We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe for female lone travellers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sutton Place Hotel Ueno
Ranked #45 of 155 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Hotel entrance is along a main road, so even when i returned at nearly 12am alone, i felt safe. This is a quaint boutique hotel, very modern, and very clean. Like all typical Japan hotels, room is small but functional. There is free internet from the room. Recep area/public internet/breakfast area is tight, so i just brought food from the breakfast area back to my room. Simple toast, buns and juice, but good comfort food. I will recommend this place to friends as it is a 5 min walk away from Ueno station.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank siangjiao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (233)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

65 - 71 of 233 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2012

Conveniently located very close to Iriya Exit however, we could never find this exit when we were going back to the hotel from the station.

Great sized bathroom with full bath and a toilet with all the bells and whistles. It's a pity the room was not in proportion to the bathroom. We had a twin room which was very crowded for two people and two suitcases. There was a small fridge in the room but one had to move the bed to access the fridge.

Breakfast was average. I don't eat inch thick toast and jam at home.

The basement had washers and dryers and a microwave and vending machines for free tea and coffee and ice and water.

The dryers were expensive at JPY100 for 10 mins. I used JPY1000 to dry our clothes. Perhaps the dryers were just inefficient.

The only internet connection is in the lobby. We took our laptop so we could use it in our room because there is a point in the room but we were told we could only use it in the lobby which was inconvenient.

We were on the 8th or 9th floor. Still got the road noise and could hear what sounded like the subway as well. Also heard the person above us having an orgasm at three o'clock in the morning. I was concerned we had booked the wrong type of hotel. Very offputting!!

The cost was JPY13000 per night.

Room Tip: I am not sure what to suggest as I had emailed the hotel direct to see if I could get a quiet room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank caramellokoala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Overall, an average, western style hotel situated 2 blocks from Ueno station. Recommend if you're spending most of your time in Taito and want a quiet neighborhood.

If coming from Narita airport, take the Keisei Skyliner. 45-minute ride and takes you directly to Ueno station with no need to transfer. Hotel is two blocks away from the North West exit.

Not much nightlife which makes for a quiet, business neighborhood. There was only a handful of places to eat nearby. Try the place with Popeye as its logo! It's a ten min walk to Ueno park located on the opposite side of Ueno station. The park has museums, street performers, a zoo, small shrines, beautiful gardens, and even a Starbucks in the middle of it all!

Hotel staff was friendly and spoke decent English. Check-in only took 2 minutes! Room was small for western standards, but if you plan to mostly explore Tokyo, this is a non-issue. They offer a continental breakfast, but I didn't get a chance to try it. No wi-fi, so bring a laptop with an ethernet jack. Sorry iPads!

Full size bed was comfy. Bathroom was small and clean, but is not a "separate" room per se. They offer really nice complimentary shampoo/conditioner/body wash, nemaki, slippers, toothbrush, and shaving razors. Not much room to maneuver around and there is no closet space. At most, 2 adults with 2 luggage. If you have kids, size up!

My room was on the 3rd floor in front of the hotel and it looked directly at the freeway. It's not Los Angeles busy/loud as it's only 2 lanes, but get a room on the other side of hotel if you need something quiet.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 3rd floor in front of the hotel overlook the 2-lane freeway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HQlikesTacos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Good location near the train station even though the neighbourhood around the hotel left something to be desired. Unfortunately, I was assigned a smoking room which was so impregnated with smoking scent, it caused breathing problems by the morning. Bath amenities were very nice; slippers, yukata, good products were all supplied. Breakfast was minimal but tied me over to lunch.

Room Tip: If you want no-smoking, make sure to get no-smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Stayed the junior suite with two other friends...large room with couch

Pros:
Good location just 200m from Ueno station
Large room for Japan
Free wifi in lobby

Cons:
Small breakfast, no meat
Room had no real curtain, only Luxaflex
Water cooker did not do a good job

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Rdrummen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I selected this hotel for our stay because of my close friend's recommendation. The hotel is not hard to find, just 1 block of Ueno station, Iriya entrance. Hotel is located near Ueno, no need to go anywhere because Ueno has many attractions. Very convenient.

Front desk staff are kind, they are very helpful. I selected Single Bed Room-Non Smoking (SBN), bed is big enough for my husband and i. Room size is too small for us because we have 2 big luggages (too small space). Room is clean, toilet is clean, towels are clean, overall are clean and very comfortable.

Optional amenities are provided at front desk. Shampoo, hair con, shower cream are provided in the room. Internet & Free Wifi are available at Lobby area only. This made us troublesome a little bit. They should have in-room free wifi. Hotel offered free coffee, green tea and black tea at the vendoring machine. I really enjoy it :)

There was a traffic sound, while I was sleeping, but not that much. Overall are nice, but if they have in-room free wifi, it would be great.

Room Tip: If you have big luggages, Single Bed Room-Non Smoking (SBN) may not good for you. Because you will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lilyaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

The hotel is little hard to find and the entrance layout is little odd and scary at night. The front desk is on second floor so you will need to take the tiny elevator to second floor to check in and out. It comes with continental breakfast. It is right next to a busy freeway so it gets noisy at night when you are trying to get some zzzz's.

The room is small like most of Japanese hotels but it is clean. You can get free wifi and computer use at the front desk area. You can also see the Tokyo Tree from here. Ueno is 15 minutes train ride from Tokyo and the station is not overwhelming like Tokyo station. Great location close to Tokyo without paying Tokyo price.

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank Formosa_PHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taito hotels
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel New Ueno
Hotel New Ueno
#53 of 155 in Taito
82 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Sunroute Stellar Ueno
Ueno, Asakusa
HOTEL MYSTAYS Ueno East
HOTEL MYSTAYS Ueno East
#32 of 155 in Taito
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Guest1 Uenoekimae
Hotel Guest1 Uenoekimae
#28 of 155 in Taito
97 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Mitsui Garden Hotel Ueno
Ueno, Asakusa
Ueno Hotel
Ueno Hotel
#26 of 155 in Taito
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sutton Place Hotel Ueno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutton Place Hotel Ueno

Address: 7-8-23 Ueno, Taito 110-0005, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 155 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Price Range: $76 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sutton Place Hotel Ueno 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated designers style guest room offers you a comfortable accommodation with many fine amenities.This stylish atmosphere makes you feel like staying in your own private study.Complimentary breakfast 6:00-9:30.Wi-Fi internet access available. We deodorize your room with the ozone air purifier before check-in if advance request is given.We hope you enjoy until check-out time 12:00 noon.*We will count a child as an adult who is over 13 years old. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sutton Place Hotel Ueno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutton Place Taito
Sutton Place Hotel Ueno Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing