We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean room in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro
Ranked #3 of 55 Hotels / Ryokan in Toshima
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice clean room in great location”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

We stayed for a week in this hotel, great location close to the train station. Beds were very comfortable and staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms weren't huge especially as we had a triple room but they were adequate.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank lacch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    714
    185
    44
    18
See reviews for
368
357
163
265
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

When on holiday I'd like to see different parts of a city or country. So when I stayed in Tokyo for several weeks, I booked a hotel in the "Ikebukero" neighbourhood for a change. Having read horrifying reviews of the Sunshine City Prince Hotel (the most obvious choice on this area), I opted for the Metropolitan.

How to find this hotel: take the Metropolitan exit from Ikebukuro station. Go left (in the direction of "Italian Tomato Cafe"), follow the road for about 100 metres. That's it! Take any other exit from this vast station and you'll be so lost the best solution is to take a taxi.

Ikebukuro differs from the centre of Tokyo by having less high rise buildings. Yet, the Metropolitan Hotel is huge! The lobby has numerous restaurants and several shops. The place has a 60s or 70s style about it, don't expect anything modern.

Like most Japanese hotels, the Metropolitan is very scrict about checkin and checkout times. Checkin is at 3 o'clock and not a second before. People queue up in the lobby until it is three o'clock and then everyone wants to check in at once. Complete chaos! I know this is how it works in Japan, but I still don't understand why.

I booked a "superior room" (#2329). Having spend some nights in this room I wonder what a basic room would be like. There's nothing superior about a "superior" room! It is basic, simple and functional. There's barely space to unpack big suitcases, there's a table and a sofa. There's no desk to work at, nor is their an abundance of closet space (the "closet" is a curtain with some coat-hangers behind it). The safe isn't bolted down, so anyone can steal the safe and later find out what valuables are in it. Having booked this room for one person, there was only enough (bed) linnen for just one person. Don't I dare bring a friend! The bed was unusually soft for Japanese standards, the pillows were rock hard (my advice: bring your own).

The room doesn't have a minibar, but instead there is an empty fridge. One can buy drinks from the vending machine in the hallway (which charges about double the amount of a vending machine down the street). The bakery in the lobby sells decent bread, even for European standards (and that's rare in Japan). The bakery in the nearby Tobu department store sells bread that actually is at European standards.

Would I recommend this hotel? Perhaps. While there's nothing wrong with the Metropolitan, there's nothing exceptionally good about it either. A fair room at a fair price, that's all.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank i0kan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo for three nights in May 2014. It was a nice clean hotel, rooms are compact but that's to be expected in Japan.

Check in process was easy. I had booked online via Agoda. Also, they presented me with my pocket wifi parcel when I checked in. They had it ready and I didn't even need to ask.

I requested a high floor room, which gave us great views over Tokyo. Before arriving, I emailed the hotel regarding a few different queries and they were quick to respond.

Ikebukuro is good location, close to the action of Shibuya/Shinjuku, but the area is quieter. I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Salamandra85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

These were the things we liked about staying at the Metropolitan hotel:

Efficient and gracious personnel

Having a view of Mount Fuji from our 15th floor window. It was only visible twice during our week's stay but was a magical sight.

Served by regular limousine bus from Narita (there is a new promotion on the service for overseas visitors buying return tickets at the airport; this brings the price down by about a quarter).

A Continental breakfast served in a quieter part of the ground floor restaurant. This seemed to us a much better option than fighting our way to the buffet with the tour groups. Coffee, a large juice, and a really good quality croissant, Danish, and sweet bun, jam and marmalade, are served to your table for about 1,500 yen

Very close to the Metropolitan Art Space

A copy of "Japan News", in English, is delivered to your room each morning

Ikebukuro is an excellent transport hub. The station is anchored by four huge department stores

The hotel's bakery shop - wonderful cakes and good savoury breads

Frank Lloyd Wright's Jiyugakuen Myonichikan is just a few minutes walk south of the hotel. If you've any interest in architecture, you'll appreciate being able to make such an easy visit from the hotel

There were only two things we weren't so happy about:

There was a little shop selling souvenirs, postcards etc near the lobby. It was the only store in Japan where we weren't greeted each time we entered. The store was laid out as if it was a temporary store or stock room rather than a shop although a lot of the items on sale were perfectly nice. The other stores, the bakery, and the hairdresser in the hotel's shopping arcade were as bright and smart as you would expect in a large city hotel. Strange that there should have been an exception.

Our room! The aged decor was dispiriting. But the main issue was its size and layout. We had booked the room through one of the online agencies which described the room as a "small double". Having carefully studied the hotel's website, I believe that the hotel itself more honestly describes the same room as a "single". If you think this is the hotel for you, then do look carefully at all the room descriptions and photos before booking to avoid disappointment...

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Voyager190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Location is an advantage with direct airport limousine bus to both Haneda & Narita. It is also close to the Ikebukuro station. The service was prompt & efficient but not friendly (language is probably an issue).

The room was small and tight (I had a double room with single occupancy). There was no English tea or Coffee in the room (could make Japanese green tea though). For a business hotel this should be definitely a minimum. I did get an English Newspaper though. The Wi-Fi paid connection was variable. Overall not a top facility.

My big disappointment was the long Q for entry to the breakfast restaurant. first day it was almost 50 people in the Q. The next day it was down to about 15. The main reason was they were not able to clear the table and get people in quickly. The breakfast spread was average.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKelkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tangerang selatan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Location great.....all the hotel staffs so incredible helpfull truly friendly....we should granting the hotel staffs the big 10...Marvelous...and the management should have given the staffs excellent bonus and plus plus.....

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank rfanwar62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We found this hotel to be a great location, not far to the train station. The staff also were helpful we needed to get in touch with transport company so the staff assisted as we could not print off voucher from our iPad. Only issue is room does not have kitchenette! if that is what you require.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toshima
Ikebukuro
Centurion Hotel Ikebukuro
Ikebukuro
Sunshine City Prince Hotel
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#12 of 82 in Shinjuku
1,285 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 111 in Minato
3,140 reviews
Ikebukuro
The B Ikebukuro
The B Ikebukuro
#7 of 55 in Toshima
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro

Property: Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro
Address: 1-6-1 Nishiikebukuro, Toshima 171-8505, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Toshima > Ikebukuro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Toshima
#2 Business Hotel in Toshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro 4*
Number of rooms: 807
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Orbitz, JAPANiCAN, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Toshima
Metropolitan Tokyo Hotel
Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing