOTEL MYSTAYS Ueno East
#32 of 155 in Taito
79 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Mystays Ueno Inaricho
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
APA Hotel Keisei Ueno Ekimae
Ueno, Asakusa
Ueno Hotel
Ueno Hotel
#26 of 155 in Taito
235 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
THE GATE HOTEL Asakusa Kaminarimon by HULIC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sardonyx Ueno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sardonyx Ueno

Address: 6-6-7 Ueno, Taito 110-0005, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Taito
Price Range: $80 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Sardonyx Ueno 3.5*
Number of rooms: 181
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, JAPANiCAN and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sardonyx Ueno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sardonyx Ueno Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing