We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sutton Place Hotel Ueno
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ryokan 
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Ueno Hotel(Taito)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (235)
Filter reviews
235 results
Traveler rating
46
115
56
12
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
46
115
56
12
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsiriya exitjunior suiteueno parkwifi routercomplimentary breakfastconvenient locationfew minutes walkroom spacetrain stationroom keystayed here for nightsair conluggagefloorjapanconvenienceeateries
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 235 reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I stayed in a junior suite, which was very large with a huge bathroom. The room was very clean. The traffic noise outside was audible at night, but wasn't too much of a problem after a busy day. The blinds let in the light, so I woke up at around 4:30am the first night, but after that I wore an eye mask. The wifi only works in the lobby. There are laundry facilities and vending machines on the second floor. The breakfast is fairly basic, staple diet for Westerners, but I found it adequate. There is a cat cafe down the road near Ueno station (Neko Maru Cafe, 8th floor above the burger place), which is a must-visit for tourists in Japan!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Sian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

This is a simple hotel, at a very convenient location right next to the Ueno station. Ideal for travellers coming from the US or Europe for a one-night stay before traveling further to another location in Japan. The rooms are quite small, commensurate with the given the reasonable price. I found that the hotel is well maintained and has a modern and relaxed atmosphere. The staff speaks reasonable English and very business minded. Check-in is as in most Japanese places I stayed at strictly after 14:00, but they offer the possibility to register in the morning and leave the luggage at the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anglosuisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I have stayed there many times and found this place sufficient. Rooms are fairly small, then again most business hotels in japan are. However, check in staffs were friendly and spoke some English. Very clean room and generally quiet, except a bit of traffic noise from outside, which was just about the only cons of this hotel.

Very near to Ueno train station. From Keisei airport train terminal, is only a 10 min walk. Free wifi at the 3/f lobby and a few computers for guest use. In the room is only free LAN, I highly suggest bringing a small handy wifi router to make your own wifi. Bed is fairly comfortable, free breakfast provided at the lobby is a nice touch too. Just hot drinks and bread, that's all.

Ueno is a good area as a base to anywhere in Tokyo. With the convenience of Keisei express train which takes you directly there, it's far more convenient than staying in Shinjuku or Ikebukuro, in my opinion.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank la_speranza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

The hotel we have stayed in many times in Ueno was booked out, so I looked for an alternative. This place is okay, but definitely nothing to rave about. The positives are that it's close to Ueno station, and there's a lot of eateries nearby. It's not on the side of Ueno where Ameyoko markets are, so if that's what you're looking for, you're out of luck.

The room size for inner Tokyo was pretty typical; small, but not tiny tiny. The front desk staff were pretty serious and unbending, but they did help us out by holding our bags after checkout. This is a hotel where they ask you to leave your key when you leave for the day, so they hold custody of it when you go out for lunch or dinner or to sightsee. I don't like that, but this isn't the only place in Japan where we've experienced it. It's not a dealbreaker, just expect to hand over your keys on your way out.

A lot of people seem to be complaining about the noise, I don't remember it being overly noisy. It is Ueno, on a busy street, I'm not sure what people were expecting.

Overall, it was okay, not a place that I'd hang around for the ambience, but a place to rest our head at the end of the day.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank femcastra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Have stayed in this hotel for two nights, 1st and 2nd April 2013. Went on the web site to book prior coming to Japan holiday for a week and on our way out, prefer to stay near the Ueno station where we can take the Skyliner back to airport

Pros
Clean and neat hotel
Near to Ueno station

Cons
Noisy as you can hear the road noise
Small and no place to move around when two grown adults with luggage try to maneuver or move around the room
Stern hotel manager who is a perfectionist on the rules an regulation of the hotel, even placement of chairs in the small reception area

Room Tip: Advise: If you just need to stay in the hotel near train station for a night to sleep and a heavy sleeper who disregard any noise, then this place is right for you. For visitors looking for a better night rest and better facilities, then you should look elsewhere.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LTspore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews