We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Staff”
Review of Hotel Yanagibashi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Yanagibashi
Ranked #41 of 123 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Reviewed February 20, 2012

I stayed here for six nights and all I can say is that we had a great experience. The staff spoke English very well and treated us equally well. I would recommend this hotel for anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kymry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (214)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

127 - 133 of 214 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2012

A pretty basic hotel but for the price you pay it represents good value for money.
The rooms are comfortable and clean, the front desk staff were all extremely pleasent and helpful, providing maps and information on request.
The hostel is located in a side street, but, it is only a 2 min walk to the subway which can take you all over the city.
There is free internet downstairs as well as a drinks vending machine and a visitor kitchen.

I would definitely recommend this to any traveller's travelling to Tokyo on a budget.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonny627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

We chose the small, family-owned Hotel Yanagibashi over another, more corporate establishment because the reviews said the staff spoke excellent English. Not only was that the case, but the clerk helped us on multiple occasions to make restaurant reservations, purchase event tickets and give directions.

The rooms are typical for Tokyo - which is to say quite small by Western standards - but very clean. We arrived in the dead of winter for New Year's and appreciated that the room's heating unit was able to raise the temperature very quickly.

Hardly a block from a post office (convenient place to get cash) and a subway / elevated train station, it was easy to get other neighborhoods, making it an ideal place for budget travelers to stay.

The only real downside is that it's in a slightly sleepy, working-class neighborhood, so if you plan on staying out partying after the trains stop running at midnight, you might want a place in closer stumbling distance to the nightlife districts.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

The best thing with this hotel is the price. If you don't mind staying in a very small room with an incredible small bathroom this hotel is a good option.

The location is OK. There was nothing of interest nearby the hotel but the area felt safe and the metro station is just a few minutes away.

This is a budget hotel but the rooms are clean and the service is good.

The price during the stay was about ¥ 6000 per night.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sweden99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

Stayed here Sept 29 through Oct 8, 2011. We booked this hotel based on the great reviews here on TripAdvisor and the low rates (relative to the rest of Tokyo, of course). Of course the room was very small, but that is expected in all but the most expensive rooms in Tokyo. It may have been a little cramped, but we were only in the room long enough to sleep and shower anyway. The beds were very comfortable and the air conditioning worked well. I would definitely not recommend that two average adults attempt to share a bed, though. The room was very clean with a refrigerator, hair dryer, tea pot, alarm clock and Japanese-only TV. The hotel provided slippers, pajamas, shampoo, and shower gel. We never used a wake-up call, but according to the information found in the room, they have an automated wake-up call system. We never had any problem with noise from other rooms or the street. Even though our room was on the back side of the building, I can't imagine street noise would be a problem even on the front side because the hotel faces a small street with very little traffic.

As mentioned multiple times, everyone at the hotel is extremely friendly and spoke English well. There are drink vending machines and a rack full of information/maps/brochures on ground level near the lobby. The only problem we had was with the internet. The wired connection in the room worked only sporadically. The computers maintained by the hotel worked a little better, but still not great. We were so busy though, we didn't really miss having the internet all that much.

As for location, the proximity to both a subway and JR station were excellent. The subway station is only about 1 1/2 blocks away and the JR station only about 2 blocks away. From there it is very easy to get anywhere. Akihabara (and the extremely useful JR Yamanote line) is only 1 stop away. And Asakusa is only 2 stops. Also, depending on exactly which Keisei train you happen to board at Narita, you may not even need to transfer to get to the hotel from the airport (and if you do, it is just one transfer without even the need to change platforms). The directions found on the hotel's English website were extremely useful for getting there (though plenty of research on the subway and train lines is highly recommended). The area does not seem to be a very "touristy" area. There are plenty of convenience stores (including a 7-11 where you can use foreign debit cards at the ATM) nearby and lots of local restaurants (and one Burger King). It seems to be a popular area during the week with locals after work, but on the weekend a lot of businesses seemed to be closed. But with Tokyo's amazing public transportation system, as long as you are near a station, anywhere in Tokyo would be a good location.

If I ever get the opportunity to return to Tokyo (and I really hope I do, it is an amazing city), I would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank swacer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Stayed here for six nights in September 2011. As stated by just about every other reviewer, the rooms are small, but if you've been to the Far East before, you should expect this as a matter of course, and for the value of this place (Tokyo is an expensive place to stay) you really can't grumble! Despite the sizes, they come with a full set of amenities (including free internet/wi-fi), and are kept very clean. The bathroom is a self compact unit in itself, and I did find it a bit cramped, but as long as you're under 6'4 this wont be an issue so much! As also mentioned by plenty of others, the owners are very friendly, and do speak good English.

The hotel is only five minutes away from the subway and JR line stations. It is relatively easy to get from the station to the hotel, but take a map the first time round, as due to the sheer size of Tokyo you're likely to lose your bearings very lost! There are plenty of local resturants and seven-eleven's in the area for a quick cheap bite to eat, and the electronics district of Akihibara is only a stop away.

The only issue I did have is that the walls are paper thin. Although the hotel is located down a side street where the noise and traffic from outside wont be an issue, I was woken in the middle of the night by a guy from San Francisco in the room next door making a business conference call (I knew all this as I could hear every other word). I would recommend taking a set of earplugs, in case the guests next door to you are a bit noisy (or like to make conference calls in the middle of the night). However this was just for one night out of six, otherwise I didn't hear a thing.

If you can't quite afford to splurge on a penthouse suite in Shinjuku and the like, this is probably your next best option!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 99_redball00ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

I moved here (me paying) from a swankier hotel (company paying) - it was a third of the price. Nice change of scene to something a bit more authentic Tokyo. Good location too. As others have remarked, lovely friendly helpful people running it - a little eccentric but in a good way. What's not to love? I'd definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luppitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taito hotels
Ueno, Asakusa
WEB Hotel Tokyo Asakusabashi
Ueno, Asakusa
Stayto
Stayto
#28 of 123 in Taito
607 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Keikyu EX Inn Asakusabashiekimae
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
My Stays Asakusabashi
My Stays Asakusabashi
#12 of 123 in Taito
613 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Ueno First City Hotel
Ueno First City Hotel
#45 of 123 in Taito
108 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Mystays Ueno Inaricho
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Yanagibashi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Yanagibashi

Address: 1-3-12 Yanagibashi, Taito 111-0052, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Taito
Price Range: $61 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Yanagibashi 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Yanagibasi offers affordable accommodation and is centrally & conveniently located with lots of friendly places to visit. The hotel offers private twin and semi-double rooms, as well as shared rooms with great rates, great amenities & great service! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Rakuten, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Yanagibashi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Yanagibashi Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing