We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sadly becoming very neglected.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sunshine City Prince Hotel
Ranked #10 of 55 Hotels / Ryokan in Toshima
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
142 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Sadly becoming very neglected.”
Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

I just finished 9 day stay the the Prince, been staying here 9 years due to business. Sadly while never a 5 star hotel, it has gone downhill. I was very disappointed this time. The carpet and bed covers have never been changed since i've been staying there and are now stained and filthy, rare for Japan. I mean the carpet is absolutely filthy, I was on he floor doing to work and got up covered in hair. Under the beds completely horribly dirty. No care at all being taken to clean the place. My chair was so stained it was like a rainbow of dark colors. It is also hot, horribly hot like 80* F. Way too hot to be comfortable, and no way to change the temperature or open a window, hotter in the hallway. Every night I sweltered in an uncomfortable hot room.
Find another hotel is my only advice.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank MichaelF8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    309
    306
    57
    22
See reviews for
168
125
88
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

We slept in a 3 bed room which is bigger than the normal 2 bed room. Then the hotel is connected to sunshine 60 mall which is big and is connected to a street full of shops. We took a whole day trying to explore the whole street but our legs couldnt take it. Great place to stay.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Pegster88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Hotel is just beside a huge mall (Sunshine 60) so you can do your shopping and dining there. Also there's a FamilyMart at the lobby for your on the go purchases. A 5 minute walk will also bring you to Sun City streets and 10minutes to Ikebukuro MRT station.

The hotel room is quite small and looks old already but it could be manageable since we are always out during the day. Buffet breakfast is good also. The only bad thing i guess is there's no wifi in the room so you have to go to the lobby to access wifi. What's only available in the room is one LAN cable if ever you brought a laptop with you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pauladeasis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
235 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

The hotel is actually quite a distance from JR Ikebukuro (East exit) and not so direct route as we have expected. One has to walk some 400m across the always-crowded Sunshine Dori St and then go through an underground passageway (beside the Tokyu Hands bldg) to Sunshine City. On our arrival we have to lug our bags through one of the busiest part of Ikebukuro- Sunshine Dori, a mind-boggling 10-15 minutes of crowd dodging.
In terms of transport it might be a challenge if you intend to travel daily via Ikeburoko station. An alternative is the Tokyo Metro Higashi-Ikebukuro station. You can get to this sta. through the street level followed by about 5-7 minutes through interconnecting walkways.
The hotel room we gotten was reasonably sized to fit just a double bed and small table with small TV (surprisingly comes with English/Chinese channels). The lobby is not well furnished and the many sofa chairs seemed always occupied with the many hotel stayers/visitors and tourists in large groups checking in or out of the hotel (testament to its popularity!)
We stayed at 12xx so did not have much fantastic views of the nearby Ikebukuro and Shinjuku skyline.. In terms of amenities there are many dining and shopping options in that area including the Seibu, Parco and Tobu Department stores, on top of the many restaurants and fastfood outlets. The hotel breakfast buffet is priced about 1575 yen for hotel guest but it was not in our package. They are several options for breakfast outside the hotel; in the mall there is a McDonalds and Maison Kayser, and also Tully’s Coffee but all opened after 7:30am though. Many would agree that the Lawson (just round the bend of the lobby) is a plus as it is operating 24-hrs.. :>
We like it's location with attached shopping mall and the best part is the airport limo stopping just outside the hotel. Overall our stay here has been good (apart from the long walk to station) and we are likely to come back again if the opportunity arises. :>

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J&S_Singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

I was there with a group and we all stayed on to 20th floor. The rooms aren't large, but it was comfortable and quiet. Breakfast was quite good and and they have a family market shop on the ground floor. Also attached is the mall so plenty of options available. Close to Sun City streets and subway. Wifi was free but really bad for connections. In fact it's bad everywhere. Just a note, the lounge area doesn't allow eating or drinking. No other options available if you wanted to sit down with friends in lobby or restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dukenukem30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed there from September 11-20. 2013. group of 4. when we got in, we were given a room, without asking whether we wanted a non-smoking floor, obviously, if this was an option, we would have gone with the non-smoking floor, since we are not smokers ourselves.
room was quite small. when i say small, i am not exaggerating. it looks like a room meant for 1 person and not for 2. location is nice since it is connected to a mall, where uniqlo and toys r us are located. but quite a hike to get to the train station. around 10-15 mins. depending on the level of exhaustion from the previous day, haha.
staff was nice enough. rooms were clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank margie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

It was my first time in Japan and I had quite high expectations based on the photo and their website. But the hotel room was too small for me and my hubby, low ceiling and quite tight for two. It was a promotion price maybe that’s why it is like that. It didn’t really matter since we are there not to stay whole day inside the hotel. What is nice about the hotel is that it is accessible to all and that’s the main goal why we chose it. It is attached to a shopping mall and some entertainment area and restaurants plus it is walking distance to the trains. It is also awake 24/7 and the hotel got its only convenience store. Overall we enjoyed our Japan trip and our stay was in the hotel was average.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FRANtasticloves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toshima
Ikebukuro
Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro
Ikebukuro
Centurion Hotel Ikebukuro
Ikebukuro
The B Ikebukuro
The B Ikebukuro
#7 of 55 in Toshima
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ikebukuro
Tokyu Stay Ikebukuro
Tokyu Stay Ikebukuro
#5 of 55 in Toshima
243 reviews
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
#14 of 81 in Shinjuku
938 reviews
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#12 of 81 in Shinjuku
1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine City Prince Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine City Prince Hotel

Property: Sunshine City Prince Hotel
Address: 3-1-5 Higashi-Ikebukuro, Toshima 170-8440, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Toshima > Ikebukuro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 55 Hotels / Ryokan in Toshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunshine City Prince Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunshine City Complex in Tokyo's Ikebukuro district is in a constant state of self-renewal. It is a modern business, shopping and entertainment complex that features the 60-story "Sunshine 60" building, the World Imports Mart, the Culture Hall with a theater and museum, International Aquarium, and the Alpa Shopping Center. Sunshine City Prince Hotels is at the heart of this complex.With its stylish new look, the 1,166-room hotel rises 38 stories above the ground and dips three basement levels below. The Sunshine City Prince provides all the comfort, functionality and genuine hospitality you'd expect from an international hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Expedia, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Sunshine City Prince Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Sunshine City
Prince Hotel Toshima
Prince Hotel Tokyo
Toshima Prince Hotel
Sunshine City Prince Hotel Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing