We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable & Convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro
Ranked #3 of 56 Hotels / Ryokan in Toshima
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 12, 2014

From Narita airport, we purchased limousine bus tickets to Hotel Metropolitan. In rush hour traffic, it took close to one hour to reach the hotel.

Hotel pros:
- Great location / close proximity to Ikebukuro metro station along the JR Line
- Free wifi in lobby
- It's very easy to exchange currency at a machine located in the lobby (the machine does not accept Canadian dollars)
- Clean, quiet room
- Washroom was fully stocked with toiletries (toothbrushes, combs, etc.)
- Shiseido brand of facewash was available in the washroom

Room Tip: As per the Japanese standard, rooms can be quite small. Rather than booking a queen bed, ask for 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdventureAffinity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,490)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

444 - 450 of 1,491 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2014

The place is a tricky to find if you are going here by the JR, just follow the signs all the way from the station up to the Lumine shopping mall. Check in process is breezy and the staff is very efficient. No hassle. There is a MOS burger just right in front of the hotel if you are running low on energy fuel. Or just swing by the family mart or lawson just along the hotels. WIFI is free as well but you need to type in every time which is inconvenient, but oh well i am not fussy user. There is airport limousine that goes straight to Narita/Haneda airport for travelers that would want the quickest way to the airport, the bell captain will be there to assist you. And, make sure you take the conversational book that is available at the front desk, it will help a lot in your conversational skill!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephjpol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Located in a nice area with local restaurants across the street. Good range of facilities within hotel including a shopping arcade.

Be warned that the single rooms are uniquely Japan - these are about half the size of what get everywhere else in Asia. Besides a small single bed, there is hardly any room to place or open up your luggage and the bathroom is too small to include a bathtub. For business travelers, there is no proper working desk so do consider paying more for a bigger normal room.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Y880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Nice hotel on all accounts. Central location, at a Limousine Bus/Shuttle and major train & metro stop. Lively neighborhood.

Their Internet is really fussy though. While free, you need a password to access the lobby wifi (dont tell me it is to thwart terrorists with the dozens of cameras staring at everyone's moves). Even your own room's wifi requires a password (eg ikebukuor93499350 - good luck not fat fingering that on an iPhone), plus you need to agree to the wifi TOS in Japanese.

Why make it so user unfriendly? The Sheraton figured it out by just leaving theirs wide open.....

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

My friend and I visited Japan for our very first time in September, and we were truly excited because we have got an impression that the Japanese are more often than not very friendly and helpful.

We arrived in Tokyo at about 7am, and by the time we got to our hotel, it's around 9am. My first impression was the lobby was stunning, but unfortunately we couldn't check into our rooms (check in time is at 2pm), but was informed that we could leave our luggage at their bell counter. We decided to check the Ikebukuro out to kill some time.

We got back at 2pm, our room is ready to be checked in. The process was quick and easy, the service was pleasant and wonderful. The hotel ran out of staff to bring our luggage up with us, and so we offered to do it ourselves. They immediately insisted that they would do it for us, and invited us up to our room, so we obliged.

The room was, to be honest, smaller than I'd expected, but not to the point of being uncomfortable. Minutes later, our luggage came. We spent our next 4 nights with this hotel before visiting Osaka, and then back at this hotel for another 5 nights.

Coming back from Osaka, and back at this hotel, the counter staff recognised us (much to our surprise), and asked us how our trip to Osaka was. The fact that she could remember us as their clients and our trip itinerary impressed me considering the sheer amount of people they had to serve.

I love my visit to Japan, and this is a huge part of it. Loving the service that people display here and the amount of respect they show to others.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RickySom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 9 nights in a superior queen room and nothing to complain about. Great location!
Limousine bus from Narita airport stops right at the hotel's entrance - very convenient especially we were traveling with a toddler and didn't want to lug suitcases and a pram through Ikebukuro station. There are at least 3 convenience stores not even a 2minute walk from the hotel.

We used the back entrance of the hotel to get to Ikebukuro train station via the Lumine dept store which is at the South Exit of Ikebukuro Train station. Lots of food choices around the hotel, we never went hungry.

We found the service to be professional but friendly and always with a smile.
The room we were given was on the 20th floor, no smell of stale smoke at all there so maybe book on higher floors. Wifi was included in room charge although we thought that it should be free for all types of rooms.

The room size is cozy, but big by Tokyo standards. Bed soft enough for us, but after a full day of sightseeing everyday I didn't notice if the bed or pillows were hard at all. I like that they had a humidifier/air purifier in the room. Bathroom is a good size and clean with good quality shampoo, conditioner & body soap in big pump bottles.
Housekeeping is commendable for their attention to detail. After the first night, they noticed that there were children's shoes in the room and when we returned in the afternoon there were little slippers and kids' toothbrushes for the little one.
We will definitely return to this hotel when we come back to Tokyo!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wandermum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

PROS
-Great location, right next to Ikebukuro station. The mall is right across the street and on the 9th floor there are lots of restaurants, good variety too. The downside is that they don't open til 11am.
-The hotel buffet is great but breakfast is only served 'til 10.
-For $30 dollars you can take the bus directly to Narita airport which beats the train especially if you have a lot of luggage (and a baby). The concierge can help you arrange this.
-Very friendly and helpful staff
-There is also a Family Mart and Lawsons (which are kind of like small grocery stores) literally within a block.

CONS
-Rooms are VERY small. In hindsight I should have upgraded my room because my husband and I went with our 1 yr old so she very little room to move.
-Even though our room was non smoking we could still smell the smoke in the hallways (from the smoking rooms). Inside the room was fine though.

SIDE TRIP NOTES:
MT FUJI
For those of you that want to take a trip to Mt Fuji, you need to go to the Shinjuku station and from there locate the bus station which is on the West side. We got to the bus station by just asking outside of the train station. Nobody in the train station speaks English so your best best is to venture outside.

TOKYO SKY TOWER
This was the craziest most busiest tour site we did. Heres how it works:
We got there at 11am then we had to line up just to get our time slot cards. These are cards that tell you what time you have to line up and buy the tickets to get in the tower. Our time slot was at 3:30pm. We got in line at this hour and it was about a 30-40 min wait just to buy the tickets. After this, you line up to go up to the elevator which was another 25-30 minutes. So basically it was like waiting in line for a ride at Disneyland. All I can say is that it was worth it. There are lots of shops and restaurants below the tower, sort of like a tourist trap but at least there is something to do. Nearby is the Asahi building which was cool to go take some pictures. I suppose you can also take the hop on hop off bus which drops you off close to the place and while you wait go see other sites but stay close because if you are late you have to wait in line again for another time slot.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a bigger room as the standard room is super small. We didn't spend enough time in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toshima
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
#9 of 78 in Chiyoda
2,076 reviews
Ikebukuro
Centurion Hotel Ikebukuro
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mitsui Garden Hotel Ginza Premier
Yotsuya / Iidabashi
Hotel Metropolitan Edmont Tokyo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#11 of 96 in Chuo
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro

Address: 1-6-1 Nishiikebukuro, Toshima 171-0021, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Toshima > Ikebukuro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Toshima
#2 Business Hotel in Toshima
Price Range: $111 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro 4*
Number of rooms: 807
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located for leisure and business travelers, only 3 minutes’ walk from Ikebukuro station, one of major hubs in Tokyo. Direct access from Narita and Haneda airports by the Airport Limousine Bus. Four department stores, shops, restaurants and bars are nearby. Great location for shopping and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Ctrip TA, JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Toshima
Metropolitan Tokyo Hotel
Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing