We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sakura Hotel Ikebukuro
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$95
$49
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ryokan 
$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$111
$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$85
$67
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$154
$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$85
$65
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$93
$76
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$89
$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$76
$58
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$85
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (513)
Filter reviews
513 results
Traveler rating
151
234
97
25
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
151
234
97
25
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbudget hotelhour cafeall you can eatbunk bedsdouble roomtrain stationshared bathroomthe hotel staffsimple breakfastcommon kitchenlow pricejr lineyour luggagedefinitely stay here againhotel roomspeak good englishvisit tokyo
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
230 - 235 of 513 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I stayed here for 10 days, not by choice, with a large group. This hotel is quite small, as I know most hotels in Tokyo to be. However, it would be better understood as a hostel, as there are in fact dorm rooms.

The lobby is tiny (4 chairs) and is the only place for you to have WiFi. There is also WiFi in the cafe in the annex building, but they don't let you bring in any outside food or beverages, so get used to paying to consume while you browse. Breakfast is also served in the little cafe and is very basic: bread with jam and butter, coffee or tea, and a random broth they call soup. If you want more than this, just run to the 7-11 on the corner.

The room is big enough to fit one person without suitcases. If you have luggage, prepare to trip over it for the duration of your stay. The room is very basic and dated, but is cleaned daily - not as well as you would expect for Japanese standards however.

To walk to the nearest metro it will take you about 10 minutes, once you learn the way. In the area there are many restaurants and bars within walking distance, so you are not as isolated as you might feel.

I would not recommend this to anyone who has a lot of luggage, or will be doing anything in the hotel other than sleeping (this includes working). If you're a backpacker that is sick of sharing dorm rooms and you want to upgrade to your own room and you have really low standards, then maybe this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I stayed there for 4 nights, and I think this hotel has a good service, environment, and value. All the staffs are friendly, helpful, and speaks english, so there will be no problem if u need help during your stay.

One thing I love from this hotel is the environment and cafe. The cafe is a good place to hang out with your friends or doing some meeting in early morning or even late night. The breakfast and soup is not really delicious but its still good. Free wifi available in the lobby, PCs for rent also available, though its not free.

The hotel is located near to Ikebukuro station, only took 3 or 5 minutes walking. If you feel bored, you can walk around Ikebukuro, there is a game center and lots of convenience store in the hotel's nearby.

Speaking about rooms, I reserved the single room, its really simple and convenient for me, even though the size was small. The toilet also good though it was also very small. I had a good sleeping time here. Greatly recommended!

Thanks for all the staffs who really helped me from the first day!

I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Stayed here with a group of 17 in July 2013. It's only a few minutes walk from Ikebukuro station and the main JR line.

The rooms are relatively small but clean and simple. I was in a Twin room with 2 bunk beds with a shower and toilet en-suite.

It's not expensive and is friendly, clean and well located.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I would have given this place four stars, but I seemed to have gotten a few bug bites. Also overheard some French men talking about their bites as well in the Cafe. This, however, may only be limited to the Annex building since their have two building directly across from each other.

Other than that, I do think the location is great since it is on the Yamanote line, and having used a JR Pass, I was pretty much able to get mostly everywhere I wanted using it. The rooms are also a decent size (I stayed with my girlfriend in a double room). Having come from their Hatagaya location with tiny rooms, their size was adequate.

Tips:
1. You can leave your bags in the main building for a maximum of I think 5 days. There is a room across the check-in counter. The room, however, isn't locked or thoroughly monitored so you might want to bring a bike lock to secure your bags to the racks if you are worried.
2. They have showers for free that the shared rooms use in the lobby that you can use as well if you brought a towel. Soap is provided, and if you don't have a towel you can rent one for 100 yen.
3. Best way to get to hotel from Ikebukuro station: Follow the signs for the Fukutoshin Line(Brown), then you'll eventually go down some stairs/escalator, and see a yellow sign for C1-C10 exits. Take the C6 exit. Walk straight after you're up at street level for about 100 meters and you'll see the red hotel sign on the left.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gnitnuj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

The hotel has a hostel-like touch but with that comes a fair price for a good service, a great location (very close to Ikebukuro train station from where you can reach almost every station within 20 minutes) and a clean room. The room is not very big but I can recommend this place to everyone who needs a good but fair priced place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FreddyFresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews