We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, efficient, and a good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Villa Fontaine Ueno
Ranked #29 of 119 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Clean, efficient, and a good location”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I stayed here for two weeks on a business trip - my wife also stayed with me.

The room was very small by American standards, but it gets the job done. Chances are you won't be visiting Japan to stay in the room all day long.

The rooms were perfectly clean, and well stocked with toiletries - very large amounts of body wash, shampoo, and conditioner. There is internet provided, but only via wired connection. There is free wifi in the lobby, the login details for which are changed every 3 days (just ask the front desk).

Most of the employees at the front desk speak passable English, but it varies from person to person. Japanese hotels will expect you to pay for the entire trip up front, so be prepared for that as this is not very common in the US. Japanese hotels also book based on occupancy, but my hotel was booked through work and I simply paid for my reservation and was not bothered about having an extra person at all - use your judgment and conscience with regard to this.

There is free breakfast every morning that usually includes salad, a kind of meat, soup, sometimes eggs (either scrambled or hard boiled), pastries, and of course coffee/tea. It's not going to win any awards but it is fairly good quality and very nice if you're looking to save money.

The hotel is very close (less than a 10 minute walk) to 2 different Metro stops, and about a 15 minute walk to Ueno station, which is a major hub in the Tokyo area. Ueno Park is also directly adjacent to the station, which is very nice and has a lot of different things to do. There are also many, many restaurants and shops within 1 or 2 miles - we easily could have eaten at a different place for every night of our stay.

Overall this is a clean, conveniently located, and very affordable. You would have a hard time finding a hotel for this price with all those characteristics in a big city anywhere in the US. But bear in mind this is not trying to be an upscale hotel - it is an efficient place to sleep and bathe every night after your days in Tokyo.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarthVolta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    213
    98
    15
    3
See reviews for
49
162
45
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 1, 2013

The room is fine. But we stayed here for 5 nights and the last night they made us switch to another room which was a smoking room. (We booked two separate reservations). The window couldn't open and the room smelled awful. I told the hotel staff and they shrugged their shoulders. I've heard the Japanese are supposed to be great hosts and this was embarrassing. I have allergies (which I told them) and my next day was ruined.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JK_Frequent_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed here for three nights last week. It was at the end of our three week trip in Japan and I wa every glad it was not our first Tokyo hotel. We checked in - very competent staff - but got to our 4th floor room to discover the view was quite literally a brick wall - 20 cms from our window. Really a bit grim. The room is tiny and I know it is Japan but our previous Tokyo hotel room was quite a bit bigger and much lighter. The bed was like a plank and the pillow awful. The breakfast was as described by others boiled egg one day scrambled the next. Corn soup and beef consommé, never miso which would have been better. However the staff were very helpful and when I politely asked to change rooms the following morning they were able to offer a room on the street side on the tenth floor which was a definite improvement. Very noisy though all night. Would highly recommend the hotel My Stay chain in Hammamatsucho instead - similar room rate and a much nicer hotel room.

Room Tip: Only stay on the Tokyo Sky Tree side and be prepared for small
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kowhai22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

OK price/room/breakfast, bad bed/pillow/clientele/location

The price is OK, the room OK on a typical Japanese expectation evaluation.

The beds are hard, the pillows harder and tiny. You may not have a second pillow but piling rocks higher probably would not have made my stiff neck any better. In fact the pillows are terrible.

The hotel is not near any major train station and the nearby subway is not a major line. Ueno is not too far a walk but not near either. Similar hikes will get you to Ameyoko and further to Kappabashi.

The breakfast suffices. Breakfast is cabbage/lettuce salad with 3 dressings, toast and rolls, sausage (2 types rotated day), eggs (runny but good scrambled one day, hard boiled the other day), coffee, milk, water, 1 juice, each day has a different very watery soup (several were tasty).

The food area is crowded and noisy. Do not show up in the first 1/2 hour.

Unlike Japanese clientele, the tourists here are brash, impolite, and noisy. Why go to Japan for that?

The staff is polite and helpful.

The air conditioner will keep you cold enough if you can figure it out (instructions label the buttons but not how to use them) and the temperature fluctuates too much. You are cold when it runs and hot before it turns back on.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rasillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We chose this hotel as it was near the Ueno Station, reachable via the Sky Express, as well as near a metro station. We walked from Ueno station with our bags and it was not a problem. Room was small, but that was expected. Bed very good quality ! Breakfast was free. Bathroom with everything in it, perfect.
Plenty of places to eat walking distance from the hotel, all very quiet.
Will probably stay there next time in Tokyo.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sapporo
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I stay at the Villa Fontaine hotels frequently when in Tokyo and they are generally all good value for the money. Located at Shin-Okachimachi station it is very close to the Ameya yokocho shopping area and there is another smaller arcade running parallel to the road the hotel is on. Ueno station is a little farther away. Not a bad walk with an overnight bag. Bigger luggage you'll want a taxi. My room (1111) was fine. Typical business hotel size in Tokyo (meaning small), but it served it's purpose. I didn't like the placement of the fan in the bathroom because it kept blowing the shower curtain towards me in the shower, which is not very nice. The only other bad thing about the hotel was that breakfast is served in the reception area, a narrow runway between the front entrance and the reception. Checkout was hazardous, carrying luggage and trying to negotiate the people going to and from the buffet. Villa Fontaine should slap their architect into next week for that crappy idea. But, the hotel was quiet and I slept well, and that counts for something.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xClark-Griswoldx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Hi, I am the author of a recently published book of thirty short stories called "Moments in Time-a collection of short stories". Many of these use overseas experiences-hence I have travelled a lot and stayed in many hotels. Location: Uneo is a good location in Tokyo, The nearest Japanese Rail station is only about 10 minutes walk and we found a big street market nearby. With a JR rail pass being near to a JR station makes it easy getting around- especially to various areas in Tokyo. Hotel Room: Small, clean but the mattresses were hard. Cost: This was more expensive than the other Japanese hotels where we stayed, but included breakfast. The breakfast set-up has the appearance of a backpackers and is in the reception area. While it is buffet arguably providing sufficient selection, on the first two days there was only one person replenishing supplies and I ended up having to use a soup cup for my coffee. Design feature. This is a hotel that rains. The rooms are dry but the middle of the hotel deliberately allows rain to enter and fall down a hollow middle onto a courtyard. This is perfectly OK- quite creative. Food places: Plenty within walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian255118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taito hotels
Ueno, Asakusa
Ueno Hotel
Ueno Hotel
#25 of 119 in Taito
209 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
HOTEL MYSTAYS Ueno East
HOTEL MYSTAYS Ueno East
#42 of 119 in Taito
60 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Sardonyx Ueno
Hotel Sardonyx Ueno
#19 of 119 in Taito
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
Agora Place Asakusa
Agora Place Asakusa
#21 of 119 in Taito
312 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Mystays Ueno Inaricho
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Coco Grand Ueno Shinobazu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Fontaine Ueno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Fontaine Ueno

Property: Hotel Villa Fontaine Ueno
Address: 2-4-4 Kojima, Taito 111-0056, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 119 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Fontaine Ueno 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Rakuten, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Fontaine Ueno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fontaine Ueno
Fontaine Ueno Hotel
Hotel Villa Fontaine Ueno Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing