We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service and good value hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sakura Hotel Ikebukuro
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Toshima
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
1 review
“Excellent service and good value hotel!”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I stayed there for 4 nights, and I think this hotel has a good service, environment, and value. All the staffs are friendly, helpful, and speaks english, so there will be no problem if u need help during your stay.

One thing I love from this hotel is the environment and cafe. The cafe is a good place to hang out with your friends or doing some meeting in early morning or even late night. The breakfast and soup is not really delicious but its still good. Free wifi available in the lobby, PCs for rent also available, though its not free.

The hotel is located near to Ikebukuro station, only took 3 or 5 minutes walking. If you feel bored, you can walk around Ikebukuro, there is a game center and lots of convenience store in the hotel's nearby.

Speaking about rooms, I reserved the single room, its really simple and convenient for me, even though the size was small. The toilet also good though it was also very small. I had a good sleeping time here. Greatly recommended!

Thanks for all the staffs who really helped me from the first day!

I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    206
    94
    22
    5
See reviews for
79
89
108
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Stayed here with a group of 17 in July 2013. It's only a few minutes walk from Ikebukuro station and the main JR line.

The rooms are relatively small but clean and simple. I was in a Twin room with 2 bunk beds with a shower and toilet en-suite.

It's not expensive and is friendly, clean and well located.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I would have given this place four stars, but I seemed to have gotten a few bug bites. Also overheard some French men talking about their bites as well in the Cafe. This, however, may only be limited to the Annex building since their have two building directly across from each other.

Other than that, I do think the location is great since it is on the Yamanote line, and having used a JR Pass, I was pretty much able to get mostly everywhere I wanted using it. The rooms are also a decent size (I stayed with my girlfriend in a double room). Having come from their Hatagaya location with tiny rooms, their size was adequate.

Tips:
1. You can leave your bags in the main building for a maximum of I think 5 days. There is a room across the check-in counter. The room, however, isn't locked or thoroughly monitored so you might want to bring a bike lock to secure your bags to the racks if you are worried.
2. They have showers for free that the shared rooms use in the lobby that you can use as well if you brought a towel. Soap is provided, and if you don't have a towel you can rent one for 100 yen.
3. Best way to get to hotel from Ikebukuro station: Follow the signs for the Fukutoshin Line(Brown), then you'll eventually go down some stairs/escalator, and see a yellow sign for C1-C10 exits. Take the C6 exit. Walk straight after you're up at street level for about 100 meters and you'll see the red hotel sign on the left.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gnitnuj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

The hotel has a hostel-like touch but with that comes a fair price for a good service, a great location (very close to Ikebukuro train station from where you can reach almost every station within 20 minutes) and a clean room. The room is not very big but I can recommend this place to everyone who needs a good but fair priced place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreddyFresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

A fair warning to people that this is a budget hotel not a business hotel. So please don't expect 5 star hotel quality service. Also you will find at most train stations the elevators are hard to find if any. Also with the huge number of exits the elevators are likely only to be at the main exits. It's recommend to use a baggage transfer company. All the hotels and airports do provide them. Based on where you are the costs vary but are reasonable.

This is a good budget hotel. Me and my brother was at this hotel for 4 days. We stayed in a twin room. The room was small but we put our suitcases under the bed. The room includes a small tv, aircon, lan cable, humidifier. Wifi is not accessible in the rooms but is accessible down stairs. You also get a yukata (Sleeping clothes). There is a lift.

The shower is a shower/bath all in one with a toilet. We are rather small and the shower/bath was small. So if you a bigger person its recommend to use the showers for the dorms which are located in the lunch rooms levels. The shower/bath and toilet are in a separate room which is connected to the room. This also includes razes, toothpaste and towels.

There are actually two buildings for this hotel. I believe each building has two lunch rooms is fully working kitchen. We only used it once.

There is a restaurant but we didn't really use them.

The NEX train stops at ikebukuro. If your not using JR Pass the Suci-Nex (only if your staying in Tokyo) combo is ideal for you. Not all the time so be sure to get timetable. Ikebukuro is on the circle route of the jr line. So its easy to access most locations you want to see in Tokyo. The train station is massive. The JR lines run north and south and the subways run east and west. Please correct me if I am wrong. Inside this station there is also two apartment stores. Best way to remember which exit to use is by the apartment stores and the exit number. This hotel is located on the opposite side of sunshine city. Please download the map from the hotel prior to arriving to japan. Trust me if you don't you will get lost.

Japanese people are really nice. So most try and help you. Always good to know well known places like BIC Camera and etc.

Most of the staff have fantastic English. This can't be the said for the other hotels I stayed at. You will find a lot of people in Tokyo can understand basic English. So if English is important for you this hotel is ideal.

This hotel is located in a good location to visit Tokyo. This is a budget hotel. Also this hotel you are not required to pay upfront. So you can in fact pay when you get there.


This is subject to change but to know your going the right way.
pass the following
family mart
7 eleven
and finally two family marts opposite each other.

Room Tip: Lock out for weekly deals or season deals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pandasoft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I totally agree with other recent reviewers on this hotel. Yes, it is a bit run-down establishment and you should not expect the slick and spotlessness of Japanese business hotels. But please be advised that it is located near a large metro station conveniently connected to the entire Tokyo metropolitan area. They regularly run special offers and promotion so I believe this is one of the most affordable place for an extended stay (1+ week) "inside" the city of Tokyo. I stayed in this hotel in a single room for two weeks and quite satisfied with the environment. Since there is a kitchen on the top floor of one of the buildings so use nearby grocery stores to prepare simple meals, which can save you a lot. Also you can easily find take-out bento boxes near the hotel. The cafe on the first floor serves only simple stuff and I do not find any reason to dine there. The staff members are very fluent in English and helpful. Again, it is definitely an affordable hotel for single travelers who want to stay in Tokyo for an extended time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K_Sonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munster, Indiana
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Very unhappy with this place. Run down place. Poor service. Forget the cafe unless you enjoy second hand cigarette smoke.
Food is mediocre. I regret staying in this place. This place is definitely for the budget conscious but I would recommend spending a little more to stay in a better place.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsn888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toshima hotels
Ikebukuro
Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro
Ikebukuro
Centurion Hotel Ikebukuro
Ikebukuro
APA Hotel Ikebukuro Eki Kitaguchi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ikebukuro
Hotel Mystays Higashi-Ikebukuro
Ikebukuro
Super Hotel Lohas Ikebukuro-Eki Kitaguchi
Ikebukuro
The B Ikebukuro
The B Ikebukuro
#7 of 55 in Toshima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sakura Hotel Ikebukuro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sakura Hotel Ikebukuro

Property: Sakura Hotel Ikebukuro
Address: 2-40-7 Ikebukuro, Toshima 171-0014, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Toshima > Ikebukuro
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Toshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sakura Hotel Ikebukuro 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Orbitz, Rakuten, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sakura Hotel Ikebukuro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sakura Hotel Toshima
Sakura Hotel Ikebukuro Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing