We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheapest dorm in Tokyo! Super white bleached sheets.”
Review of Hotel Kawase

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Kawase
Ranked #108 of 125 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I stayed in three hostels (two, including this one, were capsules) in Tokyo. This was the cheapest. All three dorms were cramped and quite dated.

This one was BY FAR the cheapest. If you need a base in Tokyo for an extended period, and you're flexible to this place's peculiarities, it doesn't get better than this.

1) The capsules here open up horizontally, which is WAY better than traditional capsules. Much more roomy.
2) Capsule rooms are cold - aircon is strong. The other capsule hostel I stayed at was room temperature and became unbearably hot because body heat in a capsule dissipates slowly. The aircon here was a godsend.
3) The hallways and bathrooms and few small common areas here, like in the other two hostels I stayed at, were very very dated - as in circa 1960's. BUT, the one modern male shower stall is modern and works really well. great hot water. The many sink fixtures and toilets are ancient but work well.
4) Staff barely speak English if at all, and are definitely not laid-back youngsters like in most hostels. It's mostly an older family and they're quite strict with their rules - though as a veteran hosteler, the rules are VERY reasonable. They are not at all helpful with anything due to the language barrier however, but you should be able to google anything you need and there's a gov tourist info office just around the corner.
5) Location is AMAZING - the subway entrance is like two doors down - and the station is an interchange station on two lines so that's very convenient for Tokyo (if you can afford it though, I recommend finding a place near an interchange station on three or more lines - ideally including the Yamanote JR train line, that would be even more convenient!).
6) The sheets and towels are absolutely SPOTLESS! They change them everynight - extremely bleached white and starchy!

Overall, if you're laid back and independent, this hostel has by far the cheapest capsules in town. Highly recommended.

Lastly, the common room is fun - American TV, free green tea, it's quite a social common room so quite easy to meet people - though the place overall is not that big so not TOO many other travellers.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iLOVEhostels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 16 of 40 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2013

The rooms were very basic and not clean, and the hotel itself looked more like a cheap hostel, but I could deal with that because of convenient location, although the hotel is deffinitely overpriced.
But what would make me never stay in this hotel again is the service.
1) I decided to go out to the next-door shop and didn't take the room key with me because my friend was in the room and I didn't need it. And the receptionist didn't let me out of the hotel because I didn't give her the key before going out! She shouted at me and demanded that I must go back to the room (6 floor) take the key and give her - and only then I could go to the shop! That's demeaning! They have silly rules, they treat guests as scum and they'll try to arrest you for not complying with their nonsence.
2) Our flight was late at night and we wanted to keep our luggage at reception after check-out. But the receptionist said that they can keep it only until 9pm and then if we're even 5 minutes late - they'll... through the bags away! like rubbish.
So I don't recommend this hotel at all.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank June L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This hotel is a bunch of problems and crazy rules.
For example, after you check-out if you want to keep your laggage in the hotel they will keep it only till 9 PM. After 9 PM they will throw it away in the street! Thats what we were told when we asked about if we could keep the luggage in there. I understand they might not wanna keep it but throwing it away in the street is just ridiculous.
Another crazyness is that they dont let you out of the hotel unless you dont leave your room key at the reception. And if you politely insist on taking the key with you, they will start to shout.
One of their rules is "you cannot bring guests inside the rooms" and "after you check out you cannot go upstairs". And what if i have a friend living upstairs who has not checked out yet and i wanna see him? They dont care! A rule is a rule.
They dont seem to care about the customers, dont seem try to be nice. They treat us like we are just wallets, not human beings.
There is not much to say about the room quality. It might be ok for one night, but staying there longer is not very comfortable as its too old and has some problems like smoke smelling bathroom.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maya005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

The hotel is managed by an absolutely crazy and spiteful woman. Me and my girl-friend got 2 keys for our rooms upon check-in. When my girl-friend tried to go out to the next door shop (and I stayed in the room with both keys) that woman demanded that she leave one of the keys at the reception. She felt lazy to go back in the room to grab the key so she refused. She told her the key was in the room with me.
But she didn’t want to let her out! She shouted at her viciously. She had to argue to be able to leave the hotel. I consider her actions to be a crime, that was illegal not to let her out. This is an absolute craziness and I’ve never came across such a mean, humiliating and barbarous attitude from a hotel staff before. She treated my girl-friend like she was in jail.
Speaking about the room it was old and shabby and over-priced. The aircon didnt make the room warm enough.

The lobby and the reception reminded me about the worst Sovietic houses with their old and ugly looks. The room had TV and kettle and even porn DVDs inside but that doesnt compensate for the oldness and dreariness of the room. The wi-fi was ok. The bathtub was extremely small, one of the smallest i've seen in Japan. The room looks grey and dull, so i wouldnt stay there again even if the hotel staff was nice. The only good thing is the location - right near Asukasa station but i can add nothing good more

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2011

I wish I could recommend this hostel, but I can't. The staff is friendly and really seems to strive to keep the hotel clean, even though, as others have pointed out, the hotel's age has started to show. In a great location, the capsules are comfy, and are at a great price. However, and this is a big "but," their capsules seem to have a bug problem, and I'm fairly sure it's bed bugs, given how the insects look, the time they emerged (after 2am), and the other signs. I let them know and was moved to another capsule in the same room which, while I didn't see the bugs like I had in the other capsule, this one also had some of the signs of bed bugs, like black spots on the sheets. Until they seriously look into this and handle it properly, especially if the bugs are bed bugs, I cannot recommend this hotel.

浅草の近いし、スタッフがやさしいし、安いし、進められたいですけど、カプセルがトコジラミ問題があると思います。2匹の虫を見て、スタッフにそう言ってから、他のカプセルに動かせてくれましたが、そのカプセルも虫の兆候がありました。ホテルの他はいいですが、そんな問題が大変で、すぐ直されなかったら、おすすめと言えません。

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravelTravelTravel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2010

I thought this would be a cool futuristic capsule hotel and the price was super cheap. But instead it's like a relic from the cold war. The halls reek of cigarettes, everything is dirty and there are no common areas for socializing. Good if you need a place to crash from out partying too hard.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank snobird30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank phophochang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taito
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Sunroute Asakusa
Hotel Sunroute Asakusa
#49 of 125 in Taito
140 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Stayto
Stayto
#27 of 125 in Taito
607 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel 3000 Asakusa Honten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Sakura Hotel Jimbocho
Sakura Hotel Jimbocho
#36 of 78 in Chiyoda
258 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel  Mercury
Hotel Mercury
#102 of 125 in Taito
19 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
APA Hotel Asakusa Kuramae
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kawase? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kawase

Address: 2-19-14, Kaminarimon, Taito 111-0034, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 125 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Price Range: $22 - $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hotel Kawase 1.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rakuten, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Kawase reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kawase Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing