We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sakura Hotel Ikebukuro
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Toshima
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Excellent accommodations for a low price. What more can you ask? Staff spoke fluent english and were really helpful in suggesting travel routes to various locations, especially if you were as intimidated by Tokyo's rail networks as we were, when we first arrived.

Literally surrounded by numerous convenience stores so you'll be right for ATMs and food.

Room Tip: Ask for the travel booklet at the service desk, which contains local maps for the major 'must-se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MonkeyInAHelmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (473)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

185 - 191 of 473 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2013

Arrived in Tokyo soaked during a pre typhoon rain storm and Sakura was luckily recommended to me. All fine with an array of nationalities there. The choice is a single room or more dorm like economical 8 bed bunk rooms with spacious kitchen areas. Staff were relaxed and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orbitsled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

I stayed there for one week. The single room was small but clean and silent. It's a budget accomodation so you do not get any fancy things but it's not like you spend much time at the hotel. Price was very good for Tokyo. Wi-fi in the room was fine (but not fast enough to make Skype calls). The hotel is very close to ikebukuro station, which allows you to go everywhere in Tokyo by public transport. Only weak points: you do not get a real wardrobe in the room and the room where you csn store luggage before/after checkin is not locked. I would recommend it to any friend visiting tokyo.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
Thank Albert12m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

This is a pretty late review, but we stayed in this hotel sometime last december for about 2 weeks! There wasn't any problems locating the hotel from the map provided on their website, which was about a good 10 mins walk from Ikebukuro station.

Rooms were small, but sufficient & really cleaned everyday. There was once when we left the room supposedly past the cleaning time in the morning, and returned to find it cleaned despite us not putting out the "please clean the room" sign. :)

And I have to say that emails were replied really fast & accurately. We informed the hotel about a parcel which will reach before we arrive & they acknowledged it real fast! We were handed the parcel during check-in without having to ask any questions. Staffs were also really friendly despite it being somewhat troublesome to have to keep handing over the keys before leaving the hotel and collecting it when returning.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jayque33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We just came back from our visit to Japan and stayed in Sakura Hotel in Ikebukuro! We stayed for two weeks and the hotel itself was in really good location! Close to the station, and several exits underground leading to the station. Close to a lot of food places, family marts and 7/11s. The staff were really friendly, even before we arrived at the hotel (They let us send packages/concert tickets to the hotel before we got there and handed them to us as soon as we checked in! We also had a problem with one package and it arrived a week after we arrived, we came back to the hotel with a note on the door saying I had a letter! Very efficient and helpful!). Whenever we had a question, they were very helpful and had maps at the front desk that told you where food places were, as well as electronic stores/book shops etc.

The hotel room wasnt as big as we thought but this was not off putting! There is enough room to put your luggage on the floor and spread it out a bit! The room came with slippers, dressing gown, fridge, tv, A/C - the bathroom was kitted out with towels, toothbrushes, tiny tube of toothpaste, razors (all of which were replenished when the cleaners sorted out the room) - If you didnt want the cleaners to clean, you hung a sign on the door handle and they would leave a bag of fresh towels hanging on the doorhandle! In the hotel building there is Wi-Fi in all the hotel rooms which was good enough to check in on friends and family! The washing machine system was easy to work out (although we got the washing machine and dryer mixed up but the staff were helpful and gave us our money back to use the right one!). You could also rent (for free) a hairdryer, iron, ironing board, umbrellas if you were going out - you just had to give them back before you checked out.

The small cafe downstairs was lovely, and the breakfast in the morning was really good value! 320 yen for unlimited toast, tea/coffee/water and soup. It was an outside terrace cafe so in the mornings it was nice to sit in the fresh air and enjoy breakfast! They also organized a lot of events for guests to get them more involved in japanese culture - we did not participate in anything because we had a full schedule but its nice that they offer this kind of service for guests who want to get to know more about the culture of japan and join a group of people who are interested as well.

We are planning to go back to this hotel next year as we loved the service, the room, the location! We would recommend this hotel to anyone who said they were travelling to Tokyo!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hashirepenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I must say this was the worst hotel during our trip in Japan, overpriced old style dirty location. Also Ikebukuro is not really close by all things you want to visit so you're always force to use the metro/train.

With what you pay for a double room, they cold at lest improve the hotel facility a bit, looks like they never change anything from early 1980s, the carpet had big dark spots, not enough light at the toilet, really noisy A/C and fridge. Ah! and not to forget the open laundry facilities, with special advertising against thief ( so please if they are for the hotel host, close it ;-), as easy as that ).

The only thing they did good, was to give us another room when we discover the sinks, and the shower, was leaking water.

Definitely will not recommend this place.

Room Tip: Avoid the place, better search for another one if you like Ikebukuro or go to Ueno or other places...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank purbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I stayed in this Hotel twice during my time in Japan. The first time I stayed in hostel-like dormitory rooms with a group that I was traveling with. The second time I chose to stay in a single. I'm of mixed minds about this lodging. As noted, it is no frills lodging which means that the pricepoint is generally lower than other places in Tokyo. It's only about a 5 minute walk to the Ikebukuro metro/subway, the second largest station in Tokyo. It's uber convenient to many food and retail destinations, while still being located in a relatively residential area, thus making it a little quieter in the evening.

The dorms were sufficient. They have shower rooms and sinks in the common area for all your daily needs. You must pay for towels if you stay in the dormitory, something that was unexpected. There was also a nice kitchen area for cooking. And the hotel staff were more than accomodating if you needed to use something from the cafe across the way. There was a common area fridge.

The hotel room was less impressive. It was fairly small. They provided a stained Japanese robe that was meant for pajamas (I did not end up wearing it). Sufficient toiletries. Having stayed in the dorms first, I purchased a towel, but they already had them in the room and did not notify me of this. The walls were stained, the air conditioning/heating unit a bit off.

A few other things. I made a reservation for the single during my stay there in the dorm rooms. They lost the reservation and charged me more in price that I had been quoted at an earlier time. That was a disappointment.

While in most Japanese hotels you find the service impeccable, it wasn't great at Sakura. Found that I could get a lot of straight answers or helpful information from staff, or answers often varied from staffperson to staffeperson.

The cafe across adjoining the hotel is delightful. Great for a quick tea or coffee to read a book. You end up running in to a lot of locals who are hangning out. They host an inexpensive, unlimited breakfast of tea, coffee, toast, and broth that is worth it if you want something light.

The hotel's convenient location and the cafe might draw me back should I return to Japan, but my guess is that you can find other business hotels to stay in that offer similar amenities. You should do your research before booking here straight away.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worktotravel14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toshima hotels
Ikebukuro
Centurion Hotel Ikebukuro
Ikebukuro
Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro
Ikebukuro
Hotel Mystays Higashi-Ikebukuro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ikebukuro
APA Hotel Ikebukuro Eki Kitaguchi
Ikebukuro
Super Hotel Lohas Ikebukuro-Eki Kitaguchi
Ikebukuro
Hotel Wing International Ikebukuro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sakura Hotel Ikebukuro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sakura Hotel Ikebukuro

Address: 2-40-7 Ikebukuro, Toshima 171-0014, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Toshima > Ikebukuro
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Toshima
Price Range: $29 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sakura Hotel Ikebukuro 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Rakuten, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sakura Hotel Ikebukuro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sakura Hotel Toshima
Sakura Hotel Ikebukuro Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing