We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location,location,location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sutton Place Hotel Ueno
Ranked #41 of 125 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Reviewed October 4, 2008

My wife and I stayed at this little gem for three nights on Sept.21st based on the great recommendations of fellow tripadvisor members.Thanks for you advise.

I am just going to reinforce what's already been written. This small hotel is very convenient for transportation from taking a direct Keisei liner from Narita to Ueno, using the above ground JR Yamanote line to the Ginza and Hibiya subway lines.
There are many local eateries in the station and within blocks of the hotel and there is a very colorful scene that unfolds every evening at the Ameya Yokocho, which is a street market that hawks fruits to shoes. The Ueno Park is worth a walk with it's museums and statues. One stop away on the Ginza line is Asakusa with the Senso-ji shrine and the great Nakamise-Dori street.
We stayed in a small double bed room as the other rooms were not available. It was very, very clean and the bed was comfortable. A little problem with space for our luggage but manageable. A great selection of toiletries are available. Just be careful of the toilet!
The room rate is very reasonable for Tokyo and is a great bargain. There are lots of hotel options but I doubt there are many out there that presents such a value and such a rich local scene.
They include a very basic breakfast but you have a Starbucks option at the Ueno station and many bakeries.

TIPS: For airport transportation, the Keisei Skyliner is a reserved seating 60 minute express with limited stops that charges Y1920 while the Limited Express is a subway like train with many stops, takes 75 mins. and charges only Y100. I tried both and the Skyliner is worth the extra money.
The JR Yamanote line is a convenient loop that links the neighbourhoods and is worth just as an orientation ride. If you are not sure of your fare, just buy a Y160 ticket and then have your fare adjusted when you exit. There are machines for that purpose just before the exiting turnstiles. Ditto for the subways which have more English directions. They are easy to get used to.
Definitely do the Tsukiji Fish Market and the auction (5-7AM). Transfer to the Oeda line (one stop away) and get off at Tsukijishijo. A Tokyo instituition.
And try the food dept. at the nearby Matzuzakaya department store. It will blow you away. We bought a variety of foods and ate back at the hotel's lobby.
Finally, the Japanese are very well mannered and polite, please return the courtesy and you will have a wonderful time.

Hope this helps.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SamVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

109 - 115 of 229 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2008

For the price and location, you can't go wrong with this hotel. A short, safe walk from the major hub of Ueno station, the rooms were clean, if not somewhat cramped. For a couple, perfect. We welcomed the hot showers and the free breakfasts. It's not Le Meridien, but the bang for your buck was outstanding. Staff (including Mr. Matsushita), although not very fluent in English, did their best to be helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Zoliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2008

Stayed at the Sutton Hotel end of June 2008 for 5 days. Based my decision due to recommendations here and the fact that this hotel offers accommodation for a family of 4 which was great.

We booked a junior suite which was just perfect for my family. They convert the 2 sofas into beds for the kids which is in a sort of separate part of the room. The kids get to have their own fridge and TV but selection is limited and geared to locals. We occupied the suite on the 3rd floor which is on the same floor as the front desk which I found convenient for breakfast and checking in and out. Noise from the small lobby nor outside was barely noticeable. Speaking of breakfast - consists of coffee/tea/juice/assorted bread and jam which for me was Ok.

Check in and check out was fast and done professionally and the staff were very helpful. The room was very very clean, quite modern and the size was just right for us. Bathroom amenities were also good and adequate.

There are lots of cheap restaurants near the hotel (tempura place and gyudon place along the same road) and the location of the train and subway station was just perfect. If you are staying here I suggest you take the Keisie line from the airport to Ueno Station and back. It took us around a 10 - 15 minute leisure walk from the hotel to the station since it involved the four of us lugging his/her own luggage but it was not a hassle.

Would recommend this to anyone more specially for anyone needing a room for four.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank tonito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2008

Stayed at the Sutton Place Hotel for a couple of nights in late July.

Given the price of the hotel, as two friends traveling together, we booked a junior suite. It was HUGE by Japanese standards. Two rooms, including two sofas, two mini fridges, two flat screen TV's, two hand basins, and two good sized beds (of course).

Although it was located on a busy road, inside it was quiet and traffic noise was not noticeable.

Staff were friendly and helpful with reasonable English.

Internet was provided in the room. However, uploading photos onto picasa web albums was blocked, which was a bit inconvenient.

Breakfast wasn't flash, but it was adequate. Tea/coffee/juice and toast and pastries.

Good location close to Ueno Station, which was a good link to interesting sites.

Would recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank megsyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2008

This place was great. The decor looked newly done. All rooms were clean and fitted with Air con. Stay includes a simple breakfast of croissants,bread, tea coffee, jams etc. 2nd floor has free drinks machines giving english tea, japanese tea, coffee, hot cold water and ice.
The staff were very helpful and spoke good english (you may laugh but many japanese dont).
Free internet access from 10am til midnight.
Located right next to the Ueno JR train station, on the central loop line, which is great for getting to all the best placed in Tokyo. Make sure you leave from the 'Iriya exit' to get close to the hotel.
There were a few nice little resaurants near the hotel for well priced tasty food. No restaurants etc in the hotel
Overall this was the best accomodation we stayed at and made our time very comfortable. It was also very affordable for the level of hotel in Central Tokyo, costing around £40 a night.
we booked direct through email. Their website - www.thehotel.co.jp

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Good2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2008

I chose this hotel after I had a great experience of its counterpart in Osaka.

I enjoyed the convenient location very much.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank kurtyess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2008

We stayed here with our 2 children for 5 nights in a junior suite which accomodated the 4 of us very well. Price was great ( less than $200 AUD per night including the simple breakfast). We booked through the hotel website via email. Our room looked exactly as pictured on their web site. This hotel is not a full sevice hotel (ie no door man, no restaurant etc) but it was just what we were after. There is a guest laundry which is very handy, the rooms have all been recently fully refurbished & the staff were friendly. We were on the 6th floor & did have some traffic noise from the express way but not enough to be of any concern. The lift is very small but again this wasn't a problem. We were very close to both Ueno station & the Keisei station which made getting around Tokyo easy. Also very close (walking distance) to several convenience stores, restaurants, Ueno park & Ameya-yokocho market streets.

Would have no hesitation in staying here again!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank familyof4Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taito hotels
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel New Ueno
Hotel New Ueno
#56 of 125 in Taito
79 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Sunroute Stellar Ueno
Ueno, Asakusa
Mitsui Garden Hotel Ueno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
HOTEL MYSTAYS Ueno East
HOTEL MYSTAYS Ueno East
#30 of 125 in Taito
75 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Ueno Hotel
Ueno Hotel
#26 of 125 in Taito
229 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Guest1 Uenoekimae
Hotel Guest1 Uenoekimae
#31 of 125 in Taito
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sutton Place Hotel Ueno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutton Place Hotel Ueno

Address: 7-8-23 Ueno, Taito 110-0005, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 125 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Price Range: $79 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sutton Place Hotel Ueno 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated designers style guest room offers you a comfortable accommodation with many fine amenities.This stylish atmosphere makes you feel like staying in your own private study.Complimentary breakfast 6:00-9:30.Wi-Fi internet access available. We deodorize your room with the ozone air purifier before check-in if advance request is given.We hope you enjoy until check-out time 12:00 noon.*We will count a child as an adult who is over 13 years old. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rakuten, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sutton Place Hotel Ueno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutton Place Taito
Sutton Place Hotel Ueno Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing