We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“100% recommend! A hidden gem with so much Japanese charm.”
Review of Kimi Ryokan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kimi Ryokan
Ranked #2 of 55 Hotels / Ryokan in Toshima
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“100% recommend! A hidden gem with so much Japanese charm.”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Really loved everything about this place from the second we arrived! The decor is beautifully Japanese and very homey. The rooms are traditional with rice tatami mats and obviously quite small but we didn't mind. Each floor has multiple toliets and showers which were ALWAYS incredibly clean and a pleasure to use. Toliets are modern Japanese with all the cool mod-cons you need. Showers had lovely shampoo, conditioner and shower gel in them which was a handy comfort not often found in shared facility accommodation. Sometimes they had soft traditional Japanese music playing in the hallways of each floor which was a nice touch. Shoes are kept in compartments at the front door and you are given slippers to use around the Ryokan. There is a coin-operated laundry thank goodness and a great shared kitchen and relaxing lounge room. One of my favourite features was the traditional Japanese wooden bath on level 3 of the Ryokan. I used it on the last night and it was perfection! Great for sore feet and legs from big days of walking around Tokyo!

Location in Ikebukero was absolutely fine and the Ryokan is less than 10 mins from the Subway and JR Lines which was fantastic! There are plenty of good eateries in Ikebukero and also plenty to see and do! I can recommend Cafe Gusto just around the corner from the Ryokan for Western breakfasts with fabulous service and prices. Staff at the Ryokan were very obliging and always friendly.

Definitely stay in one traditional Japanese Ryokan whilst travelling through Japan and this one is a top pick!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paige C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    160
    41
    11
    13
See reviews for
59
145
82
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jindabyne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

A great accommodation option in Tokyo with plenty of charm. The rooms are small, but clean and the bathroom/toilet options are great. The location worked well for us, very quiet, never any noise from the street or other guests. Staff were really friendly and helpful. A great place to stay for our first few nights in Japan, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BecLanigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Stayed in November 2013 for 6 nights

This Ryoken was an excellent place to stay. The location to Ikebukuro station was less than 10 Minutes walk which gives you great access for transport around Tokyo. Also is is a small walk to some resturants and bars if you dont want to venture too far.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. Wvery request was handled with a smile on their face.

The kitchen and lounge area was everything you could ask and we enjoyed sitting in there.

Finally the room was clean comfy with plenty of storage areas which was needed with the fact like most places in Japan the room was quite small.

All in all you cant go far wrong with booking here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyRobo1811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I will try to make this simple.

Like = Clean, reasonable sized room (by Japanese hotel standard), awesome toilet and bath, very cool ambience and style of ryokan, the bath is pretty good in the winter, has a cute receptionist that will randomly greet "okaerinasai" to people returning to the ryokan.......really take the tiredness away after a long day battling Tokyo's travel.....just saying =3

Dislike = The rooftop garden felt weird.....out of place from the traditional style ryokan. IDK if im being detail or it is because i went there in the winter. But i felt they could make the garden more......Japanese-ish i guess?

All in all, awesome place to stay. Just keep an open mind for new experience =)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shukrisan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noosa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Our family of four just had 4 nights at the ryokan and really enjoyed the experience. We had two 6 mat rooms which were a good size for 2 people in each. Any more in that size room would feel pretty crowded for more than a night, with luggage.
Sleeping on the tatami mats with the bedding is not as comfortable as a western style bed, but it was fine.
Every guest is given a yukata to wear to the shower rooms, plus slippers and once you got used to what you needed to take with you, it was a good system.
We were in a pretty quiet spot on the 2nd floor (away from the lift and showers) but I still found I needed to wear my earplugs at night as the toilet doors opening and closing were quiet noisy. With earplugs in I had no trouble sleeping.
We made good use of the communal fridge, kitchen, dining area and there were lots of great take away options in Ikebukuro if you didn't want to eat out, including Indian and sushi.
There is fantastic shopping in Ikebukuro and it is a major hub line for the trains so easy to get to other parts of Tokyo from there.
The staff at Kimi ryokan were very friendly with a warm greeting every time you returned. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room. We had rm 201 and 202. 201 was a bit dark, 202 was brighter and very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank noosadreamboats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

I was generally pleased with this place's ammenities and services. If you're on a budget this place is ideal, not only in terms of rates but also in its location: situated in Ikebukuro and a 10-15 minute walk away from JR Ikebukuro Station (the Yamanote "Light Green" Line, which appears to be great for tourists since a heap of attractions are located along the stations on this line).

Kimi Ryokan features a shared kitchen, shared bathrooms and toilets. During my stay I could smell something weird in the kitchen and 5th floor shower but it wasn't too nauseating (it was probably food). The rooms and facilities are a bit old and run but remember this place is more for budget travellers! However, a single room (4.5 tatami mats) felt pretty large even for a single person. The WiFi was not particularly fast in my room, but it was better in the kitchen/common room. It's located in a quiet part of Ikebukuro, but close to all the action located just blocks away from all sides of the place.

Most of the staff (like two of the three on duty at the front desk) were particularly nice and friendly. In the common room some of the guests were really nice and helpful, so that made my stay much better!

Would probably consider staying here again, but not so sure.

Room Tip: The rooms near showers were not that noisy when the showers were in use, but if you're unsure tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ichirosnicket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Step back in time and experience traditional Japanese-style lodging, which is called a ryokan, when you stay at the Kimi Ryokan. I have stayed here four times and I cannot envision myself staying in a different place when I visit Tokyo. The Kimi Ryokan is conveniently located about 10 minutes from the Ikebukuro JR Station. The easiest way to find the Kimi Ryokan is to use the C7 exit from Ikebukuro station, which should deposit you right next to an Excelsior Caffe. Take a right at the Excelsior Caffe and go forward three blocks. Turn left and head one block and then turn right. Head one block, turn left, and the Kimi Ryokan should be on the left side. The sign is small and the entrance is sunk into the ground.

When you first enter you will remove your shoes, put them in a cubby, and grab a pair of slippers to wear inside. The first thing I noticed was the smooth dark cherry oak that permeates the Kimi Ryokan. There is a common area with a television, refrigerator, sink, and beer vending machines on the first floor. There is an elevator if you happen to have a room on the upper floors. They have a soaking tub on the 4th floor, which opens in the late afternoon. There are laundry facilities and an deck on the top floor overlooking Ikebukuro.

The prices cannot be beat. For around 4000 to 4500 yen you receive a single Japanese style room lined with tatami mats and a comfortable futon. The bathing and toilet facilities are shared. upon check in they provide you with a yellow towel and a cotton bathing robe complete with blue sash. They also have double and triple rooms for groups with more people. There is a Lawson's convenience store and Post Office in close proximity to the ryokan. They offer free wifi. When you leave to explore Tokyo they hold your key until you come back. I believe they have a 1am curfew.

I have never been disappointed during when I stay at the Kimi Ryokan. I will stay there again on my next visit to Tokyo.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jmycal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toshima
Ikebukuro
Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro
Ikebukuro
Centurion Hotel Ikebukuro
Ikebukuro
Tokyu Stay Ikebukuro
Tokyu Stay Ikebukuro
#4 of 55 in Toshima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Family Inn Saiko
#1 of 55 in Toshima
5.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Andon Ryokan
Andon Ryokan
#7 of 120 in Taito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
The Edo Sakura
The Edo Sakura
#2 of 120 in Taito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimi Ryokan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimi Ryokan

Property: Kimi Ryokan
Address: 2-36-8 Ikebukuro, Toshima 171-0014, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Toshima > Ikebukuro
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Toshima
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Toshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Rakuten so you can book your Kimi Ryokan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimi Ryokan Hotel Toshima
Kimi Ryokan Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing