We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect place to stay in tokyo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dormy Inn Express Asakusa
Ranked #23 of 121 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Certificate of Excellence
Songkhla
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“perfect place to stay in tokyo”
Reviewed April 22, 2012

direct keisei sky access train1240Yen from narita airport to asakusa station,no need to transfer train.exit A5 turn left and 5min walk cross intersection. With subway ginza line (G19)every time go back to hotel just 2 min walk to hotel.Staff are friendly and eager to service.Free hot towel,ucc coffee,fruit gum and wifi computer in the lobby.Free chinese noodle serve every night from 21:30 ti 23:00. Opposite hotel is Matsuya shopping center,behind is sumida park full with sakura during cherry blossom.5 min walk to Senjoji temple.I travel in tokyo for 2 day and 1 day trip to yokohama and kamamura.After that we deposit our luggage in hotel and pack small bag for 2 day travel to nikko and back in hotel again.We use this hotel as hub to travel to kanazawa takayama.No need to carry all luggage here and there.During stay i have talk with staff there,the hotel has many hotel chain and can connect to many travel agency from travelling there in cheaper price.Try contact yr planned itinerary and let's them deal is another choice compare to what u have find for yourself.Room is small same as most hotel i have stay in Tokyo.I also like remote dim light to turn off the light while you ly on bed.

Room Tip: river side,you can see sky tree tower from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bettyjung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    103
    28
    3
    1
See reviews for
33
67
43
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

We stayed at Dormy Inn Asakusa for four nights and we would definitely stay here again if we go back to Tokyo.
My husband and I enjoyed the Japanese breakfast (salmon, mackerel, vegetables, rice, tea, juice, coffee, soup, fruits, etc.), but you can also choose the continental breakfast. (Remember to tell the front desk the previous evening your choice of breakfast.) The ramen noodles (with mushrooms and other vegetables) they serve starting at 9:30 pm were delicious, too.
We loved the onsen on the 10th floor, which has scheduled hours for men and women. I particularly enjoyed the outdoor foot bath, which was a little hot for me at the beginning but then became comfortable with the water temperature afterwards, since it was really cold when we were there the last week of March.
We used the laundry facilities on the 10th floor and truly appreciated the use of free laundry machine and free detergent, which was familiar to me (no wonder – the label said it’s manufactured by Costco). The electric dryer is 100 yen for 30 minutes, which I had to use for 60 minutes because the clothes were still damp. After 60 minutes, I switched to the gas dryer for the same price (20 minutes only), and it finally dried all my clothes.
We loved our room, although small by American standards, but we were comfortable, and were not claustrophobic. Even though it was cold outside, we didn’t set the thermostat at night because the room was more comfortable without the heat on. We didn’t have problems with any noise; in fact, we slept well every night (and we’re light sleepers) and hardly heard any noise from our next door neighbors.
The room has an ofuro bathtub (deep Japanese soaking tub), which we used for showering. The toilet has a heated seat (and that was so nice to sit on in the morning after waking up) and has all the buttons to use for personal hygiene. The shampoo, conditioner, and body soap all smelled so good. There are also hairbrushes and toothbrushes/toothpaste provided in the room in case you forget to bring yours.
The samue (Japanese clothes with top and trousers) and slippers provided are so comfortable. You’re actually encouraged to wear them in the hotel and not just in your room.
The location is perfect for us. We took the Narita Express train to Asakusa (arrived within 50 minutes), and the station is only a five-minute walking distance to the hotel. There is another station diagonally across from the hotel, next to the Matsuya department store, and we went there to catch the subway to different parts of Tokyo. Matsuya, by the way, like any other department stores in Japan, has a basement where you can get Japanese food for lunch or dinner at reasonable prices, which are marked down right before closing time (7:30 pm).
Senso-ji Temple and Nakamise-dori (a great place to shop for all kinds of Japanese souvenirs) are right on the other side of Matsuya. Kappabashi-dori (the street lined with stores specializing in kitchen supplies such as those beautiful ceramic Japanese dishes of all sizes and shapes) is a few blocks away, also within walking distance, and you’ll pass by beautiful old Japanese houses. Don’t worry about getting lost – everyone will try to help you even if you don’t speak the language. We felt very safe walking in the neighborhood of Asakusa (and in the entire Tokyo).
There are also rickshaw operators in the town (for quite a price), but we didn’t try them. The Sumida River is behind the hotel, and you can see the Tokyo Sky Tree (tallest tower in the world) and the golden Asahi beer flame. It’s great to take a picture of sunrise from the room balcony, and the sun was rising from behind the Tokyo Sky Tree.
I would definitely recommend Dormy Inn to anyone who wishes to feel like you’re in old Tokyo and yet be close to everything modern.

Room Tip: Choose the river view room to see the sunrise in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern CA
Level Contributor
170 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

I found this hotel on a last minute search for a hotel in Tokyo. Didn't need to be so close to the Asakusa temple, but the hotel is just a few minutes walk away from it, which is nice for tourists. I was on a short business trip, and appreciated the efficient checkin, quiet (but typically small) room, free Wi-fi, and a really good free breakfast, with the option to have it Japanese style. I stayed there in winter, and the room was nice and warm. The japanese style bath (o-furo) was a plus, although some Westerner might not try it. All in all, a great room for a good value (for Tokyo) and close to a main tourist sight.

Room Tip: Try the japanese bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cklonowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

We stayed at the Dormy Inn for 2 days in January and really enjoyed our stay. Our room was quite small by western standards but it was very clean and had everything we needed. We were so busy doing stuff in Tokyo and didn't need a big room because we were only there to sleep, so it was perfect. We paid a little extra to have a private bathroom which for us was worth the extra cost. We had a small balcony off our room which had a lovely view of the river and the famous 'Golden Turd'.

The concierge was very friendly and very helpful and he spoke very good English. He was very knowledgable about the area, knew good restaurants and what train lines to get where.

The hotel is in a good location - about a 5 minute walk from the train station - and there are many dining options nearby. We would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a nice hotel, in a convenient location and for a great price. If you want to see some photos or read about our trip you can visit http://www.philandrandi.com/2012/02/01/tokyo-japan/

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank weluv2travelabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
116 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2011

This was probably the largest room I've stayed in in Japan. This is by no means up to Western sizes but it is more comfortable than most rooms of this price in Japan. The staff spoke great English. The location could not have been better. It's right next to the Thunder Gate and two subway lines. There is lots of great shopping and dining right outside. There was also a nice balcony overlooking the river. The hotel had free internet and provided a free internet cable. They have a public spa that is available during certain hours. They provide asian style clothing to wear to the spa though if you are larger than a small Asian you may have trouble fitting into them. The best part was everynight they provided free dinner consisting of Japanese style ramen. Just show your room key.

Cons. The walls were paper thin. Depending on your neighbors it could be a long night. The heat was very difficult to control even with the temperature set to a reasonable level it would get incredibly hot in the room. The bed was a mixed bag, it had a nice down comforter but my wife complained the mattress was too hard. I didn't notice the hard mattress.

Room Tip: Get a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JASON B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BROOKLYN, NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2011

Just got back from a trip to Japan. Spent the first two nights here. The room was small, the second smallest of the 7 places we stayed around the country, but clean and not claustrophobic. Transportation from Haneda Airport was a breeze. The Asakusa line stops in the airport and right on the corner near the hotel for ¥640. We didn't do the noodles. They are "singing", not "crying" as the translations suggest. We did the breakfast, ¥1,050, with Japanese and western choices. It was worth it. We were only on the 4th floor, with a river view. We were able to see both the poop and the Sky Tree from the bed, and the ample terrace was a nice bonus. It's also near a large covered market where you can get souvenirs. There are nicer hotels around, but this one is fine and good value for the price.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scottilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
75 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2010

We stayed at three Dormy Inns on our recent trip to Japan (two in Hokkaido and one in Tokyo) and were pleased with our experience in each case. Though the one in Asakusa had the smallest rooms of the three, it was not uncomfortably tiny and the snugness was more than offset by the hotel's proximity to several subway and train stations which made exploring other parts of the city a breeze (apart from getting lost in big subway stations).
There are plenty of decent eateries in the area as well as some interesting sights. Try to get a room facing the river if you can. It's not as noisy as the street/railway facing, though you do have to tolerate a view that includes one of the world's ugliest pieces of large art work, known locally as "the golden turd".
The wife loved the free ramen noodles at night and I liked the lounging outfits and the baths, which offered a nice view of the city. The outdoor tub offered an incredible zen experience with the light rain cooling your skin while the hot water eased your muscles, though I did not like the big screen TV they had installed in the outdoor pool area (it was too disruptive). The clincher for me,though, was a long, narrow footbath flanked by wooden seats with a great view over the city -- a fantastic way to soak away any aches, pains and frustrations from all the walking through the Tokyo streets.
Unlike some hotels farther north which had turned off their aircons and fans for the rooms at the end of summer, this hotel still had its aircon on, which meant we got a good sleep. Despite the busy neighbourhood, it was fairly quiet.
Though the staff were not perfectly fluent in English, they were very helpful. In particular, we must commend them for helping us have our now-heavy bags transferred to another hotel across the city (At a cost of about $25). They were just too bulky to lug through the subways and streets to the last hotel on our trip without either a) our backs giving out, b) the trolley bags breaking down or exploding or c) risking a divorce in the middle of the street!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SingaporeGaribaldi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taito hotels
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Hokke Club Asakusa
Ueno, Asakusa
Dormy Inn Ueno Okachimachi
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Keihan Asakusa
Hotel Keihan Asakusa
#17 of 121 in Taito
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
Via Inn Asakusa
Via Inn Asakusa
#26 of 121 in Taito
336 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Richmond Hotel Premier Asakusa International
Ueno, Asakusa
Red Planet Asakusa, Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dormy Inn Express Asakusa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dormy Inn Express Asakusa

Property: Dormy Inn Express Asakusa
Address: 1-3-4 Hanakawado, Taito 111-0033, Tokyo Prefecture (Formerly Dormy Inn Asakusa)
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Taito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dormy Inn Express Asakusa 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Internet access.Free WiFi at lobby area. English speaking concierge is attending to support your travelling and business in Japan.Free Ramen snack service.Every night between 21:30-23:00Free communal open air bath at top floor for guests.Using Hyper soft water at Communal bath.Breakfast:6:45am to 9:00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com, Expedia, Rakuten, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dormy Inn Express Asakusa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dormy Inn Asakusa Hotel Taito
Dormy Hotel Taito
Dormy Inn Express Asakusa Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing