We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, nicely priced and friendly staff”
Review of K's House Tokyo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
K's House Tokyo
Ranked #5 of 67 Specialty lodging in Taito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Not really my first time at this chain. The Mt Fuji hostel was my first brush with K's House.
This one is in a nice location, close to the metro a few stops to Ginza area. I stayed for two nights, one in a dorm and the second night in a single room.

Dorm is a dorm. Sleeps 8, has bags all over and shared toilet ensuite but for the shower it required a bit of a walk. Nothing much to say about the dorm - it all works. The whole "house" is clinical clean, probably one of the cleanest hostel I know. Internet is mostly in the common area, in my dorm, the internet drops to "barely available".

The single room is small, just enough for a small japanese-sized single bed, a side table and little space for your bag. But this is probably one of the best value in Tokyo, perhaps short of renting a capsule hotel or sleeping in an internet cafe.

Staff in this hostel are friendly. There are convenience stores close to the hostel.

Room Tip: "like" them on facebook and get a first night's towel free on the house.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dufffader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (241)
There are newer reviews for K's House Tokyo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

98 - 104 of 241 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2013

K's house was fantastic to stay in, the rooms were clean, really friendly and helpful staff and really good facilities.
The share house feel and kitchen downstairs makes it really easy to meet people, which was great for a solo traveller
The location in tokyo is a quiet area, which was great to come back to after the craziness of tokyo every day. very close to many restaurants, 7/11s and the train station.
Thanks so much for making my stay really special K's House, I hope to be back soon.
Jonno

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jonno S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Excellent location near Kuramae Station with lots of food and convenience stores around the area.
20min walk to Akihabara.

Room was smaller compared to other places we have stayed at BUT it was clean with no stench, and bunk beds unlike the others.

Toilet was clean with automatic lights.

Staff are friendly and very approachable. They remember you personally, even asking us how was DisneySea the following day.

Pity that some other guest were not following rules, such as smoking in the toilet or talking at the at the smoking point after 10pm, but they were insignificant inconveniences.

Will definitely stay with them if I'm going back to Tokyo!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WJS88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I booked the 8-person dorm, but was placed in a 5-bed dorm at no extra charge. Fine with me.

K's House is a chain of hostels, so this hostel is run very professionally compared to others I've been to.

PROS: Helpful and knowledgeable staff, clean shower rooms and washrooms, clean rooms, very functional (ie the layout is great, and everything you need is there - dishes, cooking utensils, a place to lounge, and place to get some work done, etc.)

CONS: The location isn't the greatest. It's close to the subway, but it's a bit of a hike to get to the JR line. The hostel is quite difficult to find at night. The rooms are carpeted, and after a rainy day, the feet-smell of the carpet started to come out a bit. There's nowhere to store bags/luggage in the rooms though, so the floor tends to get a bit cluttered with everyone's stuff.

Overall, great experience and I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rsvplcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights in a 8 persons dorm. The room was very small and The 4 bunkbeds just fitted, but there was limited room left for our luggage. Because The room was small it was constainly hot And in that small room there was a sink and a toilet. The shower was in The bathroom with 2 more toilets.

The fifth night we stayed in a double room. This room was also very small. The bed was filling up The room with a desk.

K's house has a nice atmosphere and lovely people come and work here. But The nightcrew is a bit crumpy. At 22.00 you need to be quiet or you need to go out, otherwise The neighbours will complain. (The Staff didn't want that so they put on flyers staying that if it was noisy aftr 22.00 The police will come...)

Plus point about K's House:
- near The trainstation
- lovely people (other travellers and datcrew)
- near a few touristattractions

Down point:
- you need to be quiet at 22.00
- small rooms
- you can't get a rest between 11.00 and 16.00 because they clean up The rooms (if you have a privat room it's ok)
- it's 200¥ expenciver then J-Hoppers (but they are not in Tokyo but there are in some Same Towns as K's house, and they have bigger rooms for less money!)

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patriesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at K's House Tokyo for three nights in a Double Room. Of the four K's we stayed in across Japan, this was our least favorite, recommend the nearby K's Tokyo Oasis instead if you have the budget (slightly more expensive). Think the other K's may have spoiled us as this branch is a little more basic. The room was smaller then we've had and didn't provide towels. The common bathrooms were ok. Laundry and outdoor clotheslines were appreciated. Kitchen had the standard free coffee and tea, but no stovetop that we were accustomed to. Staff was helpful and nice as with the other branches.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rtwsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Very hospitable hostel!!!! Very clean and cool people at the desk. I was lost many times and was given detailed directions to where I needed to go. Big common area with plenty of bathrooms and showers. They gave me a free towel if I liked them on Facebook and always had coffee. Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JrodYslas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taito
Ueno, Asakusa
Oak Hostel Zen
Oak Hostel Zen
#2 of 67 in Taito
221 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Space Hostel Tokyo
Space Hostel Tokyo
#1 of 67 in Taito
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
Bunka Hostel Tokyo
Bunka Hostel Tokyo
#3 of 67 in Taito
141 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
K's House Tokyo Oasis
K's House Tokyo Oasis
#12 of 67 in Taito
158 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Khaosan World Asakusa Ryokan & Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to K's House Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about K's House Tokyo

Address: 3-20-10 Kuramae, Taito 111-0051, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 67 Specialty lodging in Taito
Price Range: $24 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — K's House Tokyo 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your K's House Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
k`s House Tokyo Hotel Taito
K's House Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing