We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable. Convenient. Cheap.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sakura Hotel Ikebukuro
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Toshima
Manila, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable. Convenient. Cheap.”
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Knowing that Japan is one of the most expensive countries to live in the world, I thought all of the hotels would be very expensive too. I was very surprised to find Sakura Hotel Ikebukuro online with good reviews and good prices. So me and my friends gave it a try. We stayed there last March, 2012.

First the hotel rooms, we opted for the private rooms which comes with a private bathroom. The room is small but very comfortable. The bed was cozy and comfortable, we stayed there for 5 nights and I slept very well. The room also had really fast internet access from a LAN cable. I was getting speeds of up to 7mbps that time when I was using it; really fast. This made me even more happier with their service because I had to work for a few hours one night on my laptop.

The bathroom was small but very clean which I really liked because I am very particular with that. We were very happy with the room.

The hotel staff were very friendly, they spoke and understood english and were very friendly and helpful as well!

The hotel was conveniently located near the Subway exit and near a lot of good restaurants as well. There we a lot of convenience stores nearby too like Family Mart and 7/11.

I would definitely recommend this hotel if you're looking for a cheap hotel in Tokyo.

Room Tip: The hotel has wifi access only on the lobby so if you choose a room on the second floor, you get fre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robertsol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    201
    93
    22
    4
See reviews for
77
87
106
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Great for group of friends to stay together. Especially those on budget.

Room Tip: As wifi is only availdable in the lobby, the room 101 and 102 on the first level will be good, if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rtjz84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
89 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

I stayed here during my Study Abroad trip for a week. We moved to two seperate rooms and we had a great time here. The rooms I stayed in were standard bunk beds. Outside in the common area was a mirror and sink area for us girls to stand and brush our teeth, fix our hair, etc. There was a separate toilet area and a shower area, in addition to a large communal kitchen and a little seating area off to the side. The staff was very kind and spoke English. They were extremely helpful to us during our stay.

I highly recommend staying here! It's relatively close to the subway and near TONS and TONS of restaurants/bars/shopping! I loved it!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2011

Overall Sakura is a good hotel for those traveling on a budget. It's typical Tokyo, compact room, compact bathroom. The thing is it has everything that you need. There is free internet, and a restaurant as well.

Another plus was when it was raining out they let us borrow an umbrella.

So in summary, yes it's spartan but if you're looking for good budget accommodations in Tokyo, this is a great option.

Room Tip: You're in Tokyo, they're all small!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cclemens31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Hotel is close to the station, staff was very kind and easy to work with and the room was very clean and orderly. The room was very small with an even smaller shower, but the room was a single for a great value. I stayed here spontaneously, but walk-in reservations were very easy. If you are looking for good economy accommodations, this place does pretty well.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

Staff were friendly and willing to help. Rooms were clean; shower room was small.
Near to metro station. The hotel also near to supermarket in which you can get cheap snacks.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aarontanek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

I am not the most picky person when it comes to accommodation especially when I don't plan to spend a great deal of time in it. I do however love clean bathrooms and the ones in the Sakura hostel part were great. I was on the 7th floor and the toilets were impeccable. The shower rooms were completely clean and never busy.
The staff were also helpful and friendly. I was in a dorm room with 5 others and everyone was friendly.
I couldn't give Sakura 5 stars because there were no lockers in the dorm room and very little space to put your stuff. These things are important for security and my peace of mind.
I would definitely stay here again as the area was convenient and the room price cheap.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bethybobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toshima hotels
Ikebukuro
Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro
Ikebukuro
Centurion Hotel Ikebukuro
Ikebukuro
APA Hotel Ikebukuro Eki Kitaguchi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ikebukuro
Hotel Mystays Higashi-Ikebukuro
Ikebukuro
Super Hotel Lohas Ikebukuro-Eki Kitaguchi
Ikebukuro
Tokyu Stay Ikebukuro
Tokyu Stay Ikebukuro
#5 of 55 in Toshima
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sakura Hotel Ikebukuro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sakura Hotel Ikebukuro

Property: Sakura Hotel Ikebukuro
Address: 2-40-7 Ikebukuro, Toshima 171-0014, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Toshima > Ikebukuro
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Toshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sakura Hotel Ikebukuro 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Rakuten, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sakura Hotel Ikebukuro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sakura Hotel Toshima
Sakura Hotel Ikebukuro Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing