We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good value. however small room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
APA Hotel Ikebukuro Eki Kitaguchi
Ranked #39 of 58 Hotels / Ryokan in Toshima
Reviewed October 16, 2013

conveniently located. short walk to ikebukuro station. close to dining and shopping. this is a budget hotel but is very clean and has a friendly helpful staff. i stayed here for 9 nights with my wife. because of the size of the room, i could stay here again but only for a few nights as the smallness of the room begins to wear down on you after awhile. if you're traveling solo it may not be a problem. the free wifi through out the hotel is a great service.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dragonfishusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

24 - 30 of 106 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2013

this is a very neat and clean hotel within walking distance of ikebukuro station. the room was very well maintained. the staff is very polite and helpful. the small but nice bathtub helps relive the days stress. though the room is a bit small, it is the norm with japanese hotels. i enjoyed the stay

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vnmody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed at the apa hotel in ikebukuro in the month of september. Had a fantastic time despite the typhoon because 1. It was a last minute trip. 2. The location was perfect. 3. It was easy and the bed was awesome! Super comfortable. I wouldn't mind checking in there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Overall, there is nothing to complain about this hotel.Like all rooms priced at this range, likely you compensate on the size of the room. Room is abit small but it has good shower water pressure, clean, enough amenities and also free wifi.

Location wise, Its just a 5 minute walk from the train stop. take the train and stop at IKEBUKURO station.after the exit from the train. look for WEST exit. as you are coming out. look to your right hand side, you will see KFC etc, just ask around or look for FAMILY MART, the hotel is just nearby.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank limjason123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

The location is excellent, easy train access from Narita Airport (direct access with Narita Express). Ikebukuro station is one of the major stations on Yamanote line (a round line that circles the central area of Tokyo) and has great train connections to pretty much anywhere you want to go.

Plenty of restaurants, bars and night life around the hotels side (North exit) of the station (personally I didn't like the numerous 'girls bars' on the way to the hotel), but the hotel was still nice and quiet. However, we ended up spending most of our time on the East side of the station, where Sunshine City and most of the entertainment is located.

Hotel staff was very helpful, although most of them didn't speak much english, but we got everything taken care of. The room was very small, but well planned and stylish (also eco friendly). I like the fact that they had a fridge in stead of a mini bar, so you could bring your own food and drinks to the room. Also they had free wifi in the room, which is still quite rare in Japan (you can also rent a laptop for 1,000 Yen per night). My personal favorite was that there is a coin laundry machine and a dryer in the lobby, wich was very convenient on a two week trip.

Only down side I can think of is, that although the room was very clean when we got there, during our stay there they didn't really do anything but make the bed and change the towels in the room, so after the two weeks the floor really would of needed vacuuming etc.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay in APA Hotel Ikebukuro and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sompc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Having never travelled to Japan, I was very nervous about my stay. I shouldn't have worried! APA Ikebukuro is a safe, very clean and modern hotel. The rooms are very, very small, but that seems to be the norm for hotels in this price range in Japan. There is wireless Internet in your room, contrary to hotel features listing wired Internet though that is also available. The train station is less than 3 blocks away, and train travel is the best way to get around Tokyo. Numerous convenience stores within 2 blocks, countless dining options also.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
Thank KMcAtee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

I booked myself a single room in the hotel for two nights. The hotel is located in Ikebukuro. I stayed in another two different hotels (Shirakawago, Wako) in Shinjuku in the next two nights just for fun. So, I could do some comparison here. I found Ikebukuro to be the best place to stay as a base to roam Tokyo compared to Shinjuku. Even though its nightlife is less happening than the later, Ikebukuro does have all the type that Shinjuku offered and better place to roam. I had huge problem pushing away all those black touts hanging around Shinjuku. They just didn't understand the word no. At every junction they will follow me like housefly. APA hotel also is the best that I have stayed compared to the other two though the hotel has the smallest room size.
The hotel is about 10 - 15 min distance from the nearest JR station exit. At the corner of the hotel, there are two halal eateries - one is selling kebab, and the other is selling Indian dishes.
APA room is complete with study table, LCD TV, pretty big and comfortable single bed, and a very nice bathroom. There is also a complimentary wired internet. They also provide bathrobe, kettle, and slippers. THere are about two free power points on the study table and another one the headrest.
There is not much to complaint though the room is without a wardrobe (just three cloth hooks), and that there is only about one foot space between the wall and edge of the bed. So, it is quite a hassle to pack and get change.

Room Tip: I usually choose double/queen size bed as I am quite tall. However, the single bed provided is quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Asrul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toshima hotels
Ikebukuro
Dai-Ichi Inn Ikebukuro
Dai-Ichi Inn Ikebukuro
#23 of 58 in Toshima
126 reviews
Ikebukuro
Hotel Mystays Higashi-Ikebukuro
Ikebukuro
Super Hotel Lohas Ikebukuro-Eki Kitaguchi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ikebukuro
Hotel Wing International Ikebukuro
Ikebukuro
Ark Hotel Tokyo Ikebukuro
Ark Hotel Tokyo Ikebukuro
#26 of 58 in Toshima
79 reviews
Ikebukuro
the b tokyo ikebukuro
the b tokyo ikebukuro
#7 of 58 in Toshima
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to APA Hotel Ikebukuro Eki Kitaguchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about APA Hotel Ikebukuro Eki Kitaguchi

Address: 2-48-7 Ikebukuro, Toshima 171-0014, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Toshima > Ikebukuro
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 58 Hotels / Ryokan in Toshima
Price Range: $59 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — APA Hotel Ikebukuro Eki Kitaguchi 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your APA Hotel Ikebukuro Eki Kitaguchi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
APA Hotel Ikebukuro Eki Kitaguchi Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing