We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice people”
Review of Family Inn Saiko

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Family Inn Saiko
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels / Ryokan in Toshima
Certificate of Excellence
Mont-dore, New-caledonia
1 review
“Very nice people”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

The best hotel for a first trip to Japan.
Great hospitality and very friendly staff. They help us every time we ask.
Good room with a futon mattresses. The Japanese-style public bath is a delight after a walking day.
The district can escape the very rough Tokyo.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabien D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    77
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
163
131
118
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

So glad we found this hotel. Really perfect for our family of 5. The staff, the rooms, the price, the breakfast and the location turned out to be spot on. Like a home away from home. If I visit tokyo again I wouldn't stay anywhere else...

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Craig L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I visited Family Inn Saiko this summer with my family of four and it was perfect for us.
The staff at the Inn are fantastic, not only did they give us lots of help with getting to the actual Inn itself, but each day they would give us detailed instructions on how to get around Tokyo with lots of tips and advice.
Staying in a traditional Ryokan like this feels far superior to staying in a typical westernised hotel, and really feels like you're soaking in the Japanese culture.
The rooms were very clean and well kept and we each had our own Futon. The shower was great and we had access to the traditional Bath on the top floor of the Inn which we got good use of.
The location is good, the small winding streets around the area can be a little confusing but the route to the underground station is simple and is really the best way to get around Tokyo given its size.
I cannot do the Inn justice with this review, you should really see for yourself but if I was going back to Tokyo I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ctrlaltdeliciouz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borgaro Torinese, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2013

My family really appreciated the great customer orientation demonstrated by the whole staff. Strategically the place is very well located being in a peaceful part of the city not to far from the centre.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roberta Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caen, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We went to this family Inn for holidays and were very well received.
The room and the bathroom were very clean.
The location is 15 mns walk from the nearest metro station
The people in this family Inn were very helpful and could make suggestions for visits
To be recommanded

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYE_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2013

My fiance and I stayed at Family Inn Saiko for 5 nights. Despite some initial concern about it's location relative to sites, it was easy and made simpler by the wealth of information and warm and friendly service provided by all the staff. It isn't local to major sites however, so don't expect a 5 minute walk. The Inn is approx. 10 minute walk from 2 stations and a 20-30 train ride to places like the Imperial Palace, Tsukiji fish market, Gion, Shinjuku and Shibuya. Nothing difficult about it and the trains are brilliant, so not a problem. Our room was on the top floor and thanks to the dedicated AC, you'd never have known it was 35+ degrees outside! We loved our cosy space, which included a well-appointed bathroom. The shower had great water-pressure and never any issues with hot-water. The communal kitchen and eating area was small, but served our needs for the brief time spent using them. 24 hour access via a side-entrance meant we could come and go as we please. Overall a fantastic experience and great value for money. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjs1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Poland
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Very good for foreign tourists: comfortable rooms with air-condition, toilets and showers.
What coud be better: more breakfast space (difficult to eat when 2 family comes) and more diverse breakfasts - not only continental.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leszek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toshima
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 109 in Minato
3,112 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Palace Hotel Tokyo
Palace Hotel Tokyo
#1 of 74 in Chiyoda
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
#9 of 74 in Chiyoda
1,993 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Family Inn Saiko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Family Inn Saiko

Property: Family Inn Saiko
Address: 2-34-16 Nagasaki, Toshima 171-0051, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Toshima
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Toshima
#3 Best Value Hotel in Toshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Family Inn Saiko 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our family! Family Inn Saiko is a traditional style Japanese accommodation with modern facilities located just one station distance from Ikebukuro, Tokyo. You can enjoy the delights of modern Tokyo and then retreat to the peaceful quiet of your authentic TATAMI room. In addition, as a family-run inn, we provide you with warm hospitality and generations of tradition. Make us your home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Family Inn Saiko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Family Inn Saiko Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing