We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in great district”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro
Ranked #3 of 56 Hotels / Ryokan in Toshima
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 3, 2014

This is a wonderful hotel with excellent facilities and restaurants. Rooms are a good size and you can control temperature which seems to be unusual in Japan. Breakfast is not cheap but is great. Very close to public transport which makes it easy to get around Toyko. It is located near Ikeburo which is fantastic for eating out. Highly recommend it.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,495)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

439 - 445 of 1,495 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2014

We had our travel agent book this hotel. While dealing with the travel agent "Qantas Vacations", i had consulted with friends who had lived in Tokyo and chose this one based on price. This hotel is one of the hotels where there is bus service from Narita Airport. Tour buses stop here to pickup people. We took the escorted tour bus to Mt. Fuji, a one day trip. The hotel offers very good Asian and Western buffet breakfast. We did not opt for the breakfast option with the room rent. Later we found that having the buffet breakfast is more economical than a la carte. The rooms, though small were comfortable with a very nice bath room. The hotel is exceptionally clean and the staff extremely polite and courteous. Surprise, the bell boys do not expect tips and if you give them, they take it in order not to offend you. There is a train station within a few blocks "Ikebukuro" if you want to take public transportation. One thing we found out, a cup of coffee cost us 1000 yen or almost $10. If you cross the road it is 350 yen

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank skrajan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

This is a good hotel for the Ikebukuro area of Tokyo, within walking distance of the train station, metro and all shopping, restaurants, etc. Originally booked a standard room which was extremely small, tiny bed, no storage, so felt we had little choice but to upgrade to a superior room. Well worth the money as it was large, comfortable with great views over the city.
Service was ok. Didn't eat or drink at the hotel as there are plenty of good options nearby. It's very busy hotel so had to wait at reception several times, but overall nice enough for a short stay in Tokyo.

Room Tip: Get a superior one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AllisonTuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Going to Tokyo for first timer is a big headache as cost of taxi fare from Narita Airport to Hotel is exhorbitant and could be more expensive than the hotel you are staying. Remember everything in Japan is expensive and probably small. So we need to be nearer to the main railway, subway and airport limousine services and Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo in Ikebukuro, Toshima Japan has all these. Consider it a jackpot to move around at ease as all these lines are steps away from the hotel and if you travel with big luggage the airport limousine will deliver you right at the door step of the hotel.
There are numerous shopping around the hotel area known as iIkebukuro, a lot of dining establishments and convenient stores nearby. The breakfast is fabulous and fantastic with great selection of Japanese and Western choices and make sure you book the room inclusive. of breakfast. Hotel room is Japan could be small so do not complain - if not pay a little bit more and stay in a bigger. Don't expect the cheapest and get the biggest, not in Japan. Rooms are perfectly clean Japanese style - always clean.
The best room should be the one facing the railway station as they are lower than the hotel, otherwise you will be facing another high rise building or without any scenery at all.
Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo suit me well and I am planning to return in the next visit - it is comfort extraordinary in busy Tokyo.....

Saharudin Mohd Toha
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Stay in September 2013 [Group travel]

Room Tip: Room facing the Railway Station should be better as it is lower than the hotel but any room should b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SAHARUDIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We stayed in the Metropolitan with a family of five for two nights and loved the location. Really nice hotel modern with lovely staff. Rooms were small but lovely. Was so close to restaurants and Ikebukuro Station. I would definitely book here again.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We enjoyed our stay in the Hotel Metropolitan at Ikebukuro. Conveniently located, this hotel offered good service and comfortable room.

Pros:
1) Right across the street was one of the main train/ subway station (Yamanote Line).
2) Also across the street was access to department stores such as TOBU, LUMINE and Seibu . Even if you dislike shopping, most have quite decent restaurants and cafes. We had one cold rainy night which we decided to just eat there. Regular Japanese café chain like Doutor Coffee were also closed by.
3) For those coming from the airport: the popular airport bus "Airport Limousine Bus" stops at this hotel.
4) The room was quite big in Japanese standard.
5) Lots of amenities, and free Wi-Fi.
6) When we booked the hotel, I asked for those room that had the bed right against the wall, explaining that we have a 1 year old kid. Not only we got the room we requested, they also added additional bed guards. A showcase of Japanese' attention to details.

Cons:
Not much. Ikebukuro may not be as crazy as Ginza, but it is still very lively.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chies1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Overall, we thought The Metropolitan was a good hotel and a great base if you are visiting Tokyo for the first time because of it location alone and how accessible it is to Ikebukuro station!

Pros
Complimentary wi-fi – so handy to plan your days

Few minute walk to Ikebukuro station - three subway and multiple urban and suburban train lines which makes it easy to get to anywhere! Make sure to take the rear exit of the hotel

Bakery located near the lobby major shopping centres located close to the hotel – convenient if you do not have breakfast included in your room rate

Major shopping centres and shops located close to the hotel - reasonably priced food choices and nice shopping

Narita Airport Bus Limousine drops you off directly at the front of the hotel – find the Narita Airport Bus Limousine ticket stand and let them know you’re going to Ikebukuro, Hotel Metropolitan which will be about a 1 hour ride. Catching a taxi is expensive and after an uncomfortable 10 hour flight we didn’t want to worry about the metro

Awesome shower pressure and good bathroom amenities

Cons
Concierge was only knowledgeable in the basics; how to get to Disneyland via subway. They found it difficult to give suggestions for requests in things like recommending a great Chinese restaurant other than the one located in their hotel etc. I hope they improve on this. We ended up using their complimentary wifi most of the time to help us plan our days

The restaurants in the hotel are quite expensive and in my opinion, not very good value. Food isn’t that great compared to the prices they charge. It will disappoint. Better to just walk around the area and find somewhere that takes your fancy

It is true, the beds are super hard

A lot of people have commented about how small the rooms are, but honestly, it’s pretty standard in Tokyo. If you’re looking for spacious, then please be prepared to pay extra. For us, staying in a double superior room for 5 nights was comfortable enough

Room Tip: Remember to stress for a non-smoking room if it is your preference
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danzelldc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toshima
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
#9 of 79 in Chiyoda
2,077 reviews
Ikebukuro
Centurion Hotel Ikebukuro
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mitsui Garden Hotel Ginza Premier
Yotsuya / Iidabashi
Hotel Metropolitan Edmont Tokyo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#11 of 96 in Chuo
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro

Address: 1-6-1 Nishiikebukuro, Toshima 171-0021, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Toshima > Ikebukuro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Toshima
#2 Business Hotel in Toshima
Price Range: $113 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro 4*
Number of rooms: 807
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located for leisure and business travelers, only 3 minutes’ walk from Ikebukuro station, one of major hubs in Tokyo. Direct access from Narita and Haneda airports by the Airport Limousine Bus. Four department stores, shops, restaurants and bars are nearby. Great location for shopping and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Toshima
Metropolitan Tokyo Hotel
Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing