We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it's much better than i expected”
Review of Hotel Yanagibashi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Yanagibashi
Ranked #38 of 120 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Bandung, Indonesia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“it's much better than i expected”
Reviewed June 29, 2011

as we known, you have no need to worry about the sanity of Japanase public facilities, and so does for this hotel.

The room is small, but it's very clean and has everything you may need. like aircon, tv, hairdryer, hot water for making tea/coffee, water heater, bathing stuff, japanese style pajama, alarm, and others little-but-useeful things.

The staff are also very friendly and responsible. They speak english very well, they are very kind, they helped me to catch my express train, they even gave me some souvenirs when i got back! i talked a lot with Ikeda-san (the manager) and Tomoko-san (daughter's owner)

The station near this hotel is Asakusa-bashi, and from there you can catch the train to other big station.

I promise you'll never regret to stay at this hotel, the service you got is more valuable than the money you paid off. At least, this hotel works for me.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank astriprimasari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    86
    26
    7
    2
See reviews for
17
70
50
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2011

This hotel has the best customer service I have ever experienced in my life. The rooms might be small, but the they are very inviting and clean. They provide all sorts of amenities like internet, a tea maker in the room, TV, tooth brush, tooth paste, robe, and a lot more. I left a bottle of water out when I left the one day, and returned to find a jug of water had been left for me. They provided an umbrella for me when it was raining, and when the wind blew so hard it broke the umbrella, they did not charge me to replace it.

The family that runs this hotel is very nice and very considerate. I went to ask if there were any places to find tickets to a sold out show, and the receptionist (the owner's daughter) went above and beyond trying to look for tickets and events related to the show that I could go to. We then talked a bit and she offered me a drink, and then later I was invited out to see a show with them.

They really go above any beyond what is necessary, and for the price you can't beat it.

The location is also amazing. You can step out onto the steps instead of the elevator and you have a spectacular view of the river and several river boats. When you leave the hotel, the rail system is only a block away, and there is a Pharmacy on the corner. There are neat little places you can walk to and see as well, such as a small shrine down an alley.

Anyone who gave this hotel less than 5 stars must have been grumpy or an anti-social. This is a family run hotel, and they treat you like family while you're here.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank um0k1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2011

I stayed just down the road last time I went to Tokyo, and the location is good.

The air con in the room only worked so-so, and Tokyo was very hot!

Staff were very nice. Old place, but its very typical of small cheap (Japan cheap) Japanese hotels. It did the trick.

I would perhaps look for something better, if your budget isn't too much of an issue - but at this level this place is exactly what you should expect of all other places this price.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JetSet-Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Cristobal de las Casas, Mexico
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2010

As to be expected in a budget hotel in Tokyo the room was small but everything was super clean and the service outstanding. Though they have an internet station on the 1F, they provide a cord to connect in your room if you have a laptop. Very cozy and surprisingly quiet. Just a block away from the subway and two blocks from the train. One stop from the Yamanote Line station of Akihabara.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oregonfrost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2010

I went to Japan three separate times this summer, staying previoulsy in the Grand Prince Hotel (4*) in Shinagawa. I enjoyed Hotel Yanahibashi so much better! It was a great place to stay. From the second I came in, I started speaking with the owner and her daughter, Tomoko, and we had a wonderful time chatting. They were so kind and friendly. Fujimoto Takaaki, another employee, also was great about recommending places to hang out. The owner also walked me 5 blocks away to a tempura restaurant! I plan to go back to Tokyo fairly often, and I know now where I will be staying!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunny108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 11, 2010

I did not want to pay for a 5, 4 or 3 star hotel
All I wanted was a clean, comfortable and hospital hotel.
I got it all....and MORE
This is a family business and they treat you like family...welcoming, very eager to assist.
Small rooms but I am told all rooms are small in Tokyo...how much room do you need?
Cleanliness and comfort beats big, hands down.
Right next to main and local ? underground trains.
Lots of cheap eating around
Stall and 'market' shops nearby.
Free internet

Hope this makes it number one in Taito.
The trains are so ubiquitous in Tokyo that it does not matter where you stay

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargoMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Japan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2010

Staying at the hotel, feeling greeted and treated as old friends. The Yanagibashi did well from the door man to the front desk, all the other staff members were friendly and helpful. Room rates are comparable with the better hotels in Tokyo. I would reccomend a junior suite as being very well furnished, comfortable in size and worth the price.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moonlight62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taito
Ueno, Asakusa
Stayto
Stayto
#27 of 120 in Taito
604 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Mystays Asakusa-bashi
Ueno, Asakusa
Agora Place Asakusa
Agora Place Asakusa
#23 of 120 in Taito
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Mystays Ueno Inaricho
Ueno, Asakusa
Ueno Hotel
Ueno Hotel
#24 of 120 in Taito
207 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Tokyo Hotel Horidome Villa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Yanagibashi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Yanagibashi

Property: Hotel Yanagibashi
Address: 1-3-12 Yanagibashi, Taito 111-0052, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Taito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Yanagibashi 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Yanagibasi offers affordable accommodation and is centrally & conveniently located with lots of friendly places to visit. The hotel offers private twin and semi-double rooms, as well as shared rooms with great rates, great amenities & great service! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Rakuten, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Yanagibashi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Yanagibashi Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing