We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We are very happy with our choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Villa Fontaine Ueno
Ranked #35 of 120 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Annecy, France
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“We are very happy with our choice”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

The hotel is well located, 15 min. walk from Ueno station which is usually the arrival station if you take the Skyliner from Narita airport. Even it was the first time in Tokyo for us (me and my husband), the hotel was easy to find and to get by walking (provided printed maps from internet). Even we came one hour earlier than expected we were given a room immediately (charged 1500 yens), desk staff is polite and English speaking. After reading all the reviews, I was anxious about how the room would look like. It was actually nice: not Hyatt or Sheraton (which I wouldn´t expect for 70 euros a night for two including breakfast) but it was clean and relatively spaceful for Japan. Toilet-bathroom, kettle and small fridge (and TV which we dont use, yet laptop can be connected to it through HDMI). The bed is changed every day. The pillows are a bit hard. You got slippers, pyjamas, shampoo+conditioner+face and hand soap+body soap. You find hair dryer and every day clean towels (two towels – so you have one for your hair). You also find a little hairbrush, toothbrush and razor. Breakfast is sufficient but could be better. We knew it but were pleasantely surprised. Shops and cheap restaurants near by, for a good dinner you may check other parts of Tokyo.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank klara_chefdeville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    208
    95
    15
    3
See reviews for
46
157
44
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
lincs UK
Level Contributor
426 reviews
212 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 376 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

This was our second stay in Tokyo at a Villa Fontaine Hotel, both hotels according to Trip Advisor are 3 star; these two hotels were not comparable - this hotel was simply not a 3* hotel. Entering the hotel's sliding doors into a large room that can only be described as depressing (presumably where breakfast was taken). The reception area was at the far end, the staff were helpful / friendly - although they were unable to recomend a good restaurant near by - their command of English was variable. Once upstairs the design of the hotel made us feel that we had just arrived in an old style jail - the design was the same as for example in the former Melbourne jail.

The room was so small that it was difficult to open a case or to put the kettle on. Beds were comfortable, room quiet, no English language world news programme on TV. Left for the airport before breakfast. Would I stay here again - the simple answer is "No"

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kaw118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful accomodation nice staff they provided everything we needed. Near ueno jr station well served by taxies breakfast was Perfect every morning and the room very cleaned. They all speak english so it's easy to communicate. They even booked a visit in a sumo gym!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 01chiaretta01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

My son and I stayed here for a week and found the hotel to be perfect for our requirements. It is in a convenient location with several subway stations only a few minutes walk away. There are also plenty of restaurants nearby and Akibara is one stop away and within walking distance if you're so inclined.

The rooms are small, but we expected that. If you have large bags then they will be awkward in your room, but we were fine with a couple if duffle bags. The room was clean, everything working fine and it was perfectly reset for us each day.

Breakfast was included and included coffee, croissants, toast, jams, sausages, boiled eggs, rissoles, coleslaw, etc.

Staff were all friendly and spoke enough English for us to get by. They also arranged a tour for us late one night and were helpful sorting things out for us.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevinmurp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The Villa Fontaine is a real find in Tokyo. Located in a quieter neighborhood but with easy access to transportation. Room was large by Tokyo standards. Amenities were comparable to a 3+star hotel. Breakfast was sufficient enough to last past lunchtime. Staff was friendly and helpful. Good LAN internet connection in room (but no in-room WiFi as of this review). Overall I would recommend the Villa Fontaine. It's not the sexiest or newest Tokyo hotel but it's a very good value.

Room Tip: A room on the upper floors is good because of view of city.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank santarosapaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed as a family of four.The reception isnt the flashiest around and resembles a working office. When we asked for help the staff were very helpful and friendly.
The rooms were very clean and tidy and everything was replaced daily.
We would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank faredinkum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is its location. Although it is about a 8 minute walk to the metro it is near lots of wonderful restaurants. We had some wonderful meals in this area long with the locals and it certainly wasnt expensive. The only thing i would say is the room was tiny and the breakfast is dreadful, very limited and the choices dont look or taste great either. If you have a large suitcase be prepared for this to be stored by the door as there is no room in the actually room for 2 big cases. The hotel is very clean and the staff on reception do make an effort to help you. the hotel provides a good map and metro map. My bed wasnt the best and i did wake up each morning with back ache. We walked frm the main station when we arrived but i would probably suggest getting a cab when you first arrive after a long flight from the UK.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NJMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taito hotels
Ueno, Asakusa
HOTEL MYSTAYS Ueno East
HOTEL MYSTAYS Ueno East
#42 of 120 in Taito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Ueno Hotel
Ueno Hotel
#26 of 120 in Taito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Mystays Ueno Inaricho
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
Agora Place Asakusa
Agora Place Asakusa
#23 of 120 in Taito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Sardonyx Ueno
Hotel Sardonyx Ueno
#18 of 120 in Taito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Mitsui Garden Hotel Ueno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Fontaine Ueno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Fontaine Ueno

Property: Hotel Villa Fontaine Ueno
Address: 2-4-4 Kojima, Taito 111-0056, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 120 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Fontaine Ueno 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Rakuten, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Villa Fontaine Ueno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fontaine Ueno
Fontaine Ueno Hotel
Hotel Villa Fontaine Ueno Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing