We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High-end triple reasonably priced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro
Ranked #3 of 55 Hotels / Ryokan in Toshima
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“High-end triple reasonably priced”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The Hotel Metropolitan is an enormous, modern hotel without "traditional" Japanese character. However, the facilities are new, the bathrooms luxurious (by Japanese standards) and they provided yukata, slippers and all the bathroom amenities a person could possibly need. While all Japanese hotel rooms are smaller than American rooms, we were comfortable in our triple (2 parents and a teenager) provided that we all followed two rules - each person living out of his/her own suitcase, and all dirties and shoes in the closet - which kept the small amount of open floor space clear for walking.

The location in Ikebukuro was outstanding. Steps to the second-busiest station in Tokyo, transport on both subway and JR lines (as well as private lines) was breezy. The hotel is also between two convenience stores, so we were able to stock the inroom fridge with cold drinks. Breakfast in all hotels is pricey, so we went out for much cheaper set-menus for breakfast, all within just a few meters of the hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in 3 hotels in Japan and found that nonsmoking is a request that is fulfilled on a first-c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ming A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    707
    184
    43
    18
See reviews for
358
355
163
260
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

International 4 stars hotel.
Honestly, i still prefer those Japan 3-4 stars hotel as the atmosphere is feels like you're in Japan.
but in this hotel, you'll feel like you are in the world.haha, if you know what i mean.
This is just my feeling, feel free to disagree with me.
Ikebukuro is a congested city, i like to watch people walking on the streets from the hotel room.
The location of this hotel is very nice, South exit from Ikebukuro Station and walk 3mins to get to the hotel.
Parco, Seibu, Tobu and Lumine is just in front of hotel.
You will no need to worry can't find a place to eat and supermarket is available in these shopping complex.
Since this is an international standard hotel, the facilities is similar with others international hotel.
Haha

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chungling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

BASICALLY...
I have stayed in this hotel twice in two years due to it being a pretty good hotel in terms of room size, amenities and location.

ROOM TYPE
Superior Room

ROOM
-the room was slight larger than standard Japanese hotels
-very comfortable bed
-the pillows were abit flat for my liking
-good size bathroom
-the toilet was a Japanese style one with buttons and options
-furnishing and sofa appeared worn out and aged

VIEW
-could see the great Tokyo city for several miles with no tall buildings obstructing the view

AMENITIES
-free wifi but the connection wasn't very fast
-I liked the Japanese kimono style bathrobes
-good quality and large supply of toiletries such as shampoo and bodywash


LOCATION
-very good location; walkable distance to train stations
-close to convenient stores, restaurants and parks

SERVICE
-all the staff we came across were very nice, polite and attentive
-the concierge team was especially outstanding

FOOD
-there was a large restaurant on the ground floor of the hotel; we ate the buffet dinner there once, the food was not bad but we'd suggest venturing out of the hotel because there are so many options around the neighbourhood

CLEANLINESS
-the bedding and linen were clean
-the room was very clean

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hayleylilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spore
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Have always stayed in this hotel over my several visit to Tokyo. Facts to my choice;

1) Ikebukuro is as busy as you will get with big malls and shops.
2) Shinjuku hotel are too costly compared to ikebukuro hotel sizes.Metropolitan is near to ikebukro station just behind metropolitan plaza.
3) Food near ikebukuro is good.
4) Narita express goes direct to ikebukuro which helps in avoiding transporting your luggage to the others less major station but do not travel beyond 6 pm by narita express as it will not stop at ikebukuro. My brother have that experience and he needs to travel the normal JR to ikebukuro which at that time is very pack. It is for this reason that i prefer NArita express to this location and I could transport the luggage easily with no staircase worries as you cold take the escalator after exiting the station and travel another 5 mins to the hotel. A breeze. :)
5) At times this hotel can be expensive and they have maintain the location well since my last stay in 1991.

overall great and you may actually see the mount fuji in the morning from the hotel...

Room Tip: high floor non smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank budtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Plenty of mini stops and malls around. Nothing great on their service as staff were lazy and unhelpful during check in and check out(which is rare in Japan I think) don't think why ratings were so good on this hotel but all I can say is that if you're looking for a hotel with great location go for it if not stay elsewhere!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Location - close to JR station with lots of amenities around. 3 huge malls, coffee shops and eating joints.

Rooms were well kept but aircon can be weak. Had to call for assistance to help check.

Concierge service was good and very helpful with requests - keep it up !

Front desk - weakest link and major letdown. Very cold and no attempt to send a welcome to tourist. Note: hotel a stickler for 11am checkout. No extension granted unless you choose to pay ( yes, even for an hour)

Breakfast not included so unable to comment but close-by lots of coffee shops :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

The room is big when compare to other Japanese hotels, room is a outdated. However, the service we receive was spectacular. The service definitely was the best during our trip in Japan; and yet, this hotel is the lowest star rating throughout our trip. Would recommend this hotel anytime.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toshima
Ikebukuro
Centurion Hotel Ikebukuro
Ikebukuro
Sunshine City Prince Hotel
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ikebukuro
The B Ikebukuro
The B Ikebukuro
#7 of 55 in Toshima
445 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 109 in Minato
3,112 reviews
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
#9 of 74 in Chiyoda
1,993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro

Property: Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro
Address: 1-6-1 Nishiikebukuro, Toshima 171-8505, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Toshima > Ikebukuro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Toshima
#2 Business Hotel in Toshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro 4*
Number of rooms: 807
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, JAPANiCAN, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Toshima
Metropolitan Tokyo Hotel
Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing