We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and Convenient” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro
Ranked #3 of 55 Hotels / Ryokan in Toshima
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Comfortable and Convenient”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

I stayed here toward the end of March when the hotel was very crowded for graduation season but it was very comfortable and service was good. The room was much larger than I expected for a single and I had wi-fi in the room.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sasha123123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    671
    175
    38
    17
See reviews for
342
338
152
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

It is on the west side from ikebukuro station. Very well connected by the 'circle' line (metro). Loads of eating places nearby.

Hotel room was decent though compact size and clean.

Only drawback - no free wifi in the room. It is available in the lobby. This makes the lobby a bit crowded in the late evenings!

Of the three places I have stayed in (akasuka, ginza and ikebukuro ), I liked this location the most! Very convenient and pleasant surroundings. Please note, the east side is not as chilled out as the west side of ikebukuro.

Electronic shopping was great in BIC camera near the hotel! Got duty free and further discount. Better than Akihabara.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VLqvc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

Excellent hotel that we used as "base-camp" to start our family vacation in Japan. We reserved two-connected rooms and were very satisfied. Reservation made on-line followed with communication by E-mail. Check in and out were simple and quick !

Rooms are spacious, facilities and amenities are excellent. Access is superb (directly from Narita by Airport Limousine Bus, 5 minutes walk from Ikebukuro station). Choices of restaurants and convenient stores are abundant.

Staffs were super friendly and helpful. They helped us to plan our day trips, transfer our luggages to Osaka, etc.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teddy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

This was our third stay at the Metropolitan in Ikebukuro, and we once again found it to be the perfect base to explore Tokyo. Ikebukuro may not be the most glamorous district but the transport connections are excellent, the shopping is superb and there are great cafes, bars and restaurants. Rooms in the metropolitan might be a little on the small side (but not not bad for Tokyo). The service in the hotel is excellent and everything is clean and very comfortable. If you're looking for a great base at a decent price you could do a lot worse.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Penfoldio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

This is my second review, the room seemed a little larger then the first time but it has not been refurbished. During this season the A/C is turned off and only the heater is available. My room was a little stuffy so I opened the windows at night. Awakened by wailing sirens and Emergency crew on the loudspeaker communicating their intended movement to other drivers, pedestrians and bicyclists. I thought an earthquake or tsunami was coming. Convenient location to JR rail.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank HonoluluMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

I stay in this hotel due to its convenience location, and it never let me down in terms of the room cleanness and the room size. The check-in process is quite smooth but the staff is neither courteous nor friendly. Moreover, no one is helping me to carry my luggage to the room.
The internet connection is another problem that I encounter during my stay. I use the free internet access at the lobby and the speed is quite slow. In short, I will stay in this hotel again, however, don't expect the welcome greeting and friendly staff at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hellotravelbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
115 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

Stayed at this hotel five minutes from Ikebukuro station for three nights as we wanted to be within reasonable distance to commute to an event in Saitama. If you arrive in to Narita Airport, I would strongly recommend taking the direct coach (known as a limousine bus) to the hotel door as it is only slightly more expensive than taking a train and spares you the effort of having to find your bearings and negotiate the crowds on the trains and in the station, especially if you have a decent amount of lugggage.

H and I arrived on an evening flight and were able to check into our room immediately on arrival. We stayed in a superior room and the size was perfectly fine for us with two suitcases and two carry-on bags. I think the key to hotels in Japan and Tokyo in particular is to choose the best room you can afford if you want space. Then again, you are in Tokyo so you're not going to be spending much time in your room! The category of room we chose had complimentary wi-fi included and this is very important to us whenever we travel.

We got a wonderful surprise on our first morning when we opened our curtains and were able to see Mount Fuji from our windows in the distance. Fortunately, it was a bright and sunny day! The room was quite and we slept very soundly,

The hotel is a short five minute walk from Ikebukuro station which has connections to pretty much everywhere in Tokyo you need to go. Get a Suica card at the station and top it up as you need for your public transport needs. You can also use the balance you have left over in some shops that have a Suica reader at the cash register.

The hotel staff were what you would expect in Japan - helpful and polite. Didn't have any problems at all during our stay which is just the way it should be. Didn't dine at the hotel as there are lots of options from fast food all the way to higher end right on your doorstep. Would not hesitate to stay at Hotel Metropolitan again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sdublin4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toshima
Ikebukuro
Centurion Hotel Ikebukuro
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Ikebukuro
Sunshine City Prince Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ikebukuro
The B Ikebukuro
The B Ikebukuro
#5 of 55 in Toshima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#11 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
#8 of 74 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro

Property: Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro
Address: 1-6-1 Nishiikebukuro, Toshima 171-8505, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Toshima > Ikebukuro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Toshima
#2 Business Hotel in Toshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro 4*
Number of rooms: 807
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Rakuten, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Toshima
Metropolitan Tokyo Hotel
Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing