We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worse hotel ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ikebukuro Royal Hotel
Ranked #47 of 58 Hotels / Ryokan in Toshima
Reviewed April 21, 2014

this was the worst hotel I ever stayed.

the staff were not friendly, and not helpful if you don't speak Japanese.

The room was tiny, however the dirtiness was nonacceptable! there was dust everywhere on the furniture and there was human hair in the fridge!!

what's more, you cannot adjust the aircon temperature in your room, as it is a central aircon... so I had to open the window to get some cool air and to bear with the noise from outside since the aircon was only heating when the room was hot enough....

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Yida L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 15 of 109 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2012

We took the train from the airport (faster then taken the bus), once we arrived the station, we had a hard time figure out our direction, so it's much easier to take the taxi straight to the hotel (don't forget to have the hotel fax you the name and the street in Japanese), the room was clean, but small in size (like most other hotels in Japan), once we know our area, we found this hotel is central, on a quiet street, but very close to shopping mall and restaurants, 4 blocks away from subway station (check map on different exits/entrance), will stay at this hotel again for it's price and location.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 0326aw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2009

This hotel is a good value if you are a solo traveler on business. Rooms are clean but very small with no closet or drawer space to speak of. Bathroom is tiny, but has the nice Japanese toilet. Included breakfast service is excellent, with choice of many different foods and beverages. Recommend this hotel for a solo business traveler or someone who wants decent accomodations in Tokyo for a low price, but cannot recommend for a married couple because the rooms are simply too small to comfortably accomodate a couple with luggage.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank gorlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2009

This place is a nice place to stay, if you are on business trip. Since Tokyo is very costly, there are few places to stay on a shoe-string budget..

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank VJ26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2007

For a hotel in the heart of Tokyo, the hotel room (triple sharing) was reasonably priced. The room though small was comrortable and clean. There was a hearty buffet breakfast. There was an English speaking man at the hotel counter who was very helpful.
A big plus factor was the location:near the train station,a lot of restaurants nearby. They said it was in a red light district but I didn't sense any danger.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank sslitao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2007

The rating I gave for this hotel is based on the fact that all hotels in Tokyo are pretty bad. If this were in another country like Hong Kong (where I'm from), it wouldve received the lowest rating.
The hotel itself reminds me of an hourly hotel, and I wouldnt be surprised if it is one of the functions.
The rooms were extremely small to the point of being claustrophobic and dirty. You could not dial long distance from the room.
Staff were unfriendly, and couldnt speak a word of English. If you ask them for directions, they would show you a piece of paper with a map to the nearest JR station.
Stay away at all costs!!!

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank kindaichi11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled on business
Thank alise34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toshima hotels
Ikebukuro
Hotel New Star Ikebukuro
Hotel New Star Ikebukuro
#36 of 58 in Toshima
72 reviews
Ikebukuro
Hotel Wing International Ikebukuro
Ikebukuro
Ark Hotel Tokyo Ikebukuro
Ark Hotel Tokyo Ikebukuro
#26 of 58 in Toshima
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ikebukuro
APA Hotel Ikebukuro Eki Kitaguchi
Ikebukuro
Hotel Mystays Higashi-Ikebukuro
Ikebukuro
Hotel Star Plaza Ikebukuro
Hotel Star Plaza Ikebukuro
#32 of 58 in Toshima
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ikebukuro Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ikebukuro Royal Hotel

Address: 2-41-7 Ikebukero, Toshima 171-0014, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Toshima > Ikebukuro
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 58 Hotels / Ryokan in Toshima
Price Range: $50 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ikebukuro Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 242
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Ctrip TA and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ikebukuro Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ikebukuro Royal Hotel Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing