We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing tourist information”
Review of K's House Tokyo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
K's House Tokyo
Ranked #4 of 69 Specialty lodging in Taito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We were seriously impressed by K's House. It is cheap and you get what you pay for in terms of a small room (we had a double) and shared showers and toilets but do NOT let this put you off. When in Tokyo you will not be spending time in your room and if you don't want to go out there is a lovely cosy sitting area down stairs, a little kitchen to use with complimentary tea and coffee and water. There is cheap internet access and also a TV with Wii and other games.

The best thing is that the staff are so friendly and go out of their way to assist you with any information you need. They will say "give me 5 minutes" then they will come back with maps and clear information and prices and book in places for you like the buses then they will say " thank you for waiting". Its unbelievable! We were very grateful as you will find there is not many English speaking people to access and the subway and signs are 90% in Japanese.

The other great thing is the location. We would have found difficult to find without a taxi (DO NOT GET TAXI, SOOOO EXPENSIVE) But once you find it you realise how easy access it is to the subway. Great location. RECOMMEND DEFINITELY, especially as they have K's house all around, we wish we had booked into their one in Kyoto and Fuji.

Room Tip: We found a double fine as we had some privacy and the bed we found was very comfortable and cosy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natalie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (243)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

136 - 142 of 243 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2012

Stayed five nights, tripple room which was one bunk and a single. Very clean, used the washing/dryer and was impressed with the shower amenities. Found the mattress a little thin/hard but im 95kilos and 6'2 so most people would be ok. Was well located and we walked into Akihabara and Ueno and took the very nearby subway to others. Staff were helpful and the common areas were good to chill out in after a long days trecking around. I would recommend this if you wanted a base to see this side of the city.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Pros: Good staff, easy check-in out, shoes are left outside so it's very clean, decent showers in private rooms for one (not communal), very clean bathroom facilities, felt safe, great common area, internet at 100 yen for half an hour worked fast, kitchen facilities, borrow umbrellas, 10 min walk from a touristy area, corner shops and fast-food places nearby, beds were hard but decent and seemed wider than average single bed, washing machines and free tumble dryers, as with all of Japan the area around the hostel felt safe. individual lamps on each bunk.

Cons: the chances of easily finding the hostel when you arrive at the subway station are slim. the subway has soooo many exits that you can actually arrive at the right station and hope to be one min walk from the hostel but find that you are actually very far away without a clue where you are. be sure to bring a very detailed map of the area. i ended up walking around in torrential rain for half an hour before I found it...

My duvet cover had some kind of body fluid on it. it was the only dirt I saw in the hostel but it was disgusting.

Rooms are very basic, mine had 5 beds, a toliet and a sink. it's fine for the price.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irenkagermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

It's been four years since the last time I stayed at K's House Tokyo, and just like before, I can't help but call it home when I'm away from home. The staff is wonderful and beyond helpful - It's actually amazing how much they deal with from so many tourists from around the world. If this is your first time going to Japan then I would suggest talking to fellow lodgers and compare experiences as well as getting information from the staff. You can't help but make friends while you're there.

Bathrooms, showers, sinks and kitchen are always clean. Compared to other hostels I've stayed at, their washers are good and the dryers do an excellent job as well. All-in-all I will be staying there for another time.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Six_Finger_Deal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

I last visited K's house in March 2011 right as the earthquake hit. A kind young man walked with me to the hostel 2.5 hours in the dark, along with thousands of others trying to get out of down town. I was greeted calmly by the front desk staff. As I checked in, she told me my husband (back in Canada) had sent an email enquiring my situation. Another friend called (from Kyoto) on their business phone and they let me talk to her, no charge. Although I didn't get much sleep, as my bed shook every 30 minutes or so, the calm atmosphere and staff went a long way in providing a safe heaven for those of us temporarily stuck in japan with the rail and airlines grounded. I'll be going back to visit again spring 2012 and definitely staying at K's House.

Room Tip: K's is an actual house, with an elevator and they keep your bags after check out if you're g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LillianYeeStewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

I think K's House Tokyo is the best! the staff are friendly! Tuna san is just great! they speak english very well and they even helped you with maps and train schedule.. the lounge is very cozy! it's a nice place to meet new people. The room and the bathroom are very clean and nice! i enjoyed my stay there while i was in Tokyo! The train station is very near! basically this place is a great place to stay while you are in Tokyo!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rohanah_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Very nice and helpful staff, very clean public areas and rooms, secure, reasonable prices.

The folks running this place know what they are doing, and seem to get everything right. They speak perfect English, and are willing to help you with information and with great grace and patience... perfect

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gringote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taito
Ueno, Asakusa
Oak Hostel Zen
Oak Hostel Zen
#3 of 69 in Taito
223 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Space Hostel Tokyo
Space Hostel Tokyo
#1 of 69 in Taito
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
Bunka Hostel Tokyo
Bunka Hostel Tokyo
#2 of 69 in Taito
144 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Khaosan World Asakusa Ryokan & Hostel
Ueno, Asakusa
K's House Tokyo Oasis
K's House Tokyo Oasis
#12 of 69 in Taito
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to K's House Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about K's House Tokyo

Address: 3-20-10 Kuramae, Taito 111-0051, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 69 Specialty lodging in Taito
Price Range: $23 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — K's House Tokyo 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your K's House Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
k`s House Tokyo Hotel Taito
K's House Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing