We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to get up close with cats”
Review of Nekobukuro

Nekobukuro
Ranked #98 of 154 things to do in Toshima
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nekobukuro is like a cat cafe, but minus the cafe. It is a cat petting zoo.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Enjoyed the variety of cats they've got,while not all cats are out at all times, you can still see them through the windows as they rest within their own room.

As another reviewer noted, the cats are not as 'friendly' as a paying customer might expect, but I believe it's rather unfair to expect them to interact with strangers or "like you" upon first encounter. It was a pleasant time simply being able to observe and being able to get up close with the cats.

Date of experience: July 2014
Thank yang y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
Filter

11 - 15 of 46 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2014

Nekobukuro was my first experience with a cat cafe, and almost my last. First off, it was hard to find and poorly marked. I walked around Tokyo Hands for almost 30 minutes before realizing where it was. They charged by the hour (I don't remember the exact figure, but it was over 1000 yen). I barely stayed 45 minutes. The cats were bored with people and didn't even respond to you if you went up to them. The coffee is from a vending machine and it's not good. It's mostly clean, but it does smell like pee, which I guess is understandable. There were obviously cats jammed into the back room of the cafe, because you could hear pitiful meows through the wall, which was disconcerting. Try another cat cafe.

Date of experience: November 2013
2  Thank Elena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of experience: October 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2018
Google Translation

Date of experience: August 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of experience: July 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nekobukuro also viewed

 

Been to Nekobukuro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing