We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
K's House Tokyo
Ranked #6 of 74 Specialty lodging in Taito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Room - stayed at a 4-bed all female room; space too small if you have big luggage (had to sort luggage stuff outside so as not to wake up roommates); problem with room airconditioner during my stay; room trash wasn't collected on a daily basis so it was kind of gross if your bunkbed is next to it

Staff - friendly and very accommodating (my requests for bed and room transfers were granted during my stay - just ask nicely)

Location - 2-minute walk to nearest subway; 10-minute walk to Asakusa (Nakamise) district - can be a bit far if you want to frequent Shibuya, Shinjuku districts; neighborhood can be deserted at night but relatively safe for a solo traveler; there's a 7-11 with atm right across it

Room Tip: - the lesser number of roommates the better (since room space is too small)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MMKaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

89 - 95 of 245 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2014

We stayed here as part of an Expedia flight and hotel deal so that possibly coloured my judgement as I think we could have picked up something much better in a better location for the same package price. However if you're travelling independently on a budget, looking for a clean, friendly hostel with communal space to meet fellow travellers then I would recommend this.

The twin room we had was only £15 each so for Tokyo an absolute bargain. For that you don't get much space (a bunk bed and space to put your bag) but you're not going to spend much time in your room - this is Tokyo after all - so it's not really an issue. The rooms were absolutely spotless as were the shared bathrooms and communal kitchen. The friendly staff all speak perfect English so if you're arriving in a Japan for the first time you don't need to worry.

The hostel is next to Kuramae station (don't get this confused with K's other hostel which is close by) and the journey to Shinjuku is direct and takes about 25 minutes. It's a 5-10 minute walk to the temple at Asakusa. Maybe a little out of the way but it was nice to see that area.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Anya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Two of us were traveling together however we couldnt get the private room on the first night but thanks to the help of Khouse staff at kawaguchiko who arranged everything for us to stay at k house tokyo.
After coming from Khouse kawaguchiko (best) , my expectations dropped kind of little for K house Tokyo.
Nonetheless, everythings great!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phoebebeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

K's House Tokyo is a backpacker's/hostel, with a reasonably large communal and kitchen area. It's dorm style sleeping - so bunk beds, though they range between 4-6 beds in a room. Being dorm style there isn't heaps of room, but if you get a 6 bed room an en suite is provided. Strong free wifi on all levels and very clean. It's conveniently about 50m from the nearest subway station (Kuramae station).

What really makes K's House Tokyo special though is the extraordinary warmth and helpfulness of the staff. My group had some problems with our next hotel, and did not have enough Japanese fluency to be able to resolve the situation ourselves. K's House staff called our hotel and sorted out our booking woes voluntarily.

But it's also the small things that make this place welcoming. Going out and coming home, staff will happily wish you well on your way out and welcome you home after a full day. They were always keen for a chat to discuss your day. They make personal recommendations about what they think is good in the area and answer any questions to the best of their ability.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tazz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Despite having only spent 2 nights at K's I can wholeheartedly recommend it. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, going out of their way to ensure I got around the city okay and was made to feel at home.

The rooms were clean and comfortable, and thanks to the communal area it was really easy to get to know other backpackers. Thank you! And see you when I'm next in Japan!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank EleanorS647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

I stayed at every place in the K's House chain and was very happy with my experience. K's House Tokyo was extremely clean, was quiet, had clear directions from the subway, had an excellent home-made map of local restaurents and recommended sights, and friend and helpful staff (e.g., helping to book my bus ticket to Mt Fuji for me as I don't speak Japanese). It is slightly closer to subway stations than K's House Tokyo Oasis. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Everything has already been said below- this is a great hostel with amazing staff. Clean and friendly and close to two main subway lines and heaps of restaurants. Be aware that it's a while away from the town centre but with the Tokyo subway system, that's hardly an issue. Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tess M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taito
Ueno, Asakusa
Oak Hostel Zen
Oak Hostel Zen
#3 of 74 in Taito
230 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Bunka Hostel Tokyo
Bunka Hostel Tokyo
#2 of 74 in Taito
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
Space Hostel Tokyo
Space Hostel Tokyo
#1 of 74 in Taito
225 reviews
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
GRIDS TOKYO AKIHABARA HOTEL&HOSTEL
Ueno, Asakusa
Khaosan World Asakusa Ryokan & Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to K's House Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about K's House Tokyo

Address: 3-20-10 Kuramae, Taito 111-0051, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 74 Specialty lodging in Taito
Price Range: $22 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — K's House Tokyo 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your K's House Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
k`s House Tokyo Hotel Taito
K's House Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing