We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (492)
Filter reviews
492 results
Traveler rating
246
175
46
12
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
246
175
46
12
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree green teatatami matsrooftop terraceikebukuro stationbudget accommodationother guestsa great place to staycommon areasother travelersjapanese bathtraditional stylelaundry facilitiesrooms are smallminute walkyamanote linelocation is greatquiet street
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 492 reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2017

Close to ikebukuro station and transfer lines. close enough to shibuya but not too crowded. Staff were friendly and accommodating! room was spacious enough and shower amenities were decent. would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank stephenie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
貴美旅館, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Kimi Ryokan, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2017

Dear Stephenie,

Thank you so much for chosing Kimi ryokan and your lovely comment.
We are doing our best to improve room conditions since the whole hotel and guest house are changing very fast.
As the fast pace of change, we will meet the guests' needs as much as we can so please keep your eyes on us how we would change!

Thank you so much again and see you again in Kimi.
You are always welcome!


Thanks a million,
Owner Minato Kisaburo and Kimi Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2017 via mobile

Awesome stay in Tokyo! There were three of us (students) staying in the 6 mat room. The room was small (no surprise), but the futons were comfortable (especially after a long flight) and there was plenty of space on the shelves for our bags. Getting there was from the airport was really easy as there is a shuttle bus that runs straight from the airport to a hotel about a 15min walk away. Its also within walking distance of the major Ikebukuro train/subway station so getting too/from anywhere is very convenient. Also plenty of food/shopping options around. Finding the hotel was a little bit tricky as its on a small residential street, but it also meant the rooms were very quiet. Each floor has their own set of bathrooms and showers so there was usually one available and they were very clean. If you want to hang around in the hotel there's also a cute common room/kitchen area and an awesome rooftop terrace! You can also ask the staff for the keys to the traditional bath during certain hours.

Overall, if you're a budget traveler I highly recommend staying at the Kimi Ryokan. They prove that you don't need a ton of money to have a great stay in Tokyo!

Stayed: May 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Canadian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
貴美旅館, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Kimi Ryokan, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your great comment.
This comment must be so helpful for mutual guest who are thinking about Kimiryokan.
Furthermore you had shown that the Kimiryokan is cost-effective as compared with other Hotel and Ryokan.

We are definitely going to do all that is possilble we accepted guest's opinion.

We appreciate so much that your good comment again.
We hope to see you again in Kimi.

Great wishes,
Owner Minato Kisaburo and Kimi Staffs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2017 via mobile

I stayed at Kimi three nights last October, and I was very sad to leave this cozy and perfect place.
I was on the 5th floor, single room. I had enough space to put my suitcase and move easily, the Futon was so comfortable that I slept as a baby.
The room was very clean and when you open the door, toilets, showers and sinks are just here in front of you , it feels as if I was at home.
I loved enjoying that delicious green tea in the living room, after using the hot Bath tub.
The Staff are really professional, cool and present anytime
It was my first time visiting Ikebukuro, and the Hotel has a perfect location, you can enjoy a great and cheap dinner just nearby or go do your shopping in the different neighborhood malls or shops.
Many grocery stores are present too
I definitely recommend Kimi Ryokan and promise to comeback there on my next travel to Tokyo
Thank-you Kimi Staff, wish you all the best !

Stayed: October 2017, traveled solo
1  Thank fatiha s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
貴美旅館, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Kimi Ryokan, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2017

We are so delighted to read of your experience during your stay.
We were so happy that you spent lovely days in Kimi.

We do take pride in good service to our guests' need the best way we can.

Thank you for taking time to review your stay.

We will try to do the best for your next visit.

Warm wishes,
Owner Minato Kisaburo and Kimi staffs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2017 via mobile

Good location and value in Tokyo. Rooms and shared facilities adequate and staff very helpful. Would stay there again. Close to subway in a less glitzy area that is busy at night. Book a larger room if a couple to give you space for bags.

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
貴美旅館, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Kimi Ryokan, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2017


Dear guest,

Thank you for your stay with us.
The room for 6mats is more spacious than 4.5mats.
those who have experience with Japanese Inn for thr first time might not know how to use space
So we want our guests to ask our staffs anything they need.
We are always ready to make you comfortable!

We are so thankful for your comment again.
Ownee Minato Kisaburo and Kimi staffs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2017

A bargain for the price, great location just a short walk from Ikebukuro station with great connections all over Tokyo.
We stayed in the 4.5 Mat room, which is ideal for two. Though if you are not a couple and want a bit more space, maybe size up. I stayed for 2 nights while taking my father to Tokyo for his birthday and it was ok for us - though for any longer period the bigger room would have been necessary.
Excellent staff, friendly and helpful and free green tea on offer. There is a Japanese bath as well as 2 shared showers on each floor. The shared bathrooms and toilets are clean and comfortable to use.
Towels, Yukata and slippers all provided at check in.

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Emdee_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
貴美旅館, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Kimi Ryokan, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2017

We are so thankful for your comment!

The thing we want our guest is to feel a real atmosphere of Japanese ryokan!
We are doing something for our guests' convenience.
Something will be changed in the near future!
Please check out our news on Facebook or Instagram.

Thanks a million,
Owner Minato Kisaburo and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews