We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!”
Review of Tokyo Ryokan

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Taito
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tokyo Ryokan
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Taito
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

This is a great way to experience the way Japan used to be, futons and tatami. It is also just a surreal place, so simple, clean, quiet. Epitome of Japan. A wonderful couple runs it. They are fluent in English and extremely helpful in assisting you on your adventures. Kenichi has tons of good suggestions and advice about travel in Japan.
Also- it is in a great neighborhood, near a few streets where you can see how locals really live, quaint stores, a huge temple, schools and a park. But it is also very close to the huge shopping/more touristy area of Asakusa.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sznd126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    21
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
10
44
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

If you are looking for the experience of a traditionnal and authentic japanese bedroom, try this ryokan in the Asakusa area, well described by MrThrill.
It is run by Kenichi and Fusako who live on the 2nd floor. They are very helpful and give precious pieces of advice.
The booking and payment in advance process might be awkward but safe and it is worthy. You won't fall from your bed.
Let's support traditionnal family value small businesses on a cultural mission.

Room Tip: Only 3 identical rooms in this quiet area of Asakusa, just dip in the Japanese culture and have a ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pierre C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2012

that was my first visit to Japan and my friend who lived in Japan told me aboutn this place and Im so glad I did come as I enjoyed this elegant Japanese Hospitality. The place was clean and close to everything you would need. This Hotel told me about trip advisor and now Im writting reviews on trip advisor. Thank you staff for assisting me and for your greast hospitality. The place is so clean

Room Tip: Ask the receptionist about the tourist attractions as they are well versed on the tourist places to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelCuzUnited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for 7 nights in October 2011. We were originally going to Japan in May 2011 but due to the tsunamai in March and subsequent travel warnings we decided to postpone until September. Unfortunately the ryokan requires you to pay in advance and doesn't offer a refund if you vary your dates unless they are able to rebook the room. I'm not complaining, I knew the fine print when we first booked but you need to be aware of it.
Okay,the nuts and bolts. The ryokan is in Asakusa, a not too touristy part of Tokyo. The local metro station, Tewaramachi, is about a 10 minute walk away. The ryokan is on a quiet street but is also a 2 minute walk from Kappabashi-dori, a kitchen-ware, restaurant supplies street about 1 km long and full of great stuff for your home or as souvenirs. The ryokan is run by Kenichi-san and Fusako-san. They are nice people who speak good English. Kenichi appears reserved at first but once you get to know him and he,you the laughs flowed. Fusako is a bit shy but very friendly.
The room we stayed in was small with little space for our mountain of baggage and souvenirs. The futons are a bit thin and the pillows small but probably authentic. The bathroom facilities are shared between 3 rooms. Upstairs where the bedrooms are is a toilet, urinal and handbasin. Downstairs is a communal room for eating or whatever, a shower and 2 handbasins. The shower is a push-button type which you need to keep pushing if you want.There is no running hot water in the handbasins. There isn't coffee/tea making facilities or a fridge which would both be assets.
Anyway, we liked staying there very much. The hosts, the location, Kappabashi-dori and numerous eating places made it feel very comfortable for us in a city that we struggled to keep up with. Any criticism is minor.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MrThrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2011

Stayed here for 10 days in december of 08

was such a beautiful little place.

it's incredibly basic - don't expect room service and a bar fridge

but i'm pretty sure for this price the only other accomodation available in tokyo is a backpacker dorm or a capsule hotel.

the walls are paper thin so bring ear plugs.

we had to bang on the wall because a snorlax next door kept us up with his snoring.

we also had the wall banged on us one night when we came home really drunk - whoops!

it's incredibly clean and the design is so beautiful and minimalistic. in such a gorgeous area of tokyo, i can't wait to go back.

if you have back problems be warned that this place is traditional japanese tatami matt beds and the pillows are stuffed with rice!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hollyequin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2011

We spent a weekend at Tokyo Ryokan in early April and it was a really good experience. At the time, it was not too long after the earthquake so we were very concerned about the conditions in Japan. The owners Kenichi san and Fusako san were extremely helpful and responsive in their communications prior to our trip, taking care to answer all of our questions and concerns. A+

When we arrived we found a charming little traditional Japanese ryokan. The interior was constructed out of high quality wood complete with the traditional Japanese sliding doors. The atmosphere was minimalist yet stylish and travelers who frequent a lot of B&Bs and hostels should feel very comfortable. Furthermore, I want to add that the entire place was exceptionally clean. I did not see a single spec of dust or stain anywhere the entire time I was there, no exaggeration.

As for rooms, they are very no-frills so no beds but you do get a large comforter on top of the tatami which is cleaned every day.

The neighborhood is nice in the sense of that it has easy access to the airport, is quiet, and has many cheap places to eat near-by. Asakusa is probably the most backpacker friendly neighborhood in Tokyo with many B&Bs and old fashioned restaurants near-by, as well as the famous Sensoji temple. Foodies should take note that the most famous tempura place ( Daikokuya tempura ) and the most famous kaiten sushi place ( Magurobito ) are both in this neighborhood.

Also regarding location, keep in mind that Tokyo is a very spread out city so still expect to commute for at least 30 minutes between attractions. From Tokyo Ryokan, it was a 30-40 minute subway ride to Shinjuku station (the major transport hub), 30 minutes to Shibuya (main attractions), and about 1 1/2 hours to Narita airport depending on the line you take.

Overall, we were very happy with our stay at Tokyo Ryokan. As many of the other reviewers mentioned, this is probably the best no frills B&B in Tokyo. The location is right, the atmosphere is charming, and it is exceptionally well kept. Kenichi san and Fusako san are the nicest most helpful B&B owners I've ever met so you're definitely in good hands when you stay here!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank LuckyTommy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2011

We stayed here for one night and found it to be a nice and comfortable stay. Compared to the prices of some of the other Ryokans this really is the best your going to get for the price you pay - 3500 yen. Owner is friendly and very informative and chatty!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philipstown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taito hotels
Ueno, Asakusa
THE GATE HOTEL Asakusa Kaminarimon by HULIC
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Mystays Ueno Inaricho
Ueno, Asakusa
Andon Ryokan
Andon Ryokan
#7 of 120 in Taito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
The Edo Sakura
The Edo Sakura
#2 of 120 in Taito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Ryokan Kamogawa
Ryokan Kamogawa
#28 of 120 in Taito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Palace Japan
Palace Japan
#1 of 12 in Taito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tokyo Ryokan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tokyo Ryokan

Property: Tokyo Ryokan
Address: 2-4-8 Nishi Asakusa, Taito 111-0035, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Taito
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tokyo Ryokan has 3 ( three ) Japanese-style rooms, all laid out with tatami floor mats. Couples/Groups/Families can enjoy one of the rooms for private use. Each room is heated in winter, cooled in summer. There is no extra cost for the air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tokyo Ryokan Hotel Taito
Tokyo Ryokan Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing