We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PRICE IS RIGHT”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sutton Place Hotel Ueno
Ranked #43 of 120 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Novato, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“PRICE IS RIGHT”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Stayed here for 1. We arrived in Tokyo late and we wanted a place close to Ueno Station to crash after our flight.

Location is extremely close to Ueno Station. The layout is a little unusual in that the lobby is on the 2nd floor with street access via elevator. The short, wood-lined "hallway" to elevator is a little strange...it feels like you're going to a night club, instead of a hotel.

Lobby area is very small and tight...not a place to hang out. It's just a place to get your room key and do your business at check out. There is a small sitting area that serves as the continental breakfast room, as well as free wi-fi area, but it's not a place that you feel like you want to linger in.

Our room, though very small, was fully adequate for a short stay. And a good value for the price.

The staff was very helpful and polite. Not overly friendly, but they will take an extra step or two to be helpful. For instance, I did not know that a AC converter was unnecessary in Japan, but the clerk let me borrow one anyway. Also, the day we checked out, they were very nice about letting us store our bags for several hours, despite their limited space.

PROS:
-super convenient location near Ueno Station
-great value --clean room

CONS:
-very small lobby/breakfast area

WOULD I STAY HERE AGAIN?
Yes, price is right. The place does not pretend to be anything it's not.

Room Tip: It's too small a hotel to have any room better than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank littlegreykat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
サットンプレイスホテル上野, フロント at Sutton Place Hotel Ueno, responded to this review, September 22, 2014
Thank you for staying with us.
We hope that you feel comfortable for your stay.

As you comment our all of room type are very small and not so much space to hang things so we will keep luggage while guest are staying if guest prefer.

We hope you will have chance to visit us again in future.

Thank you for your comment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    106
    48
    11
    6
See reviews for
48
69
28
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

The hotel location is good. It's only 1-2 minutes walk from JR Ueno station. The hotel lobby is on the 3rd floor and the entrance hallway is like an ordinary apartment hallway. The reception area is a small one with a small lounge next to it offering breakfast which is fruit juice and bread only. There are only a few rooms on one floor...not so impressed so far....!? However, when I walked into the room, the twin room we stayed, is spacious enough and I love the design which is tiles from the entrance to the bathroom, and carpet on the sleeping area. The bathroom is spacious and is not Japanese style (moulded plastic) but is contemporary Western style. My impression of the hotel immediately turns good. The room rate is worth spending.

Some reviews say that the receptionist is rude. I must say that one of the receptionists is not so gentle in handling customers but he acted according to rules and only wanted to keep the hotel tidy and clean. The other receptionists are professional. I highly recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ahyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
サットンプレイスホテル上野, フロント at Sutton Place Hotel Ueno, responded to this review, September 22, 2014
Thank you for staying with us.

We are very happy to hear that you like our Hotel.

We have already notice that we have lot of comment that we could not better service for our guest however we are trying to change things lot..can be provide better service for the guest.


We hope that you have chance to visit us again in future.

Thank you for your comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Comparing the location and the price, this is really good place to stay.
The staff can speak English. Easy to communicate.
Room is clean. Bed is comfortable.
Free water / ice / green tea. Surely will go back there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natty0914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
サットンプレイスホテル上野, フロント at Sutton Place Hotel Ueno, responded to this review, September 22, 2014
Thank you for staying with us.

We are very happy to hear that enjoy for your stay.

We are trying to change a lot of things and it is in the midst of having improved so that better service can be provided.

We hope you will get a chance to visit us again in future.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

I have just encountered the rudest Japanese person I have ever met, and unfortunately he is the concierge of this hotel. Condescending, unhelpful and rude - the exact opposite of what I have come to expect from the wonderful Japanese culture. Perhaps he had bad experiences with other westerners, but that is no excuse for his behavior. I will not be staying here again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank GoannaGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
サットンプレイスホテル上野, フロント at Sutton Place Hotel Ueno, responded to this review, September 27, 2014
Thank you for staing at Sutton Place Hotel Ueno.
We are very sorry to feel unpleasant for our staff.
We have known some of guest mention that reception correspondence is bad.
He is just trying to control to keep clean and tidy for all of guest in our hotel however it dose not become a reason.

we are preparing organization since we provide good service for all of guest.
We hope that you will have chance to visit us again one day.

Thank you for your comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

We had a great stay here. Room was clean, quiet and comfortable. Amazing bed (very firm), nice bathroom and a fair amount of creature comforts. Friendly staff up front, coffee and tea available all day for free. Incredible value at a great rate!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ariparisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
サットンプレイスホテル上野, フロント at Sutton Place Hotel Ueno, responded to this review, September 27, 2014
Thank you for staying at Sutton Place Hotel Ueno.
We are very happy to hear that you had nice time at our hotel.

We are trying to change things lot for provide better service for all of guest.

We hope you have chance to visit us again in future.

Thank you for your comment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed a couple of nights after arriving in Tokyo and just before heading home.
The hotel is situated a few minutes walk from Ueno station, ueno park and ameyoko.
The hotel offers free croissants in the morning and the staff were extremely helpful and patient (as we struggled a little to communicate). It has free wifi in every room, hot drinks on 2nd floor (and a washing machine/dryer!) 24/7!
The reception being on 3rd is the only thing I can pick on this hotel. The bed was comfortable, bathroom was clean. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a short stay.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
サットンプレイスホテル上野, フロント at Sutton Place Hotel Ueno, responded to this review, September 27, 2014
Thank you for staing at Sutton Place Hotel Ueno.
We are very happy to hear that you had nice time in Tokyo.

We have just started to change things a lot for provide better service to the guest.

We hope that you will have chance to visit us again in future.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We stayed in 2014/04/03~05.You have great housekeeping, nice front desk.But I think return key to front desk when we go out, is very inconvenient.Because the front desk at third floor.We have to take elevator twice.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RonaChen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
サットンプレイスホテル上野, フロント at Sutton Place Hotel Ueno, responded to this review, September 28, 2014
Thank you for staing with us.
We are very happy to hear that you have nice time at our hotel.

We have known that all of the guest mention that inconvenient to leave room key at Front desk each time when they go out .
However When the key of the room is lost, the exchange cost of a key is obtained. and charge of room key about 50000JPY to 70000JPY.
That is reason for explain to all of guest to leave room key at front desk when go out.

We hope that you will have chance to visit us again future.

Thank you for your comment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taito hotels
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel New Ueno
Hotel New Ueno
#48 of 120 in Taito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Sunroute Stellar Ueno
Ueno, Asakusa
Ueno Touganeya Hotel
Ueno Touganeya Hotel
#8 of 120 in Taito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Sardonyx Ueno
Hotel Sardonyx Ueno
#18 of 120 in Taito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Ueno Hotel
Ueno Hotel
#24 of 120 in Taito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Mitsui Garden Hotel Ueno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sutton Place Hotel Ueno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutton Place Hotel Ueno

Property: Sutton Place Hotel Ueno
Address: 7-8-23 Ueno, Taito 110-0005, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 120 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sutton Place Hotel Ueno 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated designers style guest room offers you a comfortable accommodation with many fine amenities.This stylish atmosphere makes you feel like staying in your own private study.Complimentary breakfast 6:00-9:30.Wi-Fi internet access available. We deodorize your room with the ozone air purifier before check-in if advance request is given.We hope you enjoy until check-out time 12:00 noon.*We will count a child as an adult who is over 13 years old. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Rakuten, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sutton Place Hotel Ueno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutton Place Taito
Sutton Place Hotel Ueno Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing