We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Kimi Ryokan in May” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimi Ryokan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kimi Ryokan
Ranked #2 of 55 Hotels / Ryokan in Toshima
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Kimi Ryokan in May”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

My husband and i stayed at Kimi Ryokan for 12 days in May and it was a wonderful experience. At first we were rather apprehensive since the bathrooms were shared but it was no problem at all! Everything was so clean! And there was never a time we had to wait for a space at the sink or shower.

The rooms were cleaned every three days or so and towels replaced. The futons were comfortable too. We took a 6-tatami room and there was more than enough space for our 2 huge luggages and lots of shopping.

It was very convenient having laundry facilities and a small kitchen as well. Especially when we were too tired at the end of the day to eat out and bought bentos from the nearby convenient store back to heat up.

The hot tub was good too! Especially after two days and more than 12 hours each day of walking around Disneyland.

Staff were very friendly and helpful and got to know you after a few days. When we come back, they automatically get your room key for you.

We will definately stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ViannaSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    146
    40
    10
    13
See reviews for
54
136
78
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

I've stayed twice and both experiences were great. It's an unexpensive and really well located ryokan. The place is quiet, the rooms are comfortable, and the showers and toilets are always clean. The staff is very helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiguelKSerrano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

We stayed in Kimi for 4 nights after reading its glowing reviews... even my own brother raved about it. The first two nights were less than satisfactory, as we were given a room on the 5th floor and it smelled overwhelmingly of mould. And I don't mean it was a little stinky... I'm talking full on olfactory assault as soon as you opened the door. Sure enough, I pulled back my mat and discovered a flourishing colony of mould growing along the baseboard! So after 2 nights (me not wanting to be an imposition, but also not being able to stand it anymore) I advised the hotel that we wanted to change rooms because of the mould. The staff were very nice and accommodating, and told us that the tatami mats were being changed throughout the entire place, and they hadn't reached the 5th floor yet. So we got moved to a room on the 3rd floor and it was great. For the price, the facilities and common spaces were clean and well kept - I would definitely recommend staying here (in a room that had new tatami and no mould, of course). Despite my request the staff were friendly and didn't give us a hard time about changing rooms at all. I mean it's a budget ryokan - so for the price, it was great.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with newer Tatami, or not on the 5th floor as ours had mould.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
319 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

I actually picked this place to stay because I wanted to stay at a Ryokan regardless of price or location. It just so happened that Kimi Ryokan was in a very convenient area with a nice price to go along with it. Japan raised their taxes making the price of this place go up a bit but for where it is and what you get its a great deal! The place is nestled in Ikebukuro which has tons of restaurants and is a major transit station with both a JR line and several subway lines running through it. The ryokan was very clean and had many facilities. There was laundry, a lounge and even a roof top terrace available for you to use freely. Just be careful when Google mapping for this place, as there is another very similar address Google picks up and it will lead you astray! This ryokan is right by a grocery store as well which is nice to just get an apple for breakfast on your way to the train.

My room was spacious and very comfortable. It was as expected a traditional bed on a mat floor. I was on the fifth story of the building, which was no problem however the actually Ryokan entrance was down a short flight of very steep stairs which made checking in and out difficult due to my suitcase being heavy. The sinks were clean as was the shower, which is American style, but I did notice a weird scent in the shower room. It wasn't anything too bad but it wasn't pleasant.

Staying here at Kimi was a great experience, I just wish it was a bit easier to get into with a suitcase and the WiFi cut in and out a lot which was just a small annoyance.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank kmerke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tangerang, Indonesia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

Stayed here for 2 non consecutive nights. This is a good example of Ryokan for those traveling in Tokyo. Don't compare with the expensive ryokan with all the meal provided. This is different, no meal at all. We love the japannese bath tub, just like private onsen, very relaxing, you must try this. Go to the rooftop, just to see the city view and the beautiful flowers in the pot.

There's many restaurant & store between Ikebukuro station and this ryokan. Be careful when you walk alone at night (especially woman), there's pachinko/slot machine on your way and there's bad guy on the street, not comfortable situation, keep walking anyway... A little bit far from station, you need to walk around 15 minutes if you followed the map given by the ryokan. But there's another exit from station and you'll only walk 8-10 minutes to the ryokan from there.

Very English friendly, even there's an explanation in English for the AC remote control. Great services, you can just put your luggage before and after you stayed here. There's many luggage I see on those internet room, beside the front office. Great wifi in the room. Plenty of shower, wash basin and toilet, no need to queue.

You can see photos and more of our experience in this ryokan at http://pasangantraveling.wordpress.com/2014/04/26/japan-22-31-march-2014-part-3/ and http://pasangantraveling.wordpress.com/2014/04/26/japan-22-31-march-2014-part-4/

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff-Diana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliema, Malta
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

I "splurged" myself with staying last night at KIMI Ryokan after 2 weeks of backpacking in Japan. Before I had stayed at 2 hostels in Tokyo close to Asakusa station on the other side of the city. Asakusa is great for the "old" feeling of Tokyo but Ikebukuro station, where KIMI is located is way better location for exploring Rappongi, Shibuya, Shinjuku.

Ikebukuro is one of the biggest stations in Tokyo with many subway lines connecting.

KIMI ryokan is a budget version of traditional japanese "hotel". I stayed at 4.5 mats room. It is enough for 1 peson, can be bit too small for 2 people, but will work for a couple without too much luggage. Bathrooms are shared and can get busy especially in the morning.

Towel is provided and there are free toiletries too.

Location is great, less than 10 min walk from the station, just don't get lost and pay attention to exit numbers.

4.5 mat rooms on the first floor can be noisy due to the common room and elevator.

A lot of restaurants, bars and budget soba/udon places within 0 to 10 minutes walk.

If I ever come back to Tokyo I will stay at KIMI.

Room Tip: First floor rooms can get noisy due to stairs and elevator. Not a big deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DimitriPros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

We stayed in the Ikebukuro area. We loved it because it's busy enough but not touristy. Ikebukuro is very convenient for travel on the train with the connecting lines including the Yamanote line. We stayed at Kimi Ryokan which is about 7 minutes walk from the train station. The staff here are very friendly and speak English very well. The rooms are small but comfortable – I loved the futons! The bathrooms are shared (separate showers and basins on each level) and are clean and thoughtful (shampoo, body wash, toothbrushes and hairdryer provided). The best way to bathe though is to use the wooden tub. There is one for sharing – just let reception know you would like to use. It is so relaxing! There is a communal room near reception with free green tea. Wifi is free and great (even in the rooms). The heaters were very warm (it was cold in February). The washing machine and dryer are very convenient (keep your 100 yen coins handy). There's also an elevator so getting luggage up to the rooms was not a problem. Overall a really fabulous stay here - excellent value and service.

Room Tip: We were a group of four and found the large room good in terms of layout for our luggages and oursel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank heretoexplore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toshima hotels
Ikebukuro
Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro
Ikebukuro
The B Ikebukuro
The B Ikebukuro
#6 of 55 in Toshima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Ikebukuro
Centurion Hotel Ikebukuro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ikebukuro
Tokyu Stay Ikebukuro
Tokyu Stay Ikebukuro
#4 of 55 in Toshima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Ikebukuro
Super Hotel Lohas Ikebukuro-Eki Kitaguchi
Family Inn Saiko
#1 of 55 in Toshima
5.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimi Ryokan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimi Ryokan

Property: Kimi Ryokan
Address: 2-36-8 Ikebukuro, Toshima 171-0014, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Toshima > Ikebukuro
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Toshima
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Toshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Kimi Ryokan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimi Ryokan Hotel Toshima
Kimi Ryokan Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing