We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Castros Review” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Family Inn Saiko

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Family Inn Saiko
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels / Ryokan in Toshima
Certificate of Excellence
Naalehu, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Castros Review”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

4.5 rating. The staff was amazing and very accommodating to most every need. The room was of typical Japanese style with futons on the floor. We had access to the washer, refrigerator, microwave and evening community bath. The location was great for our needs and not too far to walk to the Ikebekuro train station.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    70
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
158
124
109
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

I spent my first 3 nights in Tokyo at the Family Inn Saiko and it laid the foundations for a great holiday in Japan. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The neighbourhood was quiet and attractive. The room clean and comfortable. All in all, great value for money. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ant m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izhevsk, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

This was my first visit to the Land of the Rising Sun! Family Inn Saiko become my a small house :3
I'm was very glad to live in this place. The hotel is located in nice and quiet area. Shops and the train station is very close. The staff is the most charming people, they are very welcoming and responsive.!!They always helped us with the route. Definitely I will visit them again :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LenkaChi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

We love the neighbourhood with nice clean little alleys, gave us great impression about Tokyo. The hotel is very clean, with good size bathroom which is bigger than the bathroom of most of the other hotels in Japan. Fair location with 10min walking to nearest station and restaurants. Normal breakfast is simple, but we were lucky to stay over the new year and got a great selection of Japanese New year food, which was a great experience! Love the place and love the little souvenirs. Great value, would definitely recommend to anyone wants a different hotel experience than chain hotels.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Our family of four had a pleasant stay at Family Inn Saiko. The family was helpful, pleasant and cheerful.
Rooms are clean and adequate.
Although the walk to the station is not as near, it is located in a nice neighborhood.
My only beef was we had to pay when my husband accidentally broke the glass bell. Although the payment is negligible, I feel as a gesture of goodwill, this should have been overlooked.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Weecatherine58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

We enjoyed our stay Family-Inn Saiko and high recommend the place to fellow travelers for following reasons:

• An affordable and authentic Japanese home-stay and very well connected with the major train stations in Tokyo
• A hospitable and a patient family to stay with
• Nicholas-san in particular is very helpful and also holds sound knowledge over the places to visit within and outside Tokyo
• A very clean and functional accommodation

Dear Nicholas-san,

Many thanks for your and your family’s hospitality during our stay at your home. We both wish you and your family a prosperous new year!
We wish we could join you in your new year festivities, but as you said hopefully in near future someday!

Regards,
Bharat and Nimisha

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Footloose20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

The Japanese style inn offers exactly y what announces, family like friendly and war, atmosphere in a quiet neighborhood of Tokyo. Both the Inn and the neighborhood allow one to appreciate the real Japan everyday life, simple yet sophisticated, in contrast to the often less authentic touristic areas.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank SantiagoPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toshima
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
Ueno, Asakusa
THE GATE HOTEL Asakusa Kaminarimon by HULIC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
#8 of 74 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,914 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Palace Hotel Tokyo
Palace Hotel Tokyo
#1 of 74 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 108 in Minato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Family Inn Saiko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Family Inn Saiko

Property: Family Inn Saiko
Address: 2-34-16 Nagasaki, Toshima 171-0051, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Toshima
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Toshima
#2 Best Value Hotel in Toshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Family Inn Saiko 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our family! Family Inn Saiko is a traditional style Japanese accommodation with modern facilities located just one station distance from Ikebukuro, Tokyo. You can enjoy the delights of modern Tokyo and then retreat to the peaceful quiet of your authentic TATAMI room. In addition, as a family-run inn, we provide you with warm hospitality and generations of tradition. Make us your home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Family Inn Saiko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Family Inn Saiko Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing