We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for!”
Review of K's House Tokyo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
K's House Tokyo
Ranked #4 of 69 Specialty lodging in Taito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2009

this place is quite a bargain, but very 'no frills'!

try to arrive during the day because the hostel is not quite on the main road and the area is very quiet at night... it can be quite difficult to find K's if there's noone around to beg directions from, and the empty backstreets are a bit unnerving if you are lost!

it is certainly near to a metro station, and some things (e.g. the sumo wrestling place) are walkable [although not exactly a short stroll!]. there's also a 7-11 just across the alleyway (the shop also makes a good shortcut through to the main road!) and the hostel has a little kitchen, so you are unlikely to starve here!

i didnt find the atmosphere to be very sociable, the main sofa area mostly consisted of people on their laptops checking their emails rather than chatting! but the staff were very friendly and helpful with directions, advice on tickets etc.

the shared bathrooms are modern and clean, no problems at all there!

our room was tiny (which you have to expect in tokyo!) but very neat. weirdly, the airconditioner was fitted directly over our bunk beds so that the person up on the top bunk froze and the one on the bottom sweltered. We had to switch rooms on our last night because we booked too late to get our twin for three nights running (the staff were helpful throughout this room switch, i should point out!) but the air con in double room which we were moved to was held together with masking tape and dripped through the night. hopefully the hostel have sorted this out by now!

there is a laundry, which is handy, but it locks up overnight so if you're leaving early for a flight or something make sure you get your stuff out the night before!

i would probably stay here again if i was on the same [very low!] budget... on the whole this place is a bargain by tokyo standards, it's safe and clean and near to a metro and a shop, just don't expect to get more than you've paid for!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LosingMyself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (243)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

174 - 180 of 243 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2009

K's House Tokyo was my first youth hosteling experience, and it was excellent. The rooms are large with large bunk beds, a bustling common area full of young travelers and free wifi (and also paid internet station), a kitchen, laundry on site, and clean bathrooms. Reception is staffed with English speakers, who are very helpful.

The other hostelers were very friendly, and I made several travel buddies despite traveling alone.

It is located in the Asakusa district, in close proximity to a subway line that runs to the Narita Airport, but you can also access all of Tokyo.

They also arranged an overnight bus to and from Kyoto, where I also had a comfortable stay at that location's K's House.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngieAllOver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2009

A group of 4 girls, K's House was our first stop in a 3 month backpacking trip around Asia. We immediately felt comfortable there. We staid in a room for 4, with 2 bunk-beds. Granted, the room was small but that is to be expected at a hostel. There is a lamp by every bed and some plugs for charging.

We loved the staff, they were so friendly and helpful. One night a guy from the staff took us to a small neighborhood onsen. After that there was no turning back - all in all we ended up visiting 5 different onsens in Japan and loved them all, you should not miss the experience if you are visiting Japan.

The Asakusa area where K's house Tokyo is located is quite lovely and it is easy to get around the city via the underground, a station is nearby. The public facilities at K's house are also good and if you are on a budget it is nice to stay in, go to Seven-Eleven which is right next door for some noodle soup and just have dinner at K's and get to know other visitors.

Last but not least the value is good for Japan, in our opinion. Because we were so pleased with K's House we decided to also go to K's House by Mt. Fuji, which is a great place as well. We also wanted to stay at K's house in Kyoto but it was fully booked. Had a look over there though and can definitely recommend it in Kyoto as well.

After we left Japan for China and later SA Asia we often found ourselves missing K's house and the friendly atmosphere and staff. It really felt like home and I can highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2009

K's house tokyo for a hostel is fantastic, firstly the staff are unbelievably friendly and will go out of their way to help you. The rooms are of a reasonable size and basic but they are very clean as are the toliets and showers. The living area is small but has a large fridge and basic cooking facilties. It takes about 15 minutes by train to get to most of Tokyo's main attractions, although a 15 minute walks gets you to one of the main temples and a 20 minute walks gets you to a huge park with museum etc. Lots of local markets but night life does not exsistant past 11pm. They do charge for the internet which is not great in this day and age although wifi is free.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HampshireDdddd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2009

I stayed at K's House Tokyo from 21 to 28 apr 2009, a total of 7 nights.

The place is the best I've stayed in Tokyo thus far. Space-wise, it's typical of Tokyo - tight but cosy. It's really clean, and rather new. Bright and cheery. The staff are very very friendly, helpful, and generous. Most of them are really cute girls too.

Price-wise, it's excellent value. One of the most economical places to stay, yet comfortable and clean. Not to be missed if you're on a budget.

Conveniently located beside a train station. A mere few train stops to popular places like Akihabara, Ueno, and Tokyo Station. A 7-eleven located a mere 35 steps away (I counted). Ran over in my PJs to grab some midnight snacks - at about 10 degrees celsius in the night! Where else could I do that?!

Wonderful place that I'd love to return to, and to recommend to everyone out there.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tnightwind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2009

Loved this hostel.Clean, friendly, excellent communal areas.Great transport links and very helpful staff with good maps and information. We thouht K's was great value for Japan.Would recommend the one in Kyoto, was equally as nice but also had an attached cafe which did great value buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomd25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2008

My first time staying in a hostel and becuase of my experience with them I would definitely stay in ahostle again. My friend who has stayed in otehr hostels, here in US, said that this is the best hostel he ever syated in. VERY CLEAN, small enough to be quaint and big enough to have all the amenities. Really close to a subway station! Perfect location - really close to Asakusa. great staff! they were very helpful! I stayed in 2 otehr hostels during my trip, I called K's House Tokyo as my home, away from home. The best part of this place for me is the view on the rooftop at night. Pretty cool!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank anna881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taito
Ueno, Asakusa
Oak Hostel Zen
Oak Hostel Zen
#3 of 69 in Taito
223 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Space Hostel Tokyo
Space Hostel Tokyo
#1 of 69 in Taito
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
Bunka Hostel Tokyo
Bunka Hostel Tokyo
#2 of 69 in Taito
144 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Khaosan World Asakusa Ryokan & Hostel
Ueno, Asakusa
K's House Tokyo Oasis
K's House Tokyo Oasis
#12 of 69 in Taito
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to K's House Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about K's House Tokyo

Address: 3-20-10 Kuramae, Taito 111-0051, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 69 Specialty lodging in Taito
Price Range: $23 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — K's House Tokyo 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your K's House Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
k`s House Tokyo Hotel Taito
K's House Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing