We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Such good value, great location to see Tokyo and great service.”
Review of Tokyo Ryokan

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Taito
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tokyo Ryokan
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Taito
Level Contributor
101 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Such good value, great location to see Tokyo and great service.”
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

This Ryokan is a great little set up.
Very clean, great location, 5 mins walk to subway. Very easy to access Tokyo yet stay in a peaceful older area. Traditional style but with a modern twist.

There are only 3 rooms - shared bathroom with shower toilet and double basin downstairs but no dramas. very clean and was always free when required (in fact I can't recall seeing another guest using it! )

There is also a toilet upstairs with a basin again this was spotless.

The hosts are just lovely.
On the first night after a day in the sweltering heat I had a really bad headache. They very kindly offered and walked with me to the drugs store to help me buy some medication.

The hosts' English is very good.

I also arrived early and when I came back later in the day my luggage was in my room.

Tips: recommend mister donut (on way to the subway for breakfast) ask for water they will give you a big glass.

Try somataro savoury pancake shop one evening 2 min walk from Ryokan.

Fukuoka Tempura at the end of the street from New York also very very good.

The Rox shopping centre area was good too. There's a non tourist kimono shop on the top floor.

The onsen is very nice but if you didn't grow up in a "naked house" you might find it a bit intense. There is a laundry there though if you want to do washing -takes 40 mins 200¥.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Archipeligo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    21
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
10
44
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed three nights in Tokyo Ryokan, the area was quite peaceful and was nice to rest after exploring the Tokyo. The ryokan is very nice, the owners are really friendly and we had a great time staying there. The room itself was small and cos whit Futons on tatami mats (a common feature in traditional ryokans) which was really cool to try.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ana02_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

My wife and I had never been to Japan or Tokyo, and Tokyo Ryokan was the first place we stayed during our 12-day trip around the country. We loved it and would recommend it very highly -- but would also caution travelers unfamiliar with this sort of place to read its description carefully before booking.

Here are some key points about the place:
- It's located in Asakusa, near Ueno, Ueno Station, Kappabashi Kitchen Street, Sensoji temple, and Asakusa Station (convenient for cheap access to Narita Airport via metro). For all that, it's also in a fairly quiet spot. The combination of these things, i.e., accessibility and quiet, is fantastic.
- Even though it was 100 degrees (F) / 35 degrees (C) when we arrived, we slept very comfortably.
- Unlike most lodgings -- and certainly unlike any lodgings in this price range -- Tokyo Ryokan's interior is beautiful (in addition to being spotlessly clean). This might not be important to you, or you might think it unimportant until you arrive, when you'll realize you should seriously consider emulating the decor in your own home!
- There are several excellent, small restaurants in the neighborhood (meaning less than 3 blocks away) -- ask Kenishi for suggestions! Don't miss the tempura around the corner in particular.

And here is one small point of caution:
- At least one of your room's walls/door will be made of paper, through which sound and light travel. This wasn't a problem for us (once the chatty Spanish trio left on our second day), but it might be an issue if sonic privacy is really important to you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JMG1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed five nights in Tokyo Ryokan, a small ryokan located in Taito, with a convenient walking distance from the closest metro station (Tawaramachi / Ueno). The area was quite peaceful and was nice to return there after a day of exploring the buzzling Tokyo. The ryokan was quite easy to spot based on the given instructions.

We chose to stay there based on given reviews, and were a bit hesitant beforehand about shared toilets and a bathroom. Shouldn't be though - the place was very clean and as there were only three rooms we got to use the shared facilities whenever wanted. The room itself was small and cosy, with working wi-fi. Futons on tatami mats (a common feature in traditional ryokans) required a little bit adaptation and caused some soreness in muscles after the first nights.

The ryokan doesn't offer breakfast (or any other meals), but there are a lot cafés and restaurants nearby. For those looking for a more extensive breakfast we recommend e.g. Jonathan's, and for those appreciating aesthetics & quality coffee, Kappabashi coffee.

The hosts Fusako and Kenichi were the nicest ever, especially Kenichi (who spoke good English) gave us valuable tips regarding restaurants & transportation.

All in all, would definitely recommend - a good value for the price!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heini V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banting, Selangor, Malaysia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Although not able to get a room here, (fully booked for first week of August 2013) but from the email feedback itself from Tokyo Ryokan, already can feel how friendly they are! lot of useful information in their website and by email replied from them, i got a very useful tips!

Thanks to Tokyo Ryokan! will definitely make a booking earlier in future if i have chance to visit to Tokyo again (early booking is a MUST!)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gin8_8Lim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This place was ideal for us to stay for 5 nights in early June. The low-key Asakusa district was a relief to come back to each day and whatever advice we needed the hosts were happy to help with. Senso-ji temple is so beautiful and the area fun to visit. Near the ryokan was an excellent okonomiyaki place, a ROX department store with tons of take-out food and groceries (and fun Uniqlo clothes section), a Jonathan's and Denny's for breakfast (it's not as awful as it may sound, and a full breakfast American-style for 480yen or Japanese for more, plus unlimited "drink bar"). We asked for a stationery store and they told us about Shimojima down the street...fantastic selection and cheaper than other stores. We asked to see a koi pond and they showed us a small temple nearby with one of the most beautiful we saw in 10 days in Japan. With encouragement I went to the nearest onsen, Jakotsuyu, 5 minutes walk away, and I was so glad I did.

For the ryokan, bring your own shampoo, soap and washcloth, and rent a towel for 200 yen. The rooms are small, but everything is immaculate and well-maintained, and suited our needs--and the price was right. We ate several take-out meals in the common room, which was very pleasant. There is a hot drink vending machine to the left of the ryokan coming out...heaven.

The walk from Ueno station was between 15 and 20 minutes, and almost a straight shot. The important thing is to find the correct exit from Ueno station (exit 9?), so look at the maps before you get out...you're going away from Ueno park and toward Asakusa. Go down Asakusa dori, (street) and when you get to Kappabashi street cross it and turn left. Go a couple of blocks and look for a large cow in the window of a shop, you'll turn right after that. The large gray temple across from the ryokan is your best landmark, and so beautiful to see each day.
We would stay right there at Tokyo Ryokan if we go back!

Room Tip: If possible, a room facing the temple
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kolea5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed June 5, 2013

The kindness shown to us at the Ryokan is one that has resonated through out our interactions with the great people and culture in Japan.

The close proximity to the Sensoji temple allowed us to experience a flower arrangement, where Buddhists gather much like a Church does on Sunday. Although not on our itinerary, we went for spontaneity, were welcomed inside, and witnessed native Japanese instruments and rituals at work. The location of this Ryokan was perfect. We'd never had known such an event would be taking place had we stayed in another district.

It was great to be able to have an authentic experience vs. staying at hotel. We were able to acclimate quicker and gain better insight into the way people here live. Kenichi and Fusako were the perfect hosts, warm and generous, kind and thoughtful; never once making us feel that we were different because we didn't speak the language fully or because we were visiting a foreign country. We can't say enough nice things about Tokyo Ryokan; our first experience in Japan was all that we hoped it would be.

As for Fusako and Kenichi, thank you for all that you have done to welcome us in your home and your country. It was a beautiful experience and we look forward to coming back in the future. Much love always ~ Nada & Nick

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicholasG94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taito hotels
Ueno, Asakusa
THE GATE HOTEL Asakusa Kaminarimon by HULIC
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Mystays Ueno Inaricho
Ueno, Asakusa
Andon Ryokan
Andon Ryokan
#7 of 120 in Taito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
The Edo Sakura
The Edo Sakura
#2 of 120 in Taito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Ryokan Kamogawa
Ryokan Kamogawa
#28 of 120 in Taito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Palace Japan
Palace Japan
#1 of 12 in Taito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tokyo Ryokan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tokyo Ryokan

Property: Tokyo Ryokan
Address: 2-4-8 Nishi Asakusa, Taito 111-0035, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Taito
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tokyo Ryokan has 3 ( three ) Japanese-style rooms, all laid out with tatami floor mats. Couples/Groups/Families can enjoy one of the rooms for private use. Each room is heated in winter, cooled in summer. There is no extra cost for the air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tokyo Ryokan Hotel Taito
Tokyo Ryokan Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing