We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“extremely near to Ueno Keisei station and free wifi in room”
Review of Kinuya Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kinuya Hotel
Ranked #62 of 124 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Reviewed December 27, 2013

I stayed in Dec 2013 and got a room facing the street. Despite the cons, I will definitely stay in this hotel again (if I planned in Ueno side of Tokyo) as it is very value for money and convenient.

Pros -
1) hotel is extremely near to one of the exit/entrance of Ueno Keisei station. The hotel is literally 10 steps away (separated by a 2 lane traffic). Very good for those with heavy luggage
2) NO smoking stench at all in the room (as compared to some of the past reviews here)
3) There is WIFI in the room and signal strength is strong
4) Toilet is bright with a small bath tub
5) Room is clean (as per all the hotels I stayed in Tokyo)
6) Recep staff speaks good english
7) Room rate is cheapest of my stay

Cons -
1) Room furniture and TV quite dated (not a concern for non-fussy traveller like me)
2) Toilet ceiling height a bit low (a bit a concern for a tall person like me but I can live with it)
3) Toilet seat did not come with wash/bidet function

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blubugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

38 - 44 of 106 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2013

I stayed in the Kinuya Hotel in August, and will definately stay there again. The rooms might be basic, but they are cheaper than some. I thought the place was quaint, had a strange charm to it. And the service from the duty manager Mr Takamura was spot on.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elttilneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

old but clean customer service is average. no internet in the room but there are 2 terminals in the lobby. Non smoking triple room but can still smell the cigarettes. This is a smoking hotel. Room and toilet very small. Hard to maneuver around.
If you are not looking for luxury and just a decent place to sleep its good enough.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank lucia l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I have not given the Kinuya top score, because - as other people have noted in the past - smoking is permitted there - and if you find the smell of cigarette smoke intolerable, dont stay there.
I am most definitely NOT a smoker - but can get used to the Kinuya's, ever present ,background 'hum'.
Whenever I stay in Tokyo, I am always glad to be back in the Kinuya, and having stayed in a collection of business hotels over years, some extremely smart - I will answer my own question, WHY do I feel 'at home' there?
First thing - Ive usually arrived at Narita, within the last couple of hours - and the straight through, fast, Narita skyliner train, direct to Ueno, that arrives within yards of the Hotel's front door (ok - there are a few steps up) with nothing but check-in between me and a peaceful, clean, tiny tatami room, hot shower, hot coffee, (in my room) and looooong sleep with the 'do not disturb' note on my door), is irresistable..If you like ultra modern, spotlessly clean, pristine steel and plastic, the Kinuya is *not* for you. It always looks decidedly 'lived in' if not a bit frazzled. The decor is just about adequate but never stylish, & sometimes a little odd. The lobby looks well worn. The two free-use computers - are sometimes moody. One keyboard might refuse to type a vital digit or someone will have set the language to Bahasa Minangkabau. The staff, however - have almost without exception, over the years - proved to be endlessly patient, kind and helpful, and ready to resolve any problem - at any hour. With English - well spoken by at least one or two of the available staff. A blessing for the severely jet-lagged. I discovered last month that wifi IS available in the room with easy instant access, I do not know if that is in all rooms, I stayed in rooms on floors 3 and 4 and found wifi access on both..
There are rooms with a view over the lotus filled lake of the adjacent park, but I never notice the view, as sleep - or exploration - are priorities.
Ueno itself, inspite of ever expanding renovation and rebuilding, has a singular atmosphere -timeless and comforting. The immense retro structures of rail station and its bridges - with Ameyoko cluttered all around - together with glass and steel highrise newbuild - is a place to sit and remember past, dream of future, while people-watching, I wont elabourate on personal interests - Ueno has something for everyone. Im hoping to be back, soon.

Room Tip: some rooms have a view of the park, ask for wifi if you want it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bonzolili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Centrally located next to Ueno Park, Ueno Keisei Airport Train Station, Subway Station, JR Station... So it is very easy to get to anywhere in Tokyo! The room is small, the windows open to nowhere (... just a fire exit staircase). The room is small, but well maintained and cleaned (and non smoking). For the price, it can't be beaten. Also free WIFI available in room. The staff is quite attentive and can speak sufficient English.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I guess enough is said about the excellent location of this hotel, and the old slightly run down condition of the rooms, etc. So, as long as one does not expect luxury, but clean and comfortable room for sleep, and out most of the day, this hotel is surely a fine choice. Their room rate is considered reasonable in Japan.

The staffs are quite helpful. The Japanese staffs speak basic English, but enough to get by to serve most of your needs. There is, however, a lovely front desk manager Mr. Kalala who comes from Congo (yes, you read it right!), he is charming and most helpful, fluent in English, French and of course, Japanese! If you can see him, you can bring him your more complicated problems to solve, should there be any.

A note about their single room, the size is standard small, but not overly small. Bathroom is tiny and the bathtub is run down and contains cracks. Maybe because of its age and drainage issue, there is often a slight stench lingering in the room. Other than that, I slept peacefully and comfortably.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank la_speranza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

The perferct location of this hotel make me stay evey time I went to Tokyo, right next to Skyliner which will take you to the airport within 1 hour. The hotel itself is quite old but still clean and don't expect much from the staff as they are not very helpful. Price is reasonable and only take one minutue to the famous uneo market.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bertha Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taito hotels
Ueno, Asakusa
APA Hotel Keisei Ueno Ekimae
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel New Ueno
Hotel New Ueno
#52 of 124 in Taito
79 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Centurion Hotel Ueno
Centurion Hotel Ueno
#71 of 124 in Taito
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Marutani
Hotel Marutani
#86 of 124 in Taito
86 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Sunroute Stellar Ueno
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel New Tohoku
Hotel New Tohoku
#84 of 124 in Taito
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinuya Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinuya Hotel

Address: 2-14-28 Ueno, Taito 110-0005, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 124 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Price Range: $67 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kinuya Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kinuya Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kinuya Hotel Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing