We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming little ryokan, Highly Recommended”
Review of Tokyo Ryokan

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Taito
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tokyo Ryokan
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Taito
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Charming little ryokan, Highly Recommended”
Reviewed June 7, 2011

We spent a weekend at Tokyo Ryokan in early April and it was a really good experience. At the time, it was not too long after the earthquake so we were very concerned about the conditions in Japan. The owners Kenichi san and Fusako san were extremely helpful and responsive in their communications prior to our trip, taking care to answer all of our questions and concerns. A+

When we arrived we found a charming little traditional Japanese ryokan. The interior was constructed out of high quality wood complete with the traditional Japanese sliding doors. The atmosphere was minimalist yet stylish and travelers who frequent a lot of B&Bs and hostels should feel very comfortable. Furthermore, I want to add that the entire place was exceptionally clean. I did not see a single spec of dust or stain anywhere the entire time I was there, no exaggeration.

As for rooms, they are very no-frills so no beds but you do get a large comforter on top of the tatami which is cleaned every day.

The neighborhood is nice in the sense of that it has easy access to the airport, is quiet, and has many cheap places to eat near-by. Asakusa is probably the most backpacker friendly neighborhood in Tokyo with many B&Bs and old fashioned restaurants near-by, as well as the famous Sensoji temple. Foodies should take note that the most famous tempura place ( Daikokuya tempura ) and the most famous kaiten sushi place ( Magurobito ) are both in this neighborhood.

Also regarding location, keep in mind that Tokyo is a very spread out city so still expect to commute for at least 30 minutes between attractions. From Tokyo Ryokan, it was a 30-40 minute subway ride to Shinjuku station (the major transport hub), 30 minutes to Shibuya (main attractions), and about 1 1/2 hours to Narita airport depending on the line you take.

Overall, we were very happy with our stay at Tokyo Ryokan. As many of the other reviewers mentioned, this is probably the best no frills B&B in Tokyo. The location is right, the atmosphere is charming, and it is exceptionally well kept. Kenichi san and Fusako san are the nicest most helpful B&B owners I've ever met so you're definitely in good hands when you stay here!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank LuckyTommy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    21
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
10
44
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2011

We stayed here for one night and found it to be a nice and comfortable stay. Compared to the prices of some of the other Ryokans this really is the best your going to get for the price you pay - 3500 yen. Owner is friendly and very informative and chatty!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philipstown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2011

For travellers on a limited budget, Tokyo Ryokan is a great option. There are some fairly strict house rules and some slightly frustrating quirks (30 second bursts of hot water in the shower; rice pillows unfamiliar to my western sleeping habits), but most of which I suspect are to ensure harmony amongst the guests in the three rooms who all share the one bathroom in this tiny ryokan (and to ensure the ignorant gaijin don’t wreck the tatami mats). However, the ryokan is extremely clean and presents like new. Its proprietors are helpful and friendly, and given the compact nature of the ryokan, it feels more like you are a guest in their house, than a tourist in a hotel. Tokyo Ryokan offers basic accommodation, with no frills. This is excellent value for money at this price point

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TCphonehome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2011

This hotel is a little oasis of calm. The room was small, but if you're in Tokyo, you'll probably not be spending much time in it anyway. The hosts are charming and helpful. And to find somewhere this inexpensive in the second most expensive city in the world is quite remarkable. It's conveniently located for Ueno, with its fantastic park and zoo, and there are plenty of places to eat nearby (Vin Chou, two side streets away, is particularly good - try the grilled chicken kneecaps). I wouldn't stay anywhere else if I were in Tokyo again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveInKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2011

The Ryokan was a bit hard to find though I blame that on sleep deprovation as well as misreading the directions. Once we found it Kenichi was very helpful in helping us get around Tokyo and explaining how things work as well as helping us find things to do to fill our time. I will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichiiChedore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2011

We (family of 2 Adults and 3 Children 11, 12 &15 yrs old) chose this traditional Japanese accommodation after reading the reviews on Trip advisor, but we also noticed that it had been recommended in lonely planet.

Tokyo Ryokan has three tatatmi mat guestrooms with traditional shoji (paper) screens on the second floor of the house, with a shared toilet and basin on that floor. Above you is the owners living quarters which appears to take up the whole top floor and then below you is the reception, common room and decent sized double shower, double vanity and separate toilet.

It is probably the best priced accommodation in a lovely area (Taito-ku near Asakusa markets) of Tokyo and only a pleasant 20-25 minute walk to Ueno train station which you can also get to by subway which are close by if you choose not to walk or need to take the subway due to time constraints. There are police everywhere, a mister donuts, lovely little tempura joint, and the equivalent of our late night supermarkets are nearby (ampm probably the closest)

Tokyo Ryokan is attractive from the outside and just as lovely inside, very warm and inviting. The bedding is traditional futon/pillow which we noticed was always folded up each day for us when we returned from our days activities. Those of you who are unaccustomed to the futon may find these one's a tad thin, but we were very busy all week and slept like a log most nights.

Ken and Fusako were absolute gems. We hardly noticed they were there, but the rubbish and recycling were always removed, and we always came home to find our room clean and tidy. (Taito area has a recycling program so, so Ken has organised an area in the main bathroom on the first floor where you can separate the rubbish and he will explain that to you.)

When we did need Ken he was only a moment away and made every effort to find out what our needs were (train times, directions to places and anything else we needed to know about food, souvenirs etc.) and then either came and told us what he had found out or left small notes on our door if we were out. The odd occasion we stumbled upon something new and amazing that he was unaware of, he was more than happy to add it to his list of recommendations for future guests.

I noticed that a French tourist whinged about the owners vacuuming at 9am! If you are in a place as wonderful as Japan and were still in bed at 9am you are wasting your time. Unless of course you are sick in which case Ken & Fusako would have been more than sympathetic to your needs. They complained of having to turn off lights. Ken has gone to great expense to install environmentally friendly light sensors which come on at night (toilet run etc) for your safety but also turn off on their own to save energy. These same guests whinged about just about everything and then had the audacity to say you got more for your money elsewhere in Tokyo for the same price. I challenge them to find a lovelier ryokan, with nicer hosts in such a good area convenient to everything for $40 per person per night! They obviously weren't looking to stay in a ryokan.

Although we did love this place, it is only fair to tell you a couple of small things that didn't bother us but may bother others: Futons a tad thin, timed water in the shower, no hand soap at vanity (we had a supply of hand gel anyway). Ken did ask us not to put suitcases on tatami matting, but not a problem as there is a space in the room for your luggage. You have to pay upfront, but who cares! Another expense you don't need to worry about before your trip and peace of mind for theowner. Initially we were surprised to pay for internet (100Y for 20mins I think), but remember this is not expensive accomodation. In the end it was the cheapest internet we payed for the whole time we were in Japan.

Overall I would definitely recommend Tokyo Ryokan, for those wishing to enjoy beautiful, warm, inviting traditional Japanese accommodation at an extremely reasonable price in a great area with wonderful, helpful friendly hosts. If anything we would hire out all three rooms for sole occupancy next time - we loved it.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bronte001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 11, 2010

My husband and i stayed at Tokyo Ryokan for 5 nights on the first leg of our Japan trip.
It was such a sweet and charming place, very peaceful and quiet. The owners are very nice too and very helpful with shopping tips and access to cheaper train tickets if needed which was a nice touch. The place was immaculate!
The only downside was the sleep quality on the futons, it took a bit of getting used to. After day three i managed to sleep the whole night through without getting a numb bum and legs. Also we could hear people in the other rooms which was a bit annoying but not the fault of the owners because the design of the Ryokan is traditional with paper walls etc. It truly was a really great experience and i would recommend this place to anybody who wants to stay somewhere other than a souless hotel.
Kappabashi Coffee is a must for breakfast. Less than 5 mins walk from Tokyo Ryokan.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stakkakarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taito hotels
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Mystays Ueno Inaricho
Ueno, Asakusa
Andon Ryokan
Andon Ryokan
#9 of 120 in Taito
336 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
The Edo Sakura
The Edo Sakura
#2 of 120 in Taito
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
Ryokan Kamogawa
Ryokan Kamogawa
#28 of 120 in Taito
166 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Palace Japan
Palace Japan
#1 of 13 in Taito
132 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Graphy Nezu
Hotel Graphy Nezu
#8 of 120 in Taito
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tokyo Ryokan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tokyo Ryokan

Property: Tokyo Ryokan
Address: 2-4-8 Nishi Asakusa, Taito 111-0035, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Taito
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tokyo Ryokan has 3 ( three ) Japanese-style rooms, all laid out with tatami floor mats. Couples/Groups/Families can enjoy one of the rooms for private use. Each room is heated in winter, cooled in summer. There is no extra cost for the air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tokyo Ryokan Hotel Taito
Tokyo Ryokan Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing